The numbers game

Why bother spelling numbers? I mean, whose idea was it anyway?

Why is ‘3’ not good enough and also needs to be ‘three’?

Is there any language where numbers are only represented by the digit?


On this day:

In 2007 – And I thought THAT was a scrabble disaster!
In 2006 – I started hoarding hair dye
In 2005 – I don’t remember why

6 Comments on “The numbers game”

  1. tekanji says:

    None of the languages I know have the numbers only represented in digits. Although I think part of that is because the use of the digits is newer than the spelling (or other type of representation of number, such as roman numeral).
    Personally, though, I don’t mind the spelling since the numerals are the same across languages (I still sometimes spit out the English pronunciation of numerals when I’m speaking Japanese) and the spelling gives a clue to the pronunciation.

  2. tekanji says:

    None of the languages I know have the numbers only represented in digits. Although I think part of that is because the use of the digits is newer than the spelling (or other type of representation of number, such as roman numeral).
    Personally, though, I don’t mind the spelling since the numerals are the same across languages (I still sometimes spit out the English pronunciation of numerals when I’m speaking Japanese) and the spelling gives a clue to the pronunciation.

  3. Anonymous says:

    In Chinese it’s traditionally just one character for the number (like on mahjong tiles), but I think calculations with this system is difficult and has gone the way of the abacus. Now, actual numbers are used, but I think it’s more due to a global society/economy where everyone’s using a standard notation.

  4. Anonymous says:

    In Chinese it’s traditionally just one character for the number (like on mahjong tiles), but I think calculations with this system is difficult and has gone the way of the abacus. Now, actual numbers are used, but I think it’s more due to a global society/economy where everyone’s using a standard notation.

  5. lyndszy says:

    Ugh that reminds me I have to write my rent cheque 😦 😦

  6. lyndszy says:

    Ugh that reminds me I have to write my rent cheque 😦 😦


Leave a Reply

