I feel like a bomb about to go off

I have been grumpy and irritable for the last few days. It sucks. I don’t want to feel this way but it seems like the world is making it impossible for me not to.

So anyways did you know that to have a diaper bag that is anything more stylish than Mary Poppins’ you need to shell out at least $200. That’s fucking donkey balls! This whole baby thing is a lot like a wedding. You put the word ‘wedding’ or ‘baby’ in front of anything and the price fucking sky rockets.

What does a diaper bag need to do?

  • hold diapers
  • hold diapering accessories
  • hold feeding supplies
  • probably hold some other stuff like my wallet because why would I want to carry 2 bags?
  • be easily accessible with one hand
  • not look like it is made of carpet

With this in mind, I found nothing…

By chance a local blogger was looking for a gym back and her faithful readers suggested bags by lug, which is FUCKING PERFECT FOR A DIAPER BAG. And look at that! Under $100!!!

Here are the two versions:
Mini
Regular

I still need to decide on size and colour.  I’ll probably wait a few months since I’m in no rush.

44 Comments on “I feel like a bomb about to go off”

  1. damedini says:

    I go mine from Land’s End and loved it – it had DB specific things like an insulated bottle pocket and vinyl change pad (invaluable to have a known-clean pad for public washrooms). And I don’t recall it being terribly expensive. It was navy and kinda snazzy (as DBs go).

  2. damedini says:

    I go mine from Land’s End and loved it – it had DB specific things like an insulated bottle pocket and vinyl change pad (invaluable to have a known-clean pad for public washrooms). And I don’t recall it being terribly expensive. It was navy and kinda snazzy (as DBs go).

  3. metahara says:

    I used a gym bag and a back pack…when we traveled I used a small dufle nag that fit under the seat as “carry on” luggage.
    I still have Sasha’s “diaper bag”. It’s great for travel.
    BTW
    you look like a model in your maternity clothes pics- very pretty pregnancy.

  4. metahara says:

    I used a gym bag and a back pack…when we traveled I used a small dufle nag that fit under the seat as “carry on” luggage.
    I still have Sasha’s “diaper bag”. It’s great for travel.
    BTW
    you look like a model in your maternity clothes pics- very pretty pregnancy.

  5. rachaeldoss says:

    THOSE BAGS ARE AWESOME!
    I’m thinking greatly about getting one of those mini ones as a carryon…it matches my luggage!

  6. rachaeldoss says:

    THOSE BAGS ARE AWESOME!
    I’m thinking greatly about getting one of those mini ones as a carryon…it matches my luggage!

  7. lindyhoppr says:

    It says this on the website.
    “Many swear its the perfect diaper bag too!”
    I always got baby stuff at TJ Maxx. Or a store like that. I found an adorable cashmire sweater for 0-6 as a baby shower gift for 10 bones. Not too bad for something that is, I’m sure, now horribly stained.

  8. lindyhoppr says:

    It says this on the website.
    “Many swear its the perfect diaper bag too!”
    I always got baby stuff at TJ Maxx. Or a store like that. I found an adorable cashmire sweater for 0-6 as a baby shower gift for 10 bones. Not too bad for something that is, I’m sure, now horribly stained.

  9. Those look like they would serve their purpose perfectly. I love the quilted exterior. I also LOVE the colors… except the black one.
    You could order an okkatots accessories kit to drop in the bag to make it more baby friendly. It comes with a wet wipes pouch, bottle pouch, pacifier pouch & tiny laundry bag for dirty clothes & linens.
    http://www.okkatots.com/html/accessories.htm

  10. Those look like they would serve their purpose perfectly. I love the quilted exterior. I also LOVE the colors… except the black one.
    You could order an okkatots accessories kit to drop in the bag to make it more baby friendly. It comes with a wet wipes pouch, bottle pouch, pacifier pouch & tiny laundry bag for dirty clothes & linens.
    http://www.okkatots.com/html/accessories.htm

  11. Anonymous says:

    I used a Lands End Little Day Tripper diaper bag with both kiddos. That said, I looked on their website to see how it’s designed (they tweak them every few years or so) and was totally dismayed to see it’s not available! Why I’m upset about this I cannot say as it’s not like a) I don’t already have one and b) I’m going to have another baby anytime soon (more likely ever).

