Oh behalf of my wife…

It’s true, the labor was in fact just starting up, and yes, the little dude is out and doing just fine.

Brent here (Tiana’s husband, in case you don’t know me), she’s over at the hospital resting up.  She’s doing just fine, baby is doing pretty good considering he’s premature.  We’ll be stuck over there for the next few days, until Tuesday afternoon by the looks of things.  It’s hard to look at your son when he’s got little heart monitors and respiratory monitors all over him, but it’s all precautionary, and so far no tests have come back with anything but positive results.

He weighed 6 pounds 2 ounces at the time of birth, which is a lot bigger than a lot of premature babies.  He’s got a gigantic amount of hair, I was thinking that we should probably send him to the barber shop before sending him to the nursery.  Seriously, it’s almost hanging over his ears.

The most amazing part though was Tiana’s labour.  Imagine a sprinter running a marathon.  I’ve learned in the pre-natal classes that a first-time mother should expect labor to last anywhere from 15 to 24 hours.  Well, we arrived at the hospital at 9:30am, they weren’t sure that she had broken her water until about 11am.  They admitted her at 12:30pm, and she was 2cm dilated.  By 2:45pm, she was already pushing.  Yup, her first time labor took just over 2 hours, and she pushed for about 30-45 minutes, and there he was.

Anyway, I have lots of photos, and a very gross video that I made of the “placenta tour” which I’m sure that Tiana will post and you will all love.  I have to get back over there now, but I’m sure she’ll write more about the whole thing when she gets out.

Word.

93 Comments on “Oh behalf of my wife…”

  1. nyxie says:

    Congrats Tiana and Brent! And I’m sure your baby will be just fine… 36 weeks is usually a safe point for a baby to be born.
    So exciting! Let us all know what you name him, and of course bring pictures!

  2. nyxie says:

    Congrats Tiana and Brent! And I’m sure your baby will be just fine… 36 weeks is usually a safe point for a baby to be born.
    So exciting! Let us all know what you name him, and of course bring pictures!

  3. nyxie says:

    Congrats Tiana and Brent! And I’m sure your baby will be just fine… 36 weeks is usually a safe point for a baby to be born.
    So exciting! Let us all know what you name him, and of course bring pictures!

  4. annawesley says:

    !!!
    Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for both of you, and you’ll be in my thoughts this week. Keep us posted!

  5. annawesley says:

    !!!
    Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for both of you, and you’ll be in my thoughts this week. Keep us posted!

  6. annawesley says:

    !!!
    Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for both of you, and you’ll be in my thoughts this week. Keep us posted!

  7. Awwww!! I’m so excited for ya’ll. Congratulations on your new son with the full head of hair, I can’t wait to see pictures.
    Tiana – Good job on such a smooth pregnancy and swift labor. I hope you’re feeling better soon & I look foward to hearing all about your little guy!!
    Lots of hugs!!

  8. Awwww!! I’m so excited for ya’ll. Congratulations on your new son with the full head of hair, I can’t wait to see pictures.
    Tiana – Good job on such a smooth pregnancy and swift labor. I hope you’re feeling better soon & I look foward to hearing all about your little guy!!
    Lots of hugs!!

  9. Awwww!! I’m so excited for ya’ll. Congratulations on your new son with the full head of hair, I can’t wait to see pictures.
    Tiana – Good job on such a smooth pregnancy and swift labor. I hope you’re feeling better soon & I look foward to hearing all about your little guy!!
    Lots of hugs!!

  10. fiercekitty says:

    Congratulations you two!!! Tiana is a pregnancy & labour superstar πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see the pictures, although I’m sure you guys are going to be pretty busy over the coming weeks.

  11. fiercekitty says:

    Congratulations you two!!! Tiana is a pregnancy & labour superstar πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see the pictures, although I’m sure you guys are going to be pretty busy over the coming weeks.

  12. fiercekitty says:

    Congratulations you two!!! Tiana is a pregnancy & labour superstar πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see the pictures, although I’m sure you guys are going to be pretty busy over the coming weeks.

  13. agrrlswrrld says:

    congratulations to you both! I’m sure everything will be fine.
    Can’t wait to see pics!

  14. agrrlswrrld says:

    congratulations to you both! I’m sure everything will be fine.
    Can’t wait to see pics!

  15. agrrlswrrld says:

    congratulations to you both! I’m sure everything will be fine.
    Can’t wait to see pics!

  16. superfrayed says:

    Congratulations to you both!!

  17. superfrayed says:

    Congratulations to you both!!

  18. superfrayed says:

    Congratulations to you both!!

  19. rachaeldoss says:

    Fantastic!!!
    Excited to hear everything went smoothly, if a little early!
    Big hugs all around to you and the fam!

  20. rachaeldoss says:

    Fantastic!!!
    Excited to hear everything went smoothly, if a little early!
    Big hugs all around to you and the fam!

