I forgot what taking drugs was like

Yesterday was father’s day. Brent and my Father in Law finished installing the flooring and trim in the baby’s room. Now we just need to touch up the paint and put int he furniture etc.

After they finished, we all headed over the FIL’s for a Father’s Day dinner. About 30 minutes before we ate, I started feeling sore at the top of my belly. It just felt like the Hurricane was pushing upwards so I would shift positions and try to ignore it.

7 of us gathered around the table for a cornucopia of salads, sausages (veggy dogs for me… they cooked all 6 in the package for some reason though… I ate 2)and breads. After dinner there was a chocolate cake and I had a small wedge (like 3 bites small).

I felt SO FULL and bloated so I was looking forward to going home and let my digestive system do it’s work. Brent went to play hockey and I hung out on the sofa and started to watch Waiting for Guffman.

My stomach kept hurting and the pain was spreading. My back felt all tense. I kept shifting and I would feel comfortable for a few minutes but then I’d feel a sensation like “Move NOW!!!” and I’d have to shift again, or walk around a little. I still felt like it was indigestion but it was worse than anything I had felt before. I had considered that it might be the start of labour but my mucus plug hadn’t come out, my water hadn’t broken and there was no relief from the pain at all. During labour, there is no pain between contractions.

After that movie ended, I needed to find something else to distract me. I started watching Fun with Dick and Jane but it wasn’t cutting it so I called Brent. It was Matt and Tim’s birthday so they went home for drinks after the game. I asked him to come home soon and he said he would but I assured him it was ok, I just needed him.

About an hour went by and I just couldn’t take it anymore! I called Brent again and told him to come home right away. I tried walking around, sitting on my exercise ball, draping myself over it, going to the bathroom. Nothing helped. It felt like Brent was taking forever so I called him again, he was only a few blocks away. I told him I was paging the midwife and that I’d see him soon.

Once he got home he got me some ice water and started rubbing my back. It didn’t make the pain go away but it definitely made me feel better.  Then we thought that we might have to go to the hospital so he packed me a quick bag just in case.  The midwife showed up and asked about everything.  I told her pretty much what I wrote.

She checked his heart rate and it was fine, he was also moving around so he was not deemed to be in distress. My pulse was fine, my temperature was fine, my blood pressure was a little off but that was attributed to stress.  She said she noticed in her time over that the pain seemed to get worse at intervals so she palpated my stomach when it was a ‘worse’ time to see if I was having contractions. She said it was hard, but it was also hard in the less painful moments.

She decided to do an internal exam to completely rule out labour and discovered that my cervix wasn’t dilated at all.  Guess what’s not fun… having your cervix poked!

She said that it was either by body reacting to the baby dropping or a digestive issue brought on by greasy foods.  I hadn’t had greasy food (that day anyhow) but apparently, late in pregnancy, even a salad dressing acts as fried foods would. So she said to take 2 gravol, 2 extra strength Tylonol and hop in a warm bath until I felt better. 

She left me around midnight.  I took 2 gravol and Brent went to the 24h Shopper’s to get Tylonol while I ran a bath.  The bath helped INSTANTLY! However, we don’t exactly have a soaker tub so I would lay on one side to get as much belly in as I could and then lay on the other to relieve the other side.  After adding the Tylonol to the cocktail I stayed in the bath for about another half hour.  Brent came to check on me and since I was almost asleep, I got into bed.

For the first time in a LONG time I felt cold so I wore Brent’s jogging pants and a tank to bed and made myself a nest and passed the fuck out.

I haven’t had any kind of narcotic in my system since November.  Even before that, one gravol would knock me out for an entire night.  I was useless this morning.  I remember getting up to feed the dogs and going back t bed. Then I remember getting up to send an email to my work to say I wouldn’t be coming in but I have no recollection of what I wrote so it could have been “bring me a jelly sammich” for all I know.

