I’m the boss!

Today is Brent’s first day working, which means I’m totally in charge. Except he works from home so I was able to go out and do things like buy groceries. So I guess I’m not totally in charge…

So I went to the grocery store and just bought a bunch of random stuff because I hadn’t even fathomed making a meal plan. It turns out we’ll be having a lot of pasta this week. It’s really hard to think of things that I can make for dinner that are quick (he seems to get hungry the moment I NEED to stir something for 5 minutes straight), easy to eat while holding a baby, keeps/reheats well and is vegetarian.

Before you suggest it, I’m tired of chili and burritos. I’d love other suggestions (complete with recipes, I don’t have the time to go scouring the internet) if you have ’em!


On this day:

In 2006 – we bought some stuff at IKEA
In 2005 – I leave Brent to be murdered

36 Comments on “I’m the boss!”

  1. nyxie says:

    Do you guys like curry? It is so easy to make and I find it keeps well for days. Just make a bunch of rice or other tasty grain (I like quinoa or couscous too) to go with it. Some example recipes:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/41642
    http://www.recipezaar.com/70361
    http://www.recipezaar.com/83737
    Also an acquaintance of mine posted this recently and it looks really good and easy to make:
    http://www.grouprecipes.com/58897/i-cant-believe-it-is-not-butter-chicken.html

  2. nyxie says:

    Do you guys like curry? It is so easy to make and I find it keeps well for days. Just make a bunch of rice or other tasty grain (I like quinoa or couscous too) to go with it. Some example recipes:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/41642
    http://www.recipezaar.com/70361
    http://www.recipezaar.com/83737
    Also an acquaintance of mine posted this recently and it looks really good and easy to make:
    http://www.grouprecipes.com/58897/i-cant-believe-it-is-not-butter-chicken.html

  3. fireladie says:

    I have been wracking my brain to come up with some good idea, but unfortunately most of them center around some meat, like chicken.
    One thing I have made that reheats well is a mexican rice.
    I mix up in a large baking dish 2 cups of brown rice, 2 cups of chicken broth (or any broth you want), 1 can of sweet corn, 1 can of black beans, 2-3 tbsp cumin, 2-3 tbsp oregano, 6 shakes of chipotle tobasco. Then bake it at 350 for about an hour.
    We cooked chicken on the grill and topped it with cheese with some sourcream for our meal. But you could add more veggies to the mix and top with cheese for the last 5 min of baking and have a nice dish you can reheat sections of later.

  4. fireladie says:

    I have been wracking my brain to come up with some good idea, but unfortunately most of them center around some meat, like chicken.
    One thing I have made that reheats well is a mexican rice.
    I mix up in a large baking dish 2 cups of brown rice, 2 cups of chicken broth (or any broth you want), 1 can of sweet corn, 1 can of black beans, 2-3 tbsp cumin, 2-3 tbsp oregano, 6 shakes of chipotle tobasco. Then bake it at 350 for about an hour.
    We cooked chicken on the grill and topped it with cheese with some sourcream for our meal. But you could add more veggies to the mix and top with cheese for the last 5 min of baking and have a nice dish you can reheat sections of later.

  5. lindyhoppr says:

    Black Bean Soup~!
    Black Beans, salsa stuff. Mix to your heart’s content. Heat. Eat. Reheat.
    ETA – Little english muffin pizzas can go in a toaster oven easy too.

  6. lindyhoppr says:

    Black Bean Soup~!
    Black Beans, salsa stuff. Mix to your heart’s content. Heat. Eat. Reheat.
    ETA – Little english muffin pizzas can go in a toaster oven easy too.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Hi!
    Couscous salad…A little bit of chopping, but otherwise super easy. I sometimes substitute carrots, cucumber, cubes of cheddar, whole wheat couscous. Adding some chickpeas or toasted almond slivers for some protein is yummy too.
    http://whatdidyoueat.typepad.com/what_did_you_eat/2007/07/whb-zucchinni-t.html
    Or, if you don’t mind the oven on during this summer heat, these moroccan roasted veggies are great served over couscous with some feta and toasted almonds on top:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/170031
    (I think I usually double the spices except the turmeric.)
    ps. Congratulations on your new little family! Bobby’s super cute.
    -xtina

