I’ve been spoiled!

Up until almost a year ago, I thought my doctor was super fantastic and awesome at everything and I wanted to shower her with hugs and glory. And possibly majesty lines.

But then I got pregnant and started seeing midwives who asked me about how things were going in all areas of my life, in addition to all the basic medical stuff. They told me about all my options and let me decide what to do for myself. The always asked before touching me in any way, even while I was giving birth.

I’ve been to see my doctor twice since then and now it just feels… lacking.

Maybe it’s because she’s an older woman? I noticed this difference between the older and younger nurses at the hospital. It could be that younger medical professionals are more trained into the notion of informed consent.

Now I just wish I could find a midwife-like general practitioner.


On this day:

In 2005
– I performed a scientific experiment on a pug

6 Comments on “I’ve been spoiled!”

  1. tekanji says:

    I’ve only had dealings with doctors in my life, but from what I’ve read of midwifery it seems to be a more personalized approach to medicine. I realize that most doctors tend to have large workloads, which makes it harder to be personal with all their patients, but I would love to see a widening of the way we think about the medical profession to include a more midwife-like approach to GPs.

  2. tekanji says:

    I’ve only had dealings with doctors in my life, but from what I’ve read of midwifery it seems to be a more personalized approach to medicine. I realize that most doctors tend to have large workloads, which makes it harder to be personal with all their patients, but I would love to see a widening of the way we think about the medical profession to include a more midwife-like approach to GPs.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’m forever in love with my midwife, too. I don’t think there’s a doctor like that on earth. If you find one, let me know

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m forever in love with my midwife, too. I don’t think there’s a doctor like that on earth. If you find one, let me know

  5. filmfatale says:

    Naturopaths long replaced my GP for that very reason. Mine even goes into the delivery room with you.

  6. filmfatale says:

    Naturopaths long replaced my GP for that very reason. Mine even goes into the delivery room with you.


Leave a Reply