I dozed until about noon and I still feel groggy now, 8 hours later.  The pain hasn’t returned at all so we are all sure that it wasn’t labour.  So it was likely super bad indigestion or a super bad reactions to baby dropping. To be on the safe side I need to stay away from oils and cakes and such.

So that was pretty much awesome.

39 Comments on “I forgot what taking drugs was like”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    Oh, that sounds AWFUL! I’m glad it finally went away, though.
    I don’t know what gravol is, but I think I want a bucketful of them. πŸ˜€

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    Oh, that sounds AWFUL! I’m glad it finally went away, though.
    I don’t know what gravol is, but I think I want a bucketful of them. πŸ˜€

  3. rachaeldoss says:

    Oh, that sounds AWFUL! I’m glad it finally went away, though.
    I don’t know what gravol is, but I think I want a bucketful of them. πŸ˜€

  4. damedini says:

    Poor you. Little brat probably had both feet pushing down on your stomach his body pushed upward.
    These things are designed to make you look forward to labor.

  5. damedini says:

    Poor you. Little brat probably had both feet pushing down on your stomach his body pushed upward.
    These things are designed to make you look forward to labor.

  6. damedini says:

    Poor you. Little brat probably had both feet pushing down on your stomach his body pushed upward.
    These things are designed to make you look forward to labor.

  7. That sounds so scary! Really glad you are okay:) It sounds like you guys kept calm and worked through it together, which is good practice for the labor to come.
    Stop eating greasy lettuce!

  8. That sounds so scary! Really glad you are okay:) It sounds like you guys kept calm and worked through it together, which is good practice for the labor to come.
    Stop eating greasy lettuce!

  9. That sounds so scary! Really glad you are okay:) It sounds like you guys kept calm and worked through it together, which is good practice for the labor to come.
    Stop eating greasy lettuce!

  10. trinity3x says:

    Whew! So SCARY! I’m glad everyone is OK. I’m glad Brent and the midwife were able to help.

  11. trinity3x says:

    Whew! So SCARY! I’m glad everyone is OK. I’m glad Brent and the midwife were able to help.

  12. trinity3x says:

    Whew! So SCARY! I’m glad everyone is OK. I’m glad Brent and the midwife were able to help.

  13. fireladie says:

    Not fun! Ugh, I could feel the stress in your “voice” while reading this. So this is what I have to look forward to when I have a little alien in my tummy πŸ™‚

  14. fireladie says:

    Not fun! Ugh, I could feel the stress in your “voice” while reading this. So this is what I have to look forward to when I have a little alien in my tummy πŸ™‚

  15. fireladie says:

    Not fun! Ugh, I could feel the stress in your “voice” while reading this. So this is what I have to look forward to when I have a little alien in my tummy πŸ™‚

  16. My goodness! I’m glad you were finally able to find relief.
    Take care!

  17. My goodness! I’m glad you were finally able to find relief.
    Take care!

  18. My goodness! I’m glad you were finally able to find relief.
    Take care!

  19. Anonymous says:

    I was getting a little excited there thinking the baby was on its way. Ah well, soon! Near the end I remember being in agony like that after pretty much every meal. I found it best to just nibble teensy bits all day long.

  20. Anonymous says:

    I was getting a little excited there thinking the baby was on its way. Ah well, soon! Near the end I remember being in agony like that after pretty much every meal. I found it best to just nibble teensy bits all day long.

  21. Anonymous says:

    I was getting a little excited there thinking the baby was on its way. Ah well, soon! Near the end I remember being in agony like that after pretty much every meal. I found it best to just nibble teensy bits all day long.

  22. Poor Dear!!
    I’m glad everything worked out & you got some relief. At least you know what caused it and you can hopefully avoid future situations.
    *hugs*

  23. Poor Dear!!
    I’m glad everything worked out & you got some relief. At least you know what caused it and you can hopefully avoid future situations.
    *hugs*

  24. Poor Dear!!
    I’m glad everything worked out & you got some relief. At least you know what caused it and you can hopefully avoid future situations.
    *hugs*


Leave a Reply