  8. Anonymous says:

    Hi!
    Couscous salad…A little bit of chopping, but otherwise super easy. I sometimes substitute carrots, cucumber, cubes of cheddar, whole wheat couscous. Adding some chickpeas or toasted almond slivers for some protein is yummy too.
    http://whatdidyoueat.typepad.com/what_did_you_eat/2007/07/whb-zucchinni-t.html
    Or, if you don’t mind the oven on during this summer heat, these moroccan roasted veggies are great served over couscous with some feta and toasted almonds on top:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/170031
    (I think I usually double the spices except the turmeric.)
    ps. Congratulations on your new little family! Bobby’s super cute.
    -xtina

  9. rachaeldoss says:

    You cook this in a crock pot!
    So I was watching next food network star last night and one of the dishes they made was a Cassoulet. When I read your post, I thought – “I bet there is a good veg version of this out there” and I found one that sounds pretty good.
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Vegetarian-Cassoulet/Detail.aspx
    If you try it and it’s good, please let me know as I think this would be really good in winter instead of chili.

  10. rachaeldoss says:

    You cook this in a crock pot!
    So I was watching next food network star last night and one of the dishes they made was a Cassoulet. When I read your post, I thought – “I bet there is a good veg version of this out there” and I found one that sounds pretty good.
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Vegetarian-Cassoulet/Detail.aspx
    If you try it and it’s good, please let me know as I think this would be really good in winter instead of chili.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Pasta Ideas
    Well, since you have all that pasta, how about a) summer linguine: in a skillet with a a few Tsps of olive oil, toss chopped garlic, a bit of salt, fresh basil (or dried), tomatoes cut into bite-sized pieces and a green vegetable of your choice (we usually do asparagus or broccoli); warm them all up in the skillet until the garlic is soft and pour it over long pasta, sprinkle with crumbled goat feta! It doesn’t need to be hot, so you can make it ahead.
    OR: Some version of pasta fagioli? Same pan, same chopped garlic and olive oil, maybe even the same basil, some oregano and chuck in a can of beans ( we like the mixed beans that feature kidney, chick peas, and some other beans… I forget). So simmer all that with a small can of plain tomato sauce and then toss in some very al dente macaroni. This is good re-heated the next day even.
    Sorry my recipes are so vague, but I just usually cook by tossing stuff together — think of them more as ideas maybe.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Pasta Ideas
    Well, since you have all that pasta, how about a) summer linguine: in a skillet with a a few Tsps of olive oil, toss chopped garlic, a bit of salt, fresh basil (or dried), tomatoes cut into bite-sized pieces and a green vegetable of your choice (we usually do asparagus or broccoli); warm them all up in the skillet until the garlic is soft and pour it over long pasta, sprinkle with crumbled goat feta! It doesn’t need to be hot, so you can make it ahead.
    OR: Some version of pasta fagioli? Same pan, same chopped garlic and olive oil, maybe even the same basil, some oregano and chuck in a can of beans ( we like the mixed beans that feature kidney, chick peas, and some other beans… I forget). So simmer all that with a small can of plain tomato sauce and then toss in some very al dente macaroni. This is good re-heated the next day even.
    Sorry my recipes are so vague, but I just usually cook by tossing stuff together — think of them more as ideas maybe.

  13. Anonymous says:

    I’m wondering, does it feel like you’re free now, cause you can eat all the things you couldn’t during pregnancy? Have any plans to gorge yourself on guilty pleasures?

  14. Anonymous says:

    I’m wondering, does it feel like you’re free now, cause you can eat all the things you couldn’t during pregnancy? Have any plans to gorge yourself on guilty pleasures?

  15. annawesley says:

    Hii! After reading your post, I thought of this list of 101 quick summer meals (10 min or less) from Mark Bittman. They are not all vegetarian, but some are, and some could be vegetarian.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/18/dining/18mini.html?_r=1&scp=2&sq=101+simple+meals&st=nyt&oref=slogin

  16. annawesley says:

    Hii! After reading your post, I thought of this list of 101 quick summer meals (10 min or less) from Mark Bittman. They are not all vegetarian, but some are, and some could be vegetarian.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/18/dining/18mini.html?_r=1&scp=2&sq=101+simple+meals&st=nyt&oref=slogin

  17. annawesley says:

    also!
    I love this “salsa” and eat it as a meal all the time:
    1 cup fresh corn kernels (from 2 small ears) or frozen, thawed
    1 large tomato, seeded, chopped
    2/3 cup chopped red onion
    1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
    2 tablespoons olive oil
    1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
    1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
    1/2 to 1 jalapeño chili, seeded, minced
    1 cup black beans
    1 avocado, pitted, peeled, chopped
    Fresh cilantro sprigs
    Just combine all the ingredients and add the avocado last so it doesn’t get too mushy. When I have the time, I drizzle olive oil over the corn beforehand and roast on 350 for 20 min. before adding.