  21. rachaeldoss says:

    Fantastic!!!
    Excited to hear everything went smoothly, if a little early!
    Big hugs all around to you and the fam!

  22. corto says:

    YEAH!!! πŸ™‚
    Congratulations to you both…
    “He” “he” “he”… but what’s his name? πŸ˜€
    I’m glad all is well and I am very much looking forward to pictures! πŸ˜€
    Thank you for taking the time to post for T.

  23. corto says:

    YEAH!!! πŸ™‚
    Congratulations to you both…
    “He” “he” “he”… but what’s his name? πŸ˜€
    I’m glad all is well and I am very much looking forward to pictures! πŸ˜€
    Thank you for taking the time to post for T.

  24. corto says:

    YEAH!!! πŸ™‚
    Congratulations to you both…
    “He” “he” “he”… but what’s his name? πŸ˜€
    I’m glad all is well and I am very much looking forward to pictures! πŸ˜€
    Thank you for taking the time to post for T.

  25. YAY BABY!!!!
    Congrats, can’t wait to see that placenta! πŸ™‚

  26. YAY BABY!!!!
    Congrats, can’t wait to see that placenta! πŸ™‚

  27. YAY BABY!!!!
    Congrats, can’t wait to see that placenta! πŸ™‚

  28. missfox says:

    Congrats to you both! πŸ˜€
    I’m glad everyone is doing well. Good on T for her amazing labor!

  29. missfox says:

    Congrats to you both! πŸ˜€
    I’m glad everyone is doing well. Good on T for her amazing labor!

  30. missfox says:

    Congrats to you both! πŸ˜€
    I’m glad everyone is doing well. Good on T for her amazing labor!

  31. littlelibby says:

    Congratulations on the new baby!

  32. littlelibby says:

    Congratulations on the new baby!

  33. littlelibby says:

    Congratulations on the new baby!

  34. I already sent an excited email, but I want my congrats preserved. CONGRATS!!! I am super proud of you lady! I can’t wait to see pictures and hear about everything.
    I have been trying to call you all afternoon. Les francophones are going to start blocking my numero.
    I love you and can’t wait to meet your first official red headed jerk!

  35. I already sent an excited email, but I want my congrats preserved. CONGRATS!!! I am super proud of you lady! I can’t wait to see pictures and hear about everything.
    I have been trying to call you all afternoon. Les francophones are going to start blocking my numero.
    I love you and can’t wait to meet your first official red headed jerk!

  36. I already sent an excited email, but I want my congrats preserved. CONGRATS!!! I am super proud of you lady! I can’t wait to see pictures and hear about everything.
    I have been trying to call you all afternoon. Les francophones are going to start blocking my numero.
    I love you and can’t wait to meet your first official red headed jerk!

  37. Anonymous says:

    Congrats!
    Good work Tiana – congratulations! I found out you were in labour at the Bloggers’ Wine & Cheese Party at the Fringe Festival last night. πŸ˜‰
    zoom

  38. Anonymous says:

    Congrats!
    Good work Tiana – congratulations! I found out you were in labour at the Bloggers’ Wine & Cheese Party at the Fringe Festival last night. πŸ˜‰
    zoom

  39. Anonymous says:

    Congrats!
    Good work Tiana – congratulations! I found out you were in labour at the Bloggers’ Wine & Cheese Party at the Fringe Festival last night. πŸ˜‰
    zoom

  40. fireladie says:

    Congratulations! Many prayers and good thoughts!

  41. fireladie says:

    Congratulations! Many prayers and good thoughts!

  42. fireladie says:

    Congratulations! Many prayers and good thoughts!

  43. Holy crap, I didn’t expect that to really be labor! Congrats Tiana, Brent, and baby! πŸ˜€

  44. Holy crap, I didn’t expect that to really be labor! Congrats Tiana, Brent, and baby! πŸ˜€

  45. Holy crap, I didn’t expect that to really be labor! Congrats Tiana, Brent, and baby! πŸ˜€

  46. metahara says:

    Congrats!
    Yaye!
    and wow
    6lbs 2 oz doesn’t sound pre-mature…maybe it takes your wife a shorter amount of time to make a baby…one persons early is another’s actual term.
    You must be overjoyed- congrats and good health!

  47. metahara says:

    Congrats!
    Yaye!
    and wow
    6lbs 2 oz doesn’t sound pre-mature…maybe it takes your wife a shorter amount of time to make a baby…one persons early is another’s actual term.
    You must be overjoyed- congrats and good health!

  48. metahara says:

    Congrats!
    Yaye!
    and wow
    6lbs 2 oz doesn’t sound pre-mature…maybe it takes your wife a shorter amount of time to make a baby…one persons early is another’s actual term.
    You must be overjoyed- congrats and good health!

  49. damedini says:

    Congrats to all of you!!!! Pics must be posted as soon as possibly so that we can admire His Highness.
    6+ pounds is amazing for a premie, he’ll do very well! Get pics while the hair is still there, it’ll most likely fall out.
    Rest while you can. You are pwned by the little guy now.

