Showered

Ok shower recap.

My sister came into town on Friday so I took the day off work to pick her up and run errands and get all kinds of stuff ready. She made us some chick pea ragu for dinner ans it was awesome. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2-3 table spoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup chicken vegetable stock
  • s & p to taste
  • cayenne pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained & rinced

Sweat onions & tomato, as well as the pepper flakes, in olive oil over medium heat. Once the onions have softened and the tomatoes have broken down add the minced garlic and sweat for another 2-3 mins. (lower heat a little so the garlic does not burn). Then add chickpeas, the stock. Stir & let simmer for approx. 15-20 mins. Salt & pepper to taste.

After dinner we assembled loot bags that contained fun-dip, ring pops, tea and magic pads which are basically a black waxy background with a piece of plastic over top and a plastic ‘pen’ and your notes disappear when you lift the plastic from the backing. Oh and stickers!

We cleaned up the entire main floor. My mom came over and helped a lot. She brought flowers, a cake that involved the decapitated head of a doll, some marzipan creatures and some hummus.

the cake

Brent inspects the cake

Happy me with desserts

Ah! KILL IT!

there are also photos of me trying to eat the head impaled on a fork but nobody sent me those.

Kerry and Ethan showed up about an hour early because she was so busy that she lost track of time. She helped put all the cushion covers I washed back on the sofa and Ethan brought up the cute factor by 200%

My sister and her new boyfriend

My sister is in love with Ethan and is chatting him up.

It all started off somewhat slowly as most of my family was late due to crazy GPS that took them NEXT to the highway but not ON it. Oh technology!

Karen and Marley

My mother in law and sister in law. They would probably both kill me if they knew I posted this…

There were lots of happy kids running around playing with stuff, eating sweets and colouring.

Keeping secrets from the boy

My cousins’ girls and Ethan trying to figure out what they are doing.

Kiddy corner

Ava reading a story to her mom and Susan

My sister had brought white onesies and markers to decorate them. Mine is totally awesome but I cheated and traced a unirex drawing. I didn’t take any photos of the shower at all so unless someone emails me more photos, I’ll have to get down and take photos myself.

I got lots of presents and so much clothes that I doubt I’ll have to buy any for quite a long time.

Sausage fingers

I started off in this black shirt and promptly got hummus on it twice in about 5 minutes. So I got changed. This photo proudly shows off my sausage fingers

DRAGON ROBE!

Dragon robe!!! From Susan

Talking frog man

Talking frog man from Lisa

Camo shorts

Camo-pants from tanya

cute pug stuffy

Pug toy from Heather

A beautiful painting by AVA

A piece of art by Ava

There was obviously more stuff but these are the photos I look best in out of the ones I have.

Corinna and Adam sent a super cute dinosaur pj with feetses and some pee pee teepees. Thanks dudes you are totally rad! they also sent a cool Star Trek card that Brent loves because he LOVES Start Trek (original only)

  is sending a baby carrier with deadly skulls all over it. I’m very excited for that.

Most of the stuff was a surprise and as such there are still some necessities that I need to pick up;

baby gate for top of stairs
diapers
nasal aspirator (gross but apparently very useful)

Other than that, we’re all set! Oh and we have to finish paying for the furniture and actually bring it home.

  is totally kicking my ass on the whole ‘getting the room ready’ thing.


On this day:

In 2007 – me and

  pretending to be sports fans
In 2006 – laying around while shopping is awesome!
In 2005 – boring

29 Comments on “Showered”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love that picture of you about to cut the cake. Those little dessert squares look really good too.

    • tianadargent says:

      I actually didn’t cut any cake, I was faking. I ate the squares because I was afraid of the cake but then I had some the next day and it was actually really good.

  2. *Cake was super cute! I love the colors.
    *My rings are too tight too! Sausage fingers for everyone!
    *I’m glad you spilled hummus on your black top. It was cute, but you look AMAZING in color!!
    *Everything is so cute! I can’t pick a favorite… I think it’s a tie between the camo pants and the Toy Tyrone!
    *I am SO kicking your ass on nursery preparation!
    Glad you had a great day : )

  3. fireladie says:

    You look awesome! That looks like a fun shower, and like you got some awesome stuff!!
    That cake however, little creepy!!!

    • tianadargent says:

      The cake is VERY creepy! Which is why I was trying to kill it. When I went shopping with my mom for decorations I was explicit about it not being baby themed, then she shows up with a decapitated baby cake… o_0

      • fireladie says:

        This is why Trinity3x will plan my baby shower and NOT my mother.
        Two things I know already:
        1. There can be booze at my shower, just cause i can’t drink doesn’t mean others can’t.
        2. I don’t want any pastels or anything babyish, the baby isn’t here yet! πŸ™‚ I really would love the cake to be covered in chocolate fondant with chocolate buttercream icing πŸ˜‰

  4. Awww! Looks super fun! You look beautiful as per usual.
    You def. need to get the room ready, I want to see pictures!!!

  5. i love your sister in law’s outfit!
    that dragon robe is soooo cute!!!!! EEEEE!!!! i want one for me! i’m so excited to see your kid in a cute dragon robe!

  6. rachaeldoss says:

    Awwww…you look like you had a fun time, aside from the decapitated baby head cake.
    WHY did she do that when you asked her not to? She could have just gotten a cake in fun colors.

  7. barcodegurl says:

    My mouth is hanging open just a little bit…
    My sister had brought white onesies and markers to decorate them. Mine is totally awesome but I cheated and traced a unirex drawing.
    For a while I have had this master plan to get you a onesie printed with the unirex! hahaha…

  8. First of all, I like your top. The color looks great on you! The dragon robe is awesome.
    Glad the shower went well! How many more weeks do you have left?

  9. Sounds like you got some great stuff! That pee teepee thing could have come in handy for us.
    One thing that you will need that most people don’t think about is a good rectal thermometer. The safety first and others are pretty cheap and crappy. We have been through a few now before finding a good quality one. This might sound strange but when your baby is sick you will want to make sure you can get an accurate reading without too much fuss. The head and ear thermometers are not as accurate as rectal ones, especially for infants with tiny ear canals.
    The Vicks ComfortFlex 8 second thermometer is great. It can get an accurate reading in 8 seconds, has a lifetime warranty, and was highest rated by consumer reports. It works really well, is flexible, and has a hypoallergenic gold tip. It even has colour coded lights when the reading finishes, green for ok, yellow for elevated temp, and red for fever. Walmart sells them here for about $18 I think.
    This is what it looks like (couldn’t find a Canadian online store):
    http://www.walgreens.com/store/product.jsp?CATID=100125&id=prod396861#

  10. Sounds like you got some great stuff! That pee teepee thing could have come in handy for us.
    One thing that you will need that most people don’t think about is a good rectal thermometer. The safety first and others are pretty cheap and crappy. We have been through a few now before finding a good quality one. This might sound strange but when your baby is sick you will want to make sure you can get an accurate reading without too much fuss. The head and ear thermometers are not as accurate as rectal ones, especially for infants with tiny ear canals.
    The Vicks ComfortFlex 8 second thermometer is great. It can get an accurate reading in 8 seconds, has a lifetime warranty, and was highest rated by consumer reports. It works really well, is flexible, and has a hypoallergenic gold tip. It even has colour coded lights when the reading finishes, green for ok, yellow for elevated temp, and red for fever. Walmart sells them here for about $18 I think.
    This is what it looks like (couldn’t find a Canadian online store):
    http://www.walgreens.com/store/product.jsp?CATID=100125&id=prod396861#


Leave a Reply