  18. annawesley says:

    also!
    I love this “salsa” and eat it as a meal all the time:
    1 cup fresh corn kernels (from 2 small ears) or frozen, thawed
    1 large tomato, seeded, chopped
    2/3 cup chopped red onion
    1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
    2 tablespoons olive oil
    1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
    1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
    1/2 to 1 jalapeño chili, seeded, minced
    1 cup black beans
    1 avocado, pitted, peeled, chopped
    Fresh cilantro sprigs
    Just combine all the ingredients and add the avocado last so it doesn’t get too mushy. When I have the time, I drizzle olive oil over the corn beforehand and roast on 350 for 20 min. before adding.

  19. i changed the layout for THIS LJ and it totally reminds me of you because it’s all graphic design-y and century gothic font.
    i was actually thinking on the bus on the way back to my dorm that your kid is lucky that he’s going to grow up in an artistic household because the color scheme of your house will totally train his artistic eye.
    i hope that didn’t come out sounding dumb…

  20. i changed the layout for THIS LJ and it totally reminds me of you because it’s all graphic design-y and century gothic font.
    i was actually thinking on the bus on the way back to my dorm that your kid is lucky that he’s going to grow up in an artistic household because the color scheme of your house will totally train his artistic eye.
    i hope that didn’t come out sounding dumb…

  21. fiercekitty says:

    we make veggie stir fries a lot. peppers, carrots, celery, broccoli, bean sprouts, and whatever other veggie you happen to think might be good. a bit of black bean sauce and hoisin sauce and throw it on top of rice or pasta.
    lots of chopping involved but maybe brent could do the chopping or you could chop between feedings & store the veggies in tupperware.
    I also like ratatouille but it’s pretty dependent on you liking eggplant which not everyone does. this is the recipe I use for ratatouille: http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/227/Ratatouille
    hmm what else. soups/stews. saute some onions & garlic in oil or butter/margarine (or PAM), dump in some veggie stock, add pasta or rice, celery, carrots, anything you want and you have soup. To get a tomato based stock I think you could swap out the veggie stock for tomato paste and water, but I’m not sure.
    I would totally bring some stuff over – sounds like the influx of post-birth casseroles has died off – but we’re in renovation hell right now 😦

  22. fiercekitty says:

    we make veggie stir fries a lot. peppers, carrots, celery, broccoli, bean sprouts, and whatever other veggie you happen to think might be good. a bit of black bean sauce and hoisin sauce and throw it on top of rice or pasta.
    lots of chopping involved but maybe brent could do the chopping or you could chop between feedings & store the veggies in tupperware.
    I also like ratatouille but it’s pretty dependent on you liking eggplant which not everyone does. this is the recipe I use for ratatouille: http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/227/Ratatouille
    hmm what else. soups/stews. saute some onions & garlic in oil or butter/margarine (or PAM), dump in some veggie stock, add pasta or rice, celery, carrots, anything you want and you have soup. To get a tomato based stock I think you could swap out the veggie stock for tomato paste and water, but I’m not sure.
    I would totally bring some stuff over – sounds like the influx of post-birth casseroles has died off – but we’re in renovation hell right now 😦

  23. Anonymous says:

    I made this: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/233797 for dinner tonight and it was super yummy. You could substitute tofu for chicken.
    A very simple veggie primavera is quick and easy. If you need a recipe let me know.
    Also, I’ve got a great recipe for enchilada sauce if you’re interested.

  24. Anonymous says:

    I made this: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/233797 for dinner tonight and it was super yummy. You could substitute tofu for chicken.
    A very simple veggie primavera is quick and easy. If you need a recipe let me know.
    Also, I’ve got a great recipe for enchilada sauce if you’re interested.

  25. Anonymous says:

    Email
    Hi,
    Do you have an email I could contact you at with some blog questions? You can mail me at nora@matchstick.ca
    Thanks!

  26. Anonymous says:

    Email
    Hi,
    Do you have an email I could contact you at with some blog questions? You can mail me at nora@matchstick.ca
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