  50. damedini says:

    Congrats to all of you!!!! Pics must be posted as soon as possibly so that we can admire His Highness.
    6+ pounds is amazing for a premie, he’ll do very well! Get pics while the hair is still there, it’ll most likely fall out.
    Rest while you can. You are pwned by the little guy now.

  51. damedini says:

    Congrats to all of you!!!! Pics must be posted as soon as possibly so that we can admire His Highness.
    6+ pounds is amazing for a premie, he’ll do very well! Get pics while the hair is still there, it’ll most likely fall out.
    Rest while you can. You are pwned by the little guy now.

  52. lumpy_lia says:

    OMG CONGRATS!! I LOVE YOUS GUYS!

  53. lumpy_lia says:

    OMG CONGRATS!! I LOVE YOUS GUYS!

  54. lumpy_lia says:

    OMG CONGRATS!! I LOVE YOUS GUYS!

  55. trinity3x says:

    Congratulations you two! How amazing!

  56. trinity3x says:

    Congratulations you two! How amazing!

  57. trinity3x says:

    Congratulations you two! How amazing!

  58. rinni says:

    Congratulations! Glad he’s doing well. Hoping for continued good health for you both!

  59. rinni says:

    Congratulations! Glad he’s doing well. Hoping for continued good health for you both!

  60. rinni says:

    Congratulations! Glad he’s doing well. Hoping for continued good health for you both!

  61. utsi says:

    congrats to all involved πŸ™‚

  62. utsi says:

    congrats to all involved πŸ™‚

  63. utsi says:

    congrats to all involved πŸ™‚

  64. lyndszy says:

    wow!
    congrats! πŸ™‚
    can’t wait to see pics.

  65. lyndszy says:

    wow!
    congrats! πŸ™‚
    can’t wait to see pics.

  66. lyndszy says:

    wow!
    congrats! πŸ™‚
    can’t wait to see pics.

  67. filmfatale says:

    Congratulations! so relieved to hear all is well.

  68. filmfatale says:

    Congratulations! so relieved to hear all is well.

  69. filmfatale says:

    Congratulations! so relieved to hear all is well.

  70. Anonymous says:

    Hooray for a healthy baby boy and a healthy Mama!!! Congratulations to everyone! Looking forward to the pictures- placenta and all.
    Hmm…tell Tiana I might post pics of my placenta and we can compare. πŸ˜‰

  71. Anonymous says:

    Hooray for a healthy baby boy and a healthy Mama!!! Congratulations to everyone! Looking forward to the pictures- placenta and all.
    Hmm…tell Tiana I might post pics of my placenta and we can compare. πŸ˜‰

  72. Anonymous says:

    Hooray for a healthy baby boy and a healthy Mama!!! Congratulations to everyone! Looking forward to the pictures- placenta and all.
    Hmm…tell Tiana I might post pics of my placenta and we can compare. πŸ˜‰

  73. Congrats Tiana and Brent! Glad to hear that baby and mom seem to be doing very well. So I guess in the end it happened in the hospital after all.
    Can’t wait to see the pictures. Do you have a name for the little dude yet?

  74. Congrats Tiana and Brent! Glad to hear that baby and mom seem to be doing very well. So I guess in the end it happened in the hospital after all.
    Can’t wait to see the pictures. Do you have a name for the little dude yet?

  75. Congrats Tiana and Brent! Glad to hear that baby and mom seem to be doing very well. So I guess in the end it happened in the hospital after all.
    Can’t wait to see the pictures. Do you have a name for the little dude yet?

  76. I’m so glad mother and child are doing fine! Congratulations- can’t wait to see photos of the little man.

  77. I’m so glad mother and child are doing fine! Congratulations- can’t wait to see photos of the little man.

  78. I’m so glad mother and child are doing fine! Congratulations- can’t wait to see photos of the little man.

  79. shesaid says:

    Congrats! So glad everyone is doing well. Can’t wait to hear all about it and see photos and find out his name!

  80. shesaid says:

    Congrats! So glad everyone is doing well. Can’t wait to hear all about it and see photos and find out his name!

  81. shesaid says:

    Congrats! So glad everyone is doing well. Can’t wait to hear all about it and see photos and find out his name!

  82. πŸ˜€ i’m glad the baby came out safe!!! πŸ˜€ i’m so excited!!! luba says hi to baby. and also tiana!

  83. πŸ˜€ i’m glad the baby came out safe!!! πŸ˜€ i’m so excited!!! luba says hi to baby. and also tiana!

  84. πŸ˜€ i’m glad the baby came out safe!!! πŸ˜€ i’m so excited!!! luba says hi to baby. and also tiana!

  85. Anonymous says:

    Baby photo op! πŸ™‚

  86. Anonymous says:

    Baby photo op! πŸ™‚

  87. Anonymous says:

    Baby photo op! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

