Quiltology

About a month ago, I saw this post by Mintyfresh about a quilt she made using up her scraps. I totally fell in love with it and it made me start to think about something.

I think it would be really cool to make a quilt for Bobby using fabric from my maternity clothes! There are a few problems with this:

  • I don’t know how to quilt
  • I’m not sure if fabric types are an issue
  • I don’t really have time/drive to learn how to do this

So is this possible? What do you think?


On this day:

In 2007 – Dialog and body acceptance and happiness
In 2006 – I really miss indian buffet…. I wish East India Company delivered to the suburbs.
In 2005 – A cute puppy and a gross cow butt

48 Comments on “Quiltology”

  1. agrrlswrrld says:

    I think that would be such a sweet gesture…not sure about the fabrics, but definitely a cool idea.

  2. agrrlswrrld says:

    I think that would be such a sweet gesture…not sure about the fabrics, but definitely a cool idea.

  3. agrrlswrrld says:

    I think that would be such a sweet gesture…not sure about the fabrics, but definitely a cool idea.

  4. corto says:

    google time!
    and… Suz (my partner) made her first quilt while she was preggers with our second boy… She called the quilt “Edwards Napp” and, of course, he favoured his little naps snuggled under this very small but wonderful quilt.

    ~ just thought I’d share… πŸ˜€

  5. corto says:

    google time!
    and… Suz (my partner) made her first quilt while she was preggers with our second boy… She called the quilt “Edwards Napp” and, of course, he favoured his little naps snuggled under this very small but wonderful quilt.

    ~ just thought I’d share… πŸ˜€

  6. corto says:

    google time!
    and… Suz (my partner) made her first quilt while she was preggers with our second boy… She called the quilt “Edwards Napp” and, of course, he favoured his little naps snuggled under this very small but wonderful quilt.

    ~ just thought I’d share… πŸ˜€

  7. rachaeldoss says:

    You don’t think you’ll ever use your maternity clothes again?
    I really don’t think fabrics would be an issue. I’ve thought of taking all the t-shirts I’ve saved from over the years and turning them into a quilt instead of having them live in a box.
    But I don’t know how to quilt, either!

  8. rachaeldoss says:

    You don’t think you’ll ever use your maternity clothes again?
    I really don’t think fabrics would be an issue. I’ve thought of taking all the t-shirts I’ve saved from over the years and turning them into a quilt instead of having them live in a box.
    But I don’t know how to quilt, either!

  9. rachaeldoss says:

    You don’t think you’ll ever use your maternity clothes again?
    I really don’t think fabrics would be an issue. I’ve thought of taking all the t-shirts I’ve saved from over the years and turning them into a quilt instead of having them live in a box.
    But I don’t know how to quilt, either!

  10. damedini says:

    A quilt is two layers of bits of fabric sewn together, sandwiched around batting, sewn through to keep it all from shifting.
    Step 1: cut clothes to bits
    2: sew bits together
    3. sandwich batting between two large layers of sewn-together-bits
    4. sew together around edges (edge binding is good here)
    5. tack or sew the layers together here and there.
    My best friend when I was a kid had a quilt her grandma made her. It was as I describe. it was not quited as we know it, it had bits of yarn tied through it and knotted. She adored it.
    The sort of art quilting you describe is way more than you want to give a baby. A crazy quilt is more the thing when he pours juice all over it then barfs on it.

  11. damedini says:

    A quilt is two layers of bits of fabric sewn together, sandwiched around batting, sewn through to keep it all from shifting.
    Step 1: cut clothes to bits
    2: sew bits together
    3. sandwich batting between two large layers of sewn-together-bits
    4. sew together around edges (edge binding is good here)
    5. tack or sew the layers together here and there.
    My best friend when I was a kid had a quilt her grandma made her. It was as I describe. it was not quited as we know it, it had bits of yarn tied through it and knotted. She adored it.
    The sort of art quilting you describe is way more than you want to give a baby. A crazy quilt is more the thing when he pours juice all over it then barfs on it.

  12. damedini says:

    A quilt is two layers of bits of fabric sewn together, sandwiched around batting, sewn through to keep it all from shifting.
    Step 1: cut clothes to bits
    2: sew bits together
    3. sandwich batting between two large layers of sewn-together-bits
    4. sew together around edges (edge binding is good here)
    5. tack or sew the layers together here and there.
    My best friend when I was a kid had a quilt her grandma made her. It was as I describe. it was not quited as we know it, it had bits of yarn tied through it and knotted. She adored it.
    The sort of art quilting you describe is way more than you want to give a baby. A crazy quilt is more the thing when he pours juice all over it then barfs on it.

  13. redaryl says:

    I had a friend that made quilts from old tshirts she loved but no longer wore. So I don’t think the material is a huge issue. Although I’m not expert.
    I’ve wanted to learn how to do this too. Do you have a sewing machine?

  14. redaryl says:

    I had a friend that made quilts from old tshirts she loved but no longer wore. So I don’t think the material is a huge issue. Although I’m not expert.
    I’ve wanted to learn how to do this too. Do you have a sewing machine?

  15. redaryl says:

    I had a friend that made quilts from old tshirts she loved but no longer wore. So I don’t think the material is a huge issue. Although I’m not expert.
    I’ve wanted to learn how to do this too. Do you have a sewing machine?