  12. Anonymous says:

    I used a Lands End Little Day Tripper diaper bag with both kiddos. That said, I looked on their website to see how it’s designed (they tweak them every few years or so) and was totally dismayed to see it’s not available! Why I’m upset about this I cannot say as it’s not like a) I don’t already have one and b) I’m going to have another baby anytime soon (more likely ever).

  13. corto says:

    keep the “purse stuff” out of the baby bag. Just find a good shoulder-strap’ing purse bag. Baby bag must have extra clothes, emerg supplies of food, creams, etc… AND be something your hubby can grab and go with … and not have just taken your wallet. 🙂

    • tianadargent says:

      So I need to find a whole other receptacle just to carry my wallet and keys? That’s crazy! I don’t just leave my wallet and keys in shared bags, but I’d like to have the space for it if I’m going out alone.

      • Anonymous says:

        Oh good grief. I’m always mildly amused by people who bring the entire nursery with them on a trip to the mall. Keep your wallet, cell phone and keys in the front pocket. The diaper bag was my purse for the first two years with both kids. In the big part you need 2-4 diapers (this, of course, depends on how long you’re going out), wipes, a onesie in the event of a diaper blow out and a burp rag if your baby is particularly drooly or prone to spit-up. I was always pretty minimalist when it came to the diaper bag. I usually kept toys on the stroller or in the car and a blanket on the baby.

        • tianadargent says:

          Yeah I figure if I’m walking somewhere, I won’t be taking long so don’t need too much stuff. If I’m driving somewhere, I’ll have an emergency stash in the car anyways so carrying the world in a bag seems like a waste.

        • tianadargent says:

          Yeah I figure if I’m walking somewhere, I won’t be taking long so don’t need too much stuff. If I’m driving somewhere, I’ll have an emergency stash in the car anyways so carrying the world in a bag seems like a waste.

      • Anonymous says:

        Oh good grief. I’m always mildly amused by people who bring the entire nursery with them on a trip to the mall. Keep your wallet, cell phone and keys in the front pocket. The diaper bag was my purse for the first two years with both kids. In the big part you need 2-4 diapers (this, of course, depends on how long you’re going out), wipes, a onesie in the event of a diaper blow out and a burp rag if your baby is particularly drooly or prone to spit-up. I was always pretty minimalist when it came to the diaper bag. I usually kept toys on the stroller or in the car and a blanket on the baby.

    • tianadargent says:

      So I need to find a whole other receptacle just to carry my wallet and keys? That’s crazy! I don’t just leave my wallet and keys in shared bags, but I’d like to have the space for it if I’m going out alone.

  14. corto says:

    keep the “purse stuff” out of the baby bag. Just find a good shoulder-strap’ing purse bag. Baby bag must have extra clothes, emerg supplies of food, creams, etc… AND be something your hubby can grab and go with … and not have just taken your wallet. 🙂

  15. Nice bags. You are right, anything with “baby” or “medical” jacks the price up 500%.
    You will also probably want to carry a change of clothes or two with you. That may come in very handy. Possibly even an extra shirt for yourself. 😉

  16. Nice bags. You are right, anything with “baby” or “medical” jacks the price up 500%.
    You will also probably want to carry a change of clothes or two with you. That may come in very handy. Possibly even an extra shirt for yourself. 😉

  17. I like those bags. Everyone I see carries these huge “My Grandma uses this to cart around her knitting” bags. My grocery tote is more fashionable than those.

  18. I like those bags. Everyone I see carries these huge “My Grandma uses this to cart around her knitting” bags. My grocery tote is more fashionable than those.

  19. Anonymous says:

    Bag
    I saw some nice ones on Lands End as well and Eddie Bauer (sp?) outlet site.
    Good luck finding the right bag
    – J.

  20. Anonymous says:

    Bag
    I saw some nice ones on Lands End as well and Eddie Bauer (sp?) outlet site.
    Good luck finding the right bag
    – J.


Leave a Reply

