This post is all over the place

Somehow I had convinced my mom that she needed to buy me some nursing tops. We were to meet up at the mall sometime in the week to do that and when I woke up in the morning with such engorged tatas that I just couldn’t stand it, I decided that Tuesday would be the day. I used some gift certificates to buy myself the cheapest pump I could find at the store (note: not so cheap really). Bobby was being pretty good but my mom insisted on taking him out of the stroller which meant I couldn’t get him back in the stroller so one of us would have to carry him around until he fell asleep.

We headed over to the mama store so I could get some tops and I tried on 4. I liked three but my mom would only pay for two which I can’t complain about, since I have no income. When we got to the cash a woman came up and said “Tiana?” and as I looked at her I thought that I should know who she was… she seemed so familiar! Then she said something like “I recognized you from your blog, I’m Lana” and it all clicked and were both quite awkward. She was buying some maternity pants and I hope that worked out for her. I have 3 pairs and only ever wore one of them, my fancy pants H&M Rome ones…

In other news, I’ve gone suburban and have started attending Strollercise. It runs twice a week and I promised myself I’d go if it wasn’t raining and I didn’t have any appointments. So far I’ve been three times and I like it. I walk but there is the option of doing intervals or a straight run, neither of which I am ready for (physically, or fashion-wise). The walking route is 5km and the running route is a little longer so we all finish at about the same time for a light workout.

I’ve also starting seeing my brother in law’s wife (to distinguish her from my other sister in law) more often as she just moved a few blocks away. That won’t last long though because my brother in law just got a new job out of town and they are in the process of buying a new house. Other than that I plan on visiting a few other peeps in the near future however they are considerably farther away and with the price of gas *even with a hybrid* and me not pulling in any decent money, we are trying to keep driving to a minimum.

 So I’m getting a handle on this whole ‘being a mom’ thing. For me, it means getting out of the house at least once a day, no matter what it is. If I don’t have anything specific to do, I strap the baby to me and go for a walk. It’s definitely getting easier. I can now manage showering regularly and feeding myself for the most part. Great meals for dinner are still a little touch and go so I try not to plan anything that will take very long to make as Bobby is sure to get fussy at a critical moment. I basically just go with the flow of his moods and let the day unfold from there. There is very little structure for now other than our strollercise outings and bed time which happens at around 9:30 pm and kicks of with a splish-splash in the tub.

AND My skin is so itchy all over! I don’t know why. I’ve been moisturizing and I don’t have a rash or anything. Weird. I also decided that I’m basically straight edge as I’ve had no tobacco, alcohol, drugs (other than Tylenol) or caffeine since last November. ROXOR


On this day: In 2007 – I accidentally ate some dead animals In 2006 – someone ate bacon laced paper towels In 2005 – I was NOT. IN. THE. MOOD.

14 Comments on “This post is all over the place”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Two thoughts:
    If you’re going back to work, invest in a Pump in Style from Medela. They’re the best, extremely efficient and worth every stinking penny. Mine is nearing six (!!!) years old, I’ve used it through two kids and hope it will survive through the next baby.
    Is your itchy skin due to eczema? If that be the case then you may very well have food allergies (eczema is a big red food allergy flag). Use creams instead of lotion (I like Eucerin Calming Cream) and rub some Aquaphor on top of your skin after you’ve used the cream. If that doesn’t help the savior in our house for SG (who had skin like sandpaper as an infant; she was almost 2 before we discovered just how horrific her allergies are) is Mometasone. It’s a prescription, steroid cream that we use for three days on, four days off as needed and it makes her a whole lot more comfortable.
    Feel free to tell me to take my advice and shove it. I’m avoiding the asshole I live with husband right now and am too irritated to go to bed.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m not going back for a year so he’ll be on solids by then and I’ll have a big stash by then.
      There is nothing visible on my skin?

      • Anonymous says:

        Sweet!
        Are there really dry patches on your skin? Unless eczema is horrifically bad you can’t usually see it. You could also just slather some hydracordisone cream on the itchy bits.

      • Anonymous says:

        Sweet!
        Are there really dry patches on your skin? Unless eczema is horrifically bad you can’t usually see it. You could also just slather some hydracordisone cream on the itchy bits.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m not going back for a year so he’ll be on solids by then and I’ll have a big stash by then.
      There is nothing visible on my skin?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Two thoughts:
    If you’re going back to work, invest in a Pump in Style from Medela. They’re the best, extremely efficient and worth every stinking penny. Mine is nearing six (!!!) years old, I’ve used it through two kids and hope it will survive through the next baby.
    Is your itchy skin due to eczema? If that be the case then you may very well have food allergies (eczema is a big red food allergy flag). Use creams instead of lotion (I like Eucerin Calming Cream) and rub some Aquaphor on top of your skin after you’ve used the cream. If that doesn’t help the savior in our house for SG (who had skin like sandpaper as an infant; she was almost 2 before we discovered just how horrific her allergies are) is Mometasone. It’s a prescription, steroid cream that we use for three days on, four days off as needed and it makes her a whole lot more comfortable.
    Feel free to tell me to take my advice and shove it. I’m avoiding the asshole I live with husband right now and am too irritated to go to bed.

  3. rachaeldoss says:

    How on EARTH did you manage to only ever wear one pair of maternity pants?? I’m nearing the point where my regular pants are not going to do 😦

  4. rachaeldoss says:

    How on EARTH did you manage to only ever wear one pair of maternity pants?? I’m nearing the point where my regular pants are not going to do 😦


Leave a Reply