  16. Anonymous says:

    from Aggie
    Sorry I don’t know how to post on this without being “anonymous”. Anyway, it’s Aggie! You can make a quilt. I made my first quilt this year and it was an amazing experience. I used huge chunks of fabric, rather than little bits, and I tied the whole thing together with embroidery floss. My quilt mentor is this woman who makes amazing and usual things out of used clothing. She told me that fabric does matter a bit. Stretch fabrics are harder to work with. She recommended usually generally the same weight of fabric. She also told me I didn’t need to meticulously measure stuff, and I found that really helpful and empowering. Have fun!
    And congratulations on your little fellow! Look forward to reading more about him and seeing him grow.

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: from Aggie
      Thanks for the encouragement! That site has some really nice stuff.
      To post without being anonymous you choose “open id” and use your blog’s URL (I think)

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: from Aggie
      Thanks for the encouragement! That site has some really nice stuff.
      To post without being anonymous you choose “open id” and use your blog’s URL (I think)

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: from Aggie
      Thanks for the encouragement! That site has some really nice stuff.
      To post without being anonymous you choose “open id” and use your blog’s URL (I think)

  17. Anonymous says:

    from Aggie
    Sorry I don’t know how to post on this without being “anonymous”. Anyway, it’s Aggie! You can make a quilt. I made my first quilt this year and it was an amazing experience. I used huge chunks of fabric, rather than little bits, and I tied the whole thing together with embroidery floss. My quilt mentor is this woman who makes amazing and usual things out of used clothing. She told me that fabric does matter a bit. Stretch fabrics are harder to work with. She recommended usually generally the same weight of fabric. She also told me I didn’t need to meticulously measure stuff, and I found that really helpful and empowering. Have fun!
    And congratulations on your little fellow! Look forward to reading more about him and seeing him grow.

  18. Anonymous says:

    from Aggie
    Sorry I don’t know how to post on this without being “anonymous”. Anyway, it’s Aggie! You can make a quilt. I made my first quilt this year and it was an amazing experience. I used huge chunks of fabric, rather than little bits, and I tied the whole thing together with embroidery floss. My quilt mentor is this woman who makes amazing and usual things out of used clothing. She told me that fabric does matter a bit. Stretch fabrics are harder to work with. She recommended usually generally the same weight of fabric. She also told me I didn’t need to meticulously measure stuff, and I found that really helpful and empowering. Have fun!
    And congratulations on your little fellow! Look forward to reading more about him and seeing him grow.

  19. That is the nicest quilt I have ever seen. I think you could totally do it! Just do a bit at a time and don’t put pressure on yourself to finish it quick.
    I wouldn’t cut up your maternity clothes. You are right that certain fabrics have a different give. I would go to the fabric store and get the minimum they let you cut of cotton fabrics that you like.

  20. That is the nicest quilt I have ever seen. I think you could totally do it! Just do a bit at a time and don’t put pressure on yourself to finish it quick.
    I wouldn’t cut up your maternity clothes. You are right that certain fabrics have a different give. I would go to the fabric store and get the minimum they let you cut of cotton fabrics that you like.

  21. That is the nicest quilt I have ever seen. I think you could totally do it! Just do a bit at a time and don’t put pressure on yourself to finish it quick.
    I wouldn’t cut up your maternity clothes. You are right that certain fabrics have a different give. I would go to the fabric store and get the minimum they let you cut of cotton fabrics that you like.

  22. I’m glad to hear you liked it!
    Fabric weight shouldn’t be too much of an issue if you want to use your maternity clothes – but it really depends on what you’re using. I’ve made quilts out of tshirts, baby onesies, rugby jerseys and more, so it’s all in making sure that it’s stable more than anything else.
    As quilts go, this one is pretty easy – if you can sew a straight line, it’s totally possible! Email me if you’d like – I can give you the basic pattern for what I made, and a good idea of what you’ll need to get started.
    -robyn (@ mintyfresh.ca)
    PS – congratulations!

    • tianadargent says:

      Thanks Robyn. I think I’ll try settling into having a baby before I take this on but I’m feeling fairly confident about it right now.
      Everything is pretty much t-shirt fabric so I think it will be ok…. I don’t know if I can sew in a straight line though…

    • tianadargent says:

      Thanks Robyn. I think I’ll try settling into having a baby before I take this on but I’m feeling fairly confident about it right now.
      Everything is pretty much t-shirt fabric so I think it will be ok…. I don’t know if I can sew in a straight line though…

    • tianadargent says:

      Thanks Robyn. I think I’ll try settling into having a baby before I take this on but I’m feeling fairly confident about it right now.
      Everything is pretty much t-shirt fabric so I think it will be ok…. I don’t know if I can sew in a straight line though…

  23. I’m glad to hear you liked it!
    Fabric weight shouldn’t be too much of an issue if you want to use your maternity clothes – but it really depends on what you’re using. I’ve made quilts out of tshirts, baby onesies, rugby jerseys and more, so it’s all in making sure that it’s stable more than anything else.
    As quilts go, this one is pretty easy – if you can sew a straight line, it’s totally possible! Email me if you’d like – I can give you the basic pattern for what I made, and a good idea of what you’ll need to get started.
    -robyn (@ mintyfresh.ca)
    PS – congratulations!

  24. I’m glad to hear you liked it!
    Fabric weight shouldn’t be too much of an issue if you want to use your maternity clothes – but it really depends on what you’re using. I’ve made quilts out of tshirts, baby onesies, rugby jerseys and more, so it’s all in making sure that it’s stable more than anything else.
    As quilts go, this one is pretty easy – if you can sew a straight line, it’s totally possible! Email me if you’d like – I can give you the basic pattern for what I made, and a good idea of what you’ll need to get started.
    -robyn (@ mintyfresh.ca)
    PS – congratulations!


Leave a Reply

