A moral dilemma…

So I got some gifts for the baby that I would consider unsafe due to being made of mystery plastics ans being painted and that they will undoubtedly go in his mouth. I don’t want paint flaking off into his mouth or him chewing on probably toxic plastics.

In conjunction with this, I hate the idea of things going to waste.

What should I do with these items? Is it reprehensible to say that they are not good enough for me but then to donate them to someone else? I definitely won’t use them and I don’t know where they are from so I can’t return them.

My options are to throw them out or donate them. What do you think?


On this day:

In 2007 – weirdo
In 2006 – why I try to avoid buying cheap shoes and a photo montage of me washing up
In 2005 – air conditioner tips

34 Comments on “A moral dilemma…”

  1. If they are small enough… you could always use them as embellishments on baby gifts you wrap in the future. I like to add a little plastic rattle/teether etc. to the bow when I wrap a baby gift.
    OR you could just donate them : )

  2. If they are small enough… you could always use them as embellishments on baby gifts you wrap in the future. I like to add a little plastic rattle/teether etc. to the bow when I wrap a baby gift.
    OR you could just donate them : )

  3. metahara says:

    toy props- not safe for kids
    make art
    give to someone else who can make art with them
    go on craigslist and offer them to any artist or production designer/ set dresser from film to have and use
    give them to a prop house

  4. metahara says:

    toy props- not safe for kids
    make art
    give to someone else who can make art with them
    go on craigslist and offer them to any artist or production designer/ set dresser from film to have and use
    give them to a prop house

  5. photogfrog says:

    His mouth? Boy?
    I agree with the donation for props and drama things.

  6. photogfrog says:

    His mouth? Boy?
    I agree with the donation for props and drama things.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Unless you know for a fact that they’re unsafe and/or been recalled, I think it’s okay if you donate them. Let’s say someone knitted a heinous sweater for the baby. You’d take a picture of him with it on and then toss it onto the next donation truck cruising through your neighborhood, right?
    Also, check some the brands before you toss. Haba, which has tons of wooden, painted baby toys has a really good reputation for safe toys. Just a thought.

    • tianadargent says:

      Yeah I’ve checked the brands and there is no info on what they are made with which is totally sketch. I’d be less worried if the colour was embedded in the plastic but it’s painted on and I can scratch it off with just a little effort so… blech!
      I’ll check out Habba though, I haven’t heard of them and I’m a huge fan of wooden toys.

    • tianadargent says:

      Yeah I’ve checked the brands and there is no info on what they are made with which is totally sketch. I’d be less worried if the colour was embedded in the plastic but it’s painted on and I can scratch it off with just a little effort so… blech!
      I’ll check out Habba though, I haven’t heard of them and I’m a huge fan of wooden toys.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Unless you know for a fact that they’re unsafe and/or been recalled, I think it’s okay if you donate them. Let’s say someone knitted a heinous sweater for the baby. You’d take a picture of him with it on and then toss it onto the next donation truck cruising through your neighborhood, right?
    Also, check some the brands before you toss. Haba, which has tons of wooden, painted baby toys has a really good reputation for safe toys. Just a thought.

  9. vonandmoggy says:

    I was going to vote for donate (because I also hate to see things go to waste) but if the paint can be scraped off with a fingernail…ick. Maybe safest to toss ’em. 😦

  10. vonandmoggy says:

    I was going to vote for donate (because I also hate to see things go to waste) but if the paint can be scraped off with a fingernail…ick. Maybe safest to toss ’em. 😦

  11. lumpy_lia says:

    DONATE THEM!
    The Parent Resource Centre is ALWAYS looking for new stuff. They are an AWESOME organization.
    http://www.parentresource.on.ca/aboutus.html
    Seriously – if we have kids and decide to move back to Canadia that place is one of the biggest reasons I’m pushing aaron to move back to Ottawa.

  12. lumpy_lia says:

    DONATE THEM!
    The Parent Resource Centre is ALWAYS looking for new stuff. They are an AWESOME organization.
    http://www.parentresource.on.ca/aboutus.html
    Seriously – if we have kids and decide to move back to Canadia that place is one of the biggest reasons I’m pushing aaron to move back to Ottawa.

  13. well it’s not at all the case that you’ve decided that they’re not good enough for you. rather it is merely a case of you disapproving of what they are made from.
    other people, however, might not care as much about plastics, etc. so i don’t think donating them would be a bad idea at all!
    besides, back in russia, i broke mercury thermometers all the time and i turned out fine. so if you choose to donate these toys to another family, just know the plastic is probably less toxic to chew on than mercury is to inhale.
    i also used to eat erasers. ok. i’m done confessing now.

  14. well it’s not at all the case that you’ve decided that they’re not good enough for you. rather it is merely a case of you disapproving of what they are made from.
    other people, however, might not care as much about plastics, etc. so i don’t think donating them would be a bad idea at all!
    besides, back in russia, i broke mercury thermometers all the time and i turned out fine. so if you choose to donate these toys to another family, just know the plastic is probably less toxic to chew on than mercury is to inhale.
    i also used to eat erasers. ok. i’m done confessing now.


Leave a Reply

