I knew it wasn’t a word!

In the past couple of years, I’ve noticed an upward trend of people using the word “addicting”. Such as “This game is so addicting!” “Cigarettes are addicting!”

I have no idea where this came from but let me tell you something, addicting is not the word you are looking for, it’s ADDICTIVE. When you do a search for “addicting” you get the results for “addict” because they think you made a typo.


On this day:

In 2007 – Here’s some stuff
In 2006 – And some other stuff
In 2005 – Followed by some things (a toilet next to a tree)

20 Comments on “I knew it wasn’t a word!”

  1. Thank you! “Addicting” has been one of my peeves, too.

  2. Thank you! “Addicting” has been one of my peeves, too.

  3. Ugh. As an English major, word misuse is high on the list of pet peeves. For instance, I know someone you frequently uses “pacific” for “specific” and “supposably” for “supposedly.”
    I flinch everytime I hear either one of those.

  4. Ugh. As an English major, word misuse is high on the list of pet peeves. For instance, I know someone you frequently uses “pacific” for “specific” and “supposably” for “supposedly.”
    I flinch everytime I hear either one of those.

  5. I think I am the opposite of the grammar police.
    I find unintentional mispronunciations & flawed vernacular endearing. A lot of times, the mistakes are based on one’s culture & how they grew up hearing certain words & phrases. Being from the deep south of the United States, we have tons of examples.
    I always LOVE hearing people from different parts of the word speak. I love different accents and I like to hear the “mistakes” in their vocabulary. It sets people apart, but not in a negative way.

  6. I think I am the opposite of the grammar police.
    I find unintentional mispronunciations & flawed vernacular endearing. A lot of times, the mistakes are based on one’s culture & how they grew up hearing certain words & phrases. Being from the deep south of the United States, we have tons of examples.
    I always LOVE hearing people from different parts of the word speak. I love different accents and I like to hear the “mistakes” in their vocabulary. It sets people apart, but not in a negative way.

  7. fiercekitty says:

    Also:
    “I could care less”
    “Anyways”
    “For all intensive purposes”
    ARGH!

    • tianadargent says:

      I use “anyways” as filler instead of “um” and such.
      Intensive purposes is a funny one.
      I hear a lot of funny stuff at work but mostly because the French staff is speaking English and their sayings do not translate well.

    • tianadargent says:

      I use “anyways” as filler instead of “um” and such.
      Intensive purposes is a funny one.
      I hear a lot of funny stuff at work but mostly because the French staff is speaking English and their sayings do not translate well.

  8. fiercekitty says:

    Also:
    “I could care less”
    “Anyways”
    “For all intensive purposes”
    ARGH!

  9. annawesley says:

    YES
    This EXACT thing has been bothering me too for years now. I even was thinking maybe I was crazy and it was an acceptable use of the word since everyone seems to do it.
    THANK YOU!

  10. annawesley says:

    YES
    This EXACT thing has been bothering me too for years now. I even was thinking maybe I was crazy and it was an acceptable use of the word since everyone seems to do it.
    THANK YOU!

  11. Anonymous says:

    That kills me. Especially when it comes from people I would otherwise respect. Also when people say “acrossed” instead of “across” or “heigth” instead of “height”.

  12. Anonymous says:

    That kills me. Especially when it comes from people I would otherwise respect. Also when people say “acrossed” instead of “across” or “heigth” instead of “height”.


Leave a Reply

