reno reno reno

I’m currently living in a disaster zone. I’m ok with it though because for what seems like the first time since Brent and I have been living together, it’s not MY fault!

Today is day no.1 of the upper floor renovations. The carpet from the guest room/baby room is torn out and sitting in rolls a few feet behind me. Brent and my father in law are currently putting down a new sub floor and then they’ll be moving on to the hallway. I don’t know what’s going on after that. I’ve decided not to get involved except to pick out baseboards. It kind of bugs me because I love scheduling projects and helping and stuff and now I’m just doing the ‘girly’ parts but on the other hand, I don’t have to take responsibility for anything. At least for now.

So work we are doing:

New bamboo floors on the entire top floor of our house (except the washrooms).
New closet doors.
New interior closet stuffs.
Painting stairwell.
New attic hatch.

Obviously, I mean the royal ‘we’. I’ll put the new furniture together.


On this day:

In 2006 – Apparently I was not in a pleasant mood.
In 2005 – Laughing all the way to cool-shoes town

10 Comments on “reno reno reno”

  1. fiercekitty says:

    Bamboo, awesome! We are considering doing bamboo flooring/cabinets. Is it comparable to other woods in price?

    • tianadargent says:

      We’ve only looked at Rona since we have a bunch of gift certificates and it’s just under $3 per square foot. That seems to be 1-2 bucks less per square foot than the hardwoods they have. They only have 2 colours though.

    • tianadargent says:

      We’ve only looked at Rona since we have a bunch of gift certificates and it’s just under $3 per square foot. That seems to be 1-2 bucks less per square foot than the hardwoods they have. They only have 2 colours though.

  2. fiercekitty says:

    Bamboo, awesome! We are considering doing bamboo flooring/cabinets. Is it comparable to other woods in price?

  3. Everyone on my journal is renovating!
    I’m about to post my own ‘disaster zone’ pictures. Hopefully that’ll make you feel better šŸ™‚
    Our contractor is going to be here @ 7:30 in the AM so we (Richard) have been ripping up carpet and unloading the new flooring all day. We looked at bamboo too! The lightness just didn’t blend well enough with the rest of our hardwoods.
    Here’s to speedy and drama free home remodels!!

  4. Everyone on my journal is renovating!
    I’m about to post my own ‘disaster zone’ pictures. Hopefully that’ll make you feel better šŸ™‚
    Our contractor is going to be here @ 7:30 in the AM so we (Richard) have been ripping up carpet and unloading the new flooring all day. We looked at bamboo too! The lightness just didn’t blend well enough with the rest of our hardwoods.
    Here’s to speedy and drama free home remodels!!

  5. Exciting! I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  6. Exciting! I can’t wait to see the finished product!


Leave a Reply

