In the mail box

Today I got two pieces of mail.

The first was my voter registration card. Our Prime Minister called an early election because he’s running a minority government and he wants to make a move for the majority.

The second was my first child benefit cheque.

Harper (our prime minister for those of you who don’t know), when elected, dissolved the existing child care deals with the provinces and ‘replaced’ them with a benefit to go to each family with one or more children. The benefit is $1200 yearly which works out to $100 per month, tax-exempt.

My first problem with this is that this is what is supposed to replace affordable child care. I’ve been looking into it and the least expensive child care I can find is $200 per WEEK. Now I’m not saying it should cost less, because child care workers deserve a lot, but $100 a month to replace subsidized daycare is offensive in my view.

So I opened my cheque thinking that I could put $300 into Robert’s future-fund (as he is 3 months old and this is the first cheque I’ve received) and I’m surprised to see that the cheque is for 70-some odd dollars. So I start reading the explanation sheet and it says that our ousehold income is higher than the poverty line (which is it) so we don’t get the full amount. Funny how that wasn’t in any of his campaign speeches… So I figure, ok that’s fine, 70 something a month is still something.

Then I read on to find that my total for 3 months is 70 something bucks and I’m sort of appalled because that means that I get just of $20 per month for child care??? I’m very glad that I don’t NEED to go back to work for the first year but I will NEED to go back to work next year and this would be of absolutely no help.

So basically, they don’t give you enough to make a dent into child care costs, even if you are living below the poverty line, and they remove funding for affordable child care to do it. Meaning that parents will have to work more to pay for childcare and *duh* the more they have to work the more they will need child care. Thus some parents, probably the women (for whom he cut program funding as well), will choose to not work because often day care costs are more than the second income thus keeping them in poverty. It doesn’t leave a lot of choices does it?

I don’t think Harper is a prime minister for the people. I think he’s a prime minister for the fiscal bottom line and I will never vote for his government.

I never would have even before I became a mom. But this is an outrage. I can’t imagine how families who really NEED this can cope.

The kind of Canada I want to live in is not one where only the rich can have children. I don’t wish to abolish the middle class in order to line the pockets of the wealthy and walk all over the poor. I want to live in a country where those who make more money care enough about their community to reach out and supoprt those who struggle. I want to government to care more about helping citizens in need than corporations in greed. I want to elect a government which reflects my values as closely as possible, and the Harper government is not it.

Don’t forget to vote on October 14th!

Not sure about the differences? Here are the policy pages for the top 5 parties;

New Democratic Party
Liberal Party
Green Party
Bloc Quebecois
Conservative Party

EDIT:  I received the full $100 payment this morning, apparently there are 2 types of benefits, but I’m fairly confident that my points still stand.


On this day:

In 2006 – questions I’d still like answers to
In 2005 – do any of you play the bag pipes?

16 Comments on “In the mail box”

  1. lumpy_lia says:

    holy crap. that is just gross.

  2. lumpy_lia says:

    holy crap. that is just gross.

  3. fiercekitty says:

    that is really obnoxious. I definitely thought every family regardless of income level got the full $100. and you’re right, even $100 is an insult when you think about how much child care costs. Harper will not be getting my vote (although with all the blue john baird signs on people’s lawns in my riding I wonder if that even matters 😦 )

  4. fiercekitty says:

    that is really obnoxious. I definitely thought every family regardless of income level got the full $100. and you’re right, even $100 is an insult when you think about how much child care costs. Harper will not be getting my vote (although with all the blue john baird signs on people’s lawns in my riding I wonder if that even matters 😦 )

  5. metahara says:

    ouch-
    are the U.S. policies contagious? maybe you can quarantine that asshole?
    Seriously, it sounds less like Canad and more like the U.S.

  6. metahara says:

    ouch-
    are the U.S. policies contagious? maybe you can quarantine that asshole?
    Seriously, it sounds less like Canad and more like the U.S.

  7. Don’t get me wrong, I am no fan of Harper, and I also think it is insulting that $100/month is supposed to “cover” daycare. But before Harper started giving out the $1200/year per child, you would have only received your $20/month cheque. There was nothing else.
    Daycare in Ontario is still subsidized for low-income families to make it more affordable. And now we also get $100/month extra, which isn’t great, but it is $100/month more than we had before. A full affordable daycare program would be nice, but I haven’t heard any of the parties talking about that in their platforms so far.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m saying that he instilled the $100 a month, and removed programs that the Liberals had put in place to expand subsidized daycare. I’m not saying that there is none. I’m saying that there is little growth in that avenue now.
      It’s not a key speaking point but it is addressed:
      http://www.ndp.ca/page/6750
      http://www.liberal.ca/pdf/platform/2008lp_fairer_e.pdf (page 4)
      http://www.conservative.ca/EN/4739/78180

      • I’m on the same page as you, a different program would be much better, but the Liberals kept talking about it, and not doing anything/much so what the Liberals said they wanted to do and what they were actually doing before the last election was very different. From that perspective at least the Conservatives gave us some benefit even if it was very little.
        Thanks for the links. I haven’t 100% decided who I’m voting for yet but I know who I’m not voting for (the one that starts with a C). I fear we are just going to end up with more of the same. 😦

      • I’m on the same page as you, a different program would be much better, but the Liberals kept talking about it, and not doing anything/much so what the Liberals said they wanted to do and what they were actually doing before the last election was very different. From that perspective at least the Conservatives gave us some benefit even if it was very little.
        Thanks for the links. I haven’t 100% decided who I’m voting for yet but I know who I’m not voting for (the one that starts with a C). I fear we are just going to end up with more of the same. 😦

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m saying that he instilled the $100 a month, and removed programs that the Liberals had put in place to expand subsidized daycare. I’m not saying that there is none. I’m saying that there is little growth in that avenue now.
      It’s not a key speaking point but it is addressed:
      http://www.ndp.ca/page/6750
      http://www.liberal.ca/pdf/platform/2008lp_fairer_e.pdf (page 4)
      http://www.conservative.ca/EN/4739/78180

  8. Don’t get me wrong, I am no fan of Harper, and I also think it is insulting that $100/month is supposed to “cover” daycare. But before Harper started giving out the $1200/year per child, you would have only received your $20/month cheque. There was nothing else.
    Daycare in Ontario is still subsidized for low-income families to make it more affordable. And now we also get $100/month extra, which isn’t great, but it is $100/month more than we had before. A full affordable daycare program would be nice, but I haven’t heard any of the parties talking about that in their platforms so far.

  9. Anonymous says:

    thanks for writing this
    Thanks for writing this. I don’t understand why folks aren’t on the streets about this one. Aggie here.

  10. Anonymous says:

    thanks for writing this
    Thanks for writing this. I don’t understand why folks aren’t on the streets about this one. Aggie here.


Leave a Reply

