Can you tell I was looking at some shinies yesterday?

Those of you reading on Facebook, please click “view original post” to participate in this poll!


On this day:

In 2006 – machine guns vs genital waxing exposé

26 Comments on “Can you tell I was looking at some shinies yesterday?”

  1. fiercekitty says:

    I have an IBM laptop for work. I actually got rid of my personal laptop about a year ago because I just wasn’t using it anymore. I’ve been chewing on buying a Mac desktop for a while now (since I already have a laptop from work) but I haven’t been able to bring myself to drop the cash…and now that we’re buying a house I’ll probably never get one.

  2. fiercekitty says:

    I have an IBM laptop for work. I actually got rid of my personal laptop about a year ago because I just wasn’t using it anymore. I’ve been chewing on buying a Mac desktop for a while now (since I already have a laptop from work) but I haven’t been able to bring myself to drop the cash…and now that we’re buying a house I’ll probably never get one.

  3. agrrlswrrld says:

    I was planning on getting a mac for about a year. Finally I decided against it and got a pc laptop. My main reason for staying with PC was cost. Not cost of the computer, but the software. I use a lot of design software (dreamweaver, adobe creative suite, etc.) and that stuff is bloody expensive. I just couldn’t afford to go out and buy all new mac versions of software that I paid so much money for only 2 years ago for PC (I didn’t get mac/pc versions of the software because, again, it was more expensive at the time).
    I considered running a double platform ont he mac and installing windows on it so that I could use my software, but isn’t that defeating the purpose of having a mac??
    My friend got a mac around the same time as me, and she still uses her ancient desktop pc because she doesn’t have software for the mac.
    That being said, I love my new laptop, but my next one (hopefully) will be a mac.

  4. agrrlswrrld says:

    I was planning on getting a mac for about a year. Finally I decided against it and got a pc laptop. My main reason for staying with PC was cost. Not cost of the computer, but the software. I use a lot of design software (dreamweaver, adobe creative suite, etc.) and that stuff is bloody expensive. I just couldn’t afford to go out and buy all new mac versions of software that I paid so much money for only 2 years ago for PC (I didn’t get mac/pc versions of the software because, again, it was more expensive at the time).
    I considered running a double platform ont he mac and installing windows on it so that I could use my software, but isn’t that defeating the purpose of having a mac??
    My friend got a mac around the same time as me, and she still uses her ancient desktop pc because she doesn’t have software for the mac.
    That being said, I love my new laptop, but my next one (hopefully) will be a mac.

  5. lola_70 says:

    technologically challenged
    I’ll stick to what I’m more familiar with. Mac’s are just plain simpler & more “idiot” proof… for me anyways =)

  6. lola_70 says:

    technologically challenged
    I’ll stick to what I’m more familiar with. Mac’s are just plain simpler & more “idiot” proof… for me anyways =)

  7. nyxie says:

    I currently have an older IBM Thinkpad laptop. Plan is to replace it with a Macbook, as soon as I can afford to do so.

  8. nyxie says:

    I currently have an older IBM Thinkpad laptop. Plan is to replace it with a Macbook, as soon as I can afford to do so.

  9. annawesley says:

    I just replaced my old Dell laptop with a Macbook, and I love it. Absolutely no problems, no annoying Windows issues, and it’s really really fast. I highly recommend a Macbook if you’re considering it. I prefer laptops for their flexibility.

  10. annawesley says:

    I just replaced my old Dell laptop with a Macbook, and I love it. Absolutely no problems, no annoying Windows issues, and it’s really really fast. I highly recommend a Macbook if you’re considering it. I prefer laptops for their flexibility.

  11. thebookpile says:

    I’ve used both Mac and PC systems in the past 10 years, but all of them have been running Linux. When you do that, switching between a Mac and a PC is easy because the operating system is the same!

  12. thebookpile says:

    I’ve used both Mac and PC systems in the past 10 years, but all of them have been running Linux. When you do that, switching between a Mac and a PC is easy because the operating system is the same!

  13. tekanji says:

    I am a big time PC gamer, so Macs are out for me. Although if copy protection on PC games continues going in the direction it is, I might have to rethink my purchases…

  14. tekanji says:

    I am a big time PC gamer, so Macs are out for me. Although if copy protection on PC games continues going in the direction it is, I might have to rethink my purchases…

  15. I do hard-core number crunching on my systems for my PhD research so a PC desktop works best for me. You just can’t get the same kind of power in a laptop.
    As for Mac vs PC desktop, the hardware is almost the same these days, but there is a lot more choice on the PC desktop side.

  16. I do hard-core number crunching on my systems for my PhD research so a PC desktop works best for me. You just can’t get the same kind of power in a laptop.
    As for Mac vs PC desktop, the hardware is almost the same these days, but there is a lot more choice on the PC desktop side.

  17. shesaid says:

    Just to clarify, the laptop I use is my work laptop, but I would love to get one of my own! We just have a desktop at home.

  18. shesaid says:

    Just to clarify, the laptop I use is my work laptop, but I would love to get one of my own! We just have a desktop at home.

  19. lindyhoppr says:

    I want the brand new panasonic ultralight toughbook. With the flip up DVD burner. And pumped up with a WHOLE BUNCH o’ extra memory.
    In Pink

  20. lindyhoppr says:

    I want the brand new panasonic ultralight toughbook. With the flip up DVD burner. And pumped up with a WHOLE BUNCH o’ extra memory.
    In Pink

  21. We are primarily on a MAC format at work due to our software/editing programs and their MAC compatibility. I prefer a PC because I’m backwards from everyone else & find troubleshooting a PC much easier than a MAC. Our home computers are more user friendly and reliable than the ones I work on.
    MACs ARE prettier though….
    😉

    • tianadargent says:

      What kind of things have you had to troubleshoot on a Mac?

      • Mainly issues involving media storage & corrupt media files. On a MAC, finding the corrupt file & disposing of it can be tedious. You have to sift through ALL of the OMFI files on any available drives & deal with them individually.
        I don’t encounter as many problems on our PCs because they seem to do a lot of self maintenance (depending on the programs installed).
        If I didn’t have to deal with stored media (which takes of an astronomical amount of space), I probably wouldn’t have these issues, regardless of format.

      • Mainly issues involving media storage & corrupt media files. On a MAC, finding the corrupt file & disposing of it can be tedious. You have to sift through ALL of the OMFI files on any available drives & deal with them individually.
        I don’t encounter as many problems on our PCs because they seem to do a lot of self maintenance (depending on the programs installed).
        If I didn’t have to deal with stored media (which takes of an astronomical amount of space), I probably wouldn’t have these issues, regardless of format.

    • tianadargent says:

      What kind of things have you had to troubleshoot on a Mac?

  22. We are primarily on a MAC format at work due to our software/editing programs and their MAC compatibility. I prefer a PC because I’m backwards from everyone else & find troubleshooting a PC much easier than a MAC. Our home computers are more user friendly and reliable than the ones I work on.
    MACs ARE prettier though….
    😉


Leave a Reply

