One Month

So on July 21st 2008 I was ejected from my home because of floor construction being done, meaning I didn’t get to post this on time. This is why it’s backdated.

Here are my reflections on one month of having my own human to raise:

  • Birth is so natural. I know I had a quick labour and people are telling me how lucky I am but I don’t think that made it any easier. I had virtually no breaks between contractions with which to re-coup. There wasn’t really a slow build from start of labour to birth so I had to adjust pretty damn quick. At the same time though, there were only a few moments where I felt like I couldn’t handle it but as soon as I got my short break between contractions I was able to re-assert myself and move forward.
  • It’s so new yet familiar at the same time. I can’t imagine NOT having him now.
  • The healing part was sucky. It’s like having your period for 2-3 weeks and horrible burning while peeing (luckily only a week for me).
  • It’s hard to figure out how your ‘old’ self meshes with your new role as a parent. It’s not easy to strike that balance. There were days where I just abandoned myself into motherhood to the point where at the end of the day I felt like I didn’t know who I was and I just melted down. Getting out of the house and interacting with people really helps though, even if it’s just going to the mailbox and saying hi to a neighbour.
  • A couple days after taking him home, we were watching So You Think You Can Dance together. He was lying on my chest and we were looking at each other and I totally fell in love with him. Like… indescribable I would tear a bear to bits with my teeth for you love.
  • Taking care of him isn’t so hard. All I do is feed him, change him, burp him, hold him, bathe him, talk to him and play with him. The hard part is doing the same things over and over and over. This is where my third point meshes in. The days where these tasks are the ONLY things I do are the hard days, and it’s easy to get stuck in that.
  • Breastfeeding is pretty cool. Other than one sperm, his entire body is made up of things made by my body.
  • He is growing so fast! He feels heavier. His cute little outfits are starting to be too small. I find myself thinking things like “Remember when he used to…” about things he’s already grown out of (turtle face is rare now) and so on.

I feel like my thoughts on this are scattered.. so un-Dooce-like.


On this day:

In 2006 – I gave away a free book
In 2005 – Some random stuff

6 Comments on “One Month”

  1. lumpy_lia says:

    you are getting a package from me!! I am way excited to meet your new roomie!!

  2. lumpy_lia says:

    you are getting a package from me!! I am way excited to meet your new roomie!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Having had an abysmally long labor with JP (53 hours) and a short and sweet labor with SG (4 hours) I can say, without a doubt, that it makes one hell of a difference. On the other hand, JP was a fairly difficult birth (I was exhausted) but a blissfully easy baby. SG was a piece of cake to deliver but I spent the next seven-months wishing I could crawl into a hole and die. I think I’d take long labor/easy baby over short labor/ difficult baby.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Having had an abysmally long labor with JP (53 hours) and a short and sweet labor with SG (4 hours) I can say, without a doubt, that it makes one hell of a difference. On the other hand, JP was a fairly difficult birth (I was exhausted) but a blissfully easy baby. SG was a piece of cake to deliver but I spent the next seven-months wishing I could crawl into a hole and die. I think I’d take long labor/easy baby over short labor/ difficult baby.


Leave a Reply

