My new crusade!

I’ve decided to tackle the issue of junk mail at our house. It comes in 2 forms:

  1. addressed
  2. unaddressed

My first stop was to go on the Canada Post website and see if there is an option to not get it delivered (not all unaddressed junk mail is delivered by the postal service, but about a third of ours is) but there was no such option so I googled “no junk mail Canada”.

So apparently, Canada Post will only not deliver unaddressed junk mail if you clearly label your mail box. Well Canada Post delivers my mail to one of these:

So how am I supposed to label that? I think they deliver from the back so maybe I’ll super-tape a piece of paper that hangs down from the top so they see it as they put the mail in.

I’m also going to put labels on the mailbox by our front door so that no flyers or local businesses leave their junk there.

If I still get unaddressed junk I will do one of two things.

  • Those that have a postage paid return envelope will be getting it back, full of other junk mail.
  • I’ll put it right back into the mail box. Canada post wants to give me junk? Fine. I’ll give them the junk right back.

For addressed junk mail the first thing I did was fill out the Do Not Contact form here: CMA
It takes 6-8 weeks to be taken off the list and you need to do it again once a year.

Next I will make sure to contact whatever companies have targeted me and get them to stop (they legally have to in Canada, but it can take about 8 weeks to be taken off the list). I get a lot of pre-approved credit card stuff so I’ll take the prepaid return envelope, detach the address label they used to send it to me and write”Do not solicit” along with the date and signature on it. If I send that back, they legally have to stop. I’ll cancel any catalogues that come in using their 1-800 number or the website on the ordering page.

Do you have any more tips for reducing how much junk mail makes it to your recycle bin?


On this day:

In 2006 – I recount the meat cleaver incident.
In 2005 – I am obviously an ass-hole. I’m working on it.

30 Comments on “My new crusade!”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    I can’t even get our post office to stop delivering mail to people who don’t live here, so good luck.
    We get mail for
    St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church
    My Ex Husband who has NEVER lived in South Carolina, much less my fucking house
    The people who lived here before us.
    I just send it all back…unless I’m feeling lazy.
    But my catalog haul has increased a million and five times.
    *sigh*

    • tianadargent says:

      We still get mail for the people who used to live here. I usually put “no longer lives here” and put it back in the mail box. Sometimes at Christmas we get cards and gifts from people with the same last name as them!
      We do not have their forwarding address…

      • rachaeldoss says:

        We were getting all kinds of bills that I thought might be useful to them, but i couldn’t do anything but send them back. :-/ I felt bad…I surely would’ve forwarded it if I had known how.

      • rachaeldoss says:

        We were getting all kinds of bills that I thought might be useful to them, but i couldn’t do anything but send them back. :-/ I felt bad…I surely would’ve forwarded it if I had known how.

    • tianadargent says:

      We still get mail for the people who used to live here. I usually put “no longer lives here” and put it back in the mail box. Sometimes at Christmas we get cards and gifts from people with the same last name as them!
      We do not have their forwarding address…

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    I can’t even get our post office to stop delivering mail to people who don’t live here, so good luck.
    We get mail for
    St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church
    My Ex Husband who has NEVER lived in South Carolina, much less my fucking house
    The people who lived here before us.
    I just send it all back…unless I’m feeling lazy.
    But my catalog haul has increased a million and five times.
    *sigh*

  3. lumpy_lia says:

    this is a wicked post. Mind if I put it in a note on my Facebook? With proper cred of course

  4. lumpy_lia says:

    this is a wicked post. Mind if I put it in a note on my Facebook? With proper cred of course

  5. Love this! I would put a 2″x4″ sticky label on the inside of the mailbox door. I think the mail person would be able to read a large font off of that.
    The people who had our house before us in Westboro had a no flyers sign on the door and we never got any. Of course our mailman kicked ass and even handed out treats to all the local dogs. *tear* Westboro.
    Anyways, good luck and I know you will keep us updated:)

  6. Love this! I would put a 2″x4″ sticky label on the inside of the mailbox door. I think the mail person would be able to read a large font off of that.
    The people who had our house before us in Westboro had a no flyers sign on the door and we never got any. Of course our mailman kicked ass and even handed out treats to all the local dogs. *tear* Westboro.
    Anyways, good luck and I know you will keep us updated:)

  7. trinity3x says:

    Does “41 pounds” function in Canada?

  8. trinity3x says:

    Does “41 pounds” function in Canada?

  9. thebookpile says:

    Have you heard of the Red Dot Campaign? On their site, they recommend signing up for the Canadian Marketing Association’s Do Not Contact Service.
    Similarly, for telemarketers, there’s also iOptOut.ca.

  10. thebookpile says:

    Have you heard of the Red Dot Campaign? On their site, they recommend signing up for the Canadian Marketing Association’s Do Not Contact Service.
    Similarly, for telemarketers, there’s also iOptOut.ca.

  11. corto says:

    weather they deliver it to you or not, it’s still being made… which is the real social problem. However, the outcome of that problem is to shuffle it over to you for solving. There-in, I believe, is the heart of the mater for you… nes pas? So… when you pick up your mail, quickly sort out the un-addressed junk and shove it back in the outgoing mail slot… putting the mandate for a solution back in Canada Posts hands… the same guys that tried to shuffle it off on you.
    🙂

    • tianadargent says:

      “when you pick up your mail, quickly sort out the un-addressed junk and shove it back in the outgoing mail slot… putting the mandate for a solution back in Canada Posts hands… the same guys that tried to shuffle it off on you.”
      This was in my solution list! See bullet the second.

    • tianadargent says:

      “when you pick up your mail, quickly sort out the un-addressed junk and shove it back in the outgoing mail slot… putting the mandate for a solution back in Canada Posts hands… the same guys that tried to shuffle it off on you.”
      This was in my solution list! See bullet the second.

  12. corto says:

    weather they deliver it to you or not, it’s still being made… which is the real social problem. However, the outcome of that problem is to shuffle it over to you for solving. There-in, I believe, is the heart of the mater for you… nes pas? So… when you pick up your mail, quickly sort out the un-addressed junk and shove it back in the outgoing mail slot… putting the mandate for a solution back in Canada Posts hands… the same guys that tried to shuffle it off on you.
    🙂


Leave a Reply

