Registry Headache

So I’ve been working on putting together a baby registry for a while now.  At first it started out as a shopping list but I’m aware that someone will probably throw me a shower since the topic of registries has been brought up by a couple of people.

The difficult thing is that I have not found a single retailer that carries all the things we’re looking for!  So as of today, I have 3 registries going.

One for safety and health stuff, one for general baby stuff and one for clothes.  It’s kind of crazy.  The weirdest thing is that the one for clothes doesn’t seem to be searchable.  By that I mean, the site requires that I email each person that I want to look at it and that they confirm and then they can see it.  I find that odd. And kind of weird.  I don’t want to just email people that and have them think I’m fishing for gifts…

And if a SURPRISE shower is in the works (I wouldn’t know either way really) there might not be a way for anyone to see the clothes registry…  Poor naked baby…  Unless someone who confirms can then send it out to others…

I sent one to myself to test but it just stayed logged in as me.  Oh and the email came from “unknown recipient” so I’m sure it will go straight to spam for most people.

What a pain!

*edit* Ok nevermind, it’s searchable… I just didn’t see that part. DUH!

But still, will people think I’m crazy for having 3???  The products don’t overlap.

20 Comments on “Registry Headache”

  1. I don’t think people will think you are crazy. We had the same problem since as you said you can’t find everything you want all in one place.
    In the end since I am geeky and have geeky friends, we set up our own web page that had all the items listed from multiple stores so there was one easy spot to find everything. Each item had a link to the store where you could get it along with the price and quantity we were interested in. We instructed people to e-mail my friend who was managing the list so he could mark items as taken once they were purchased and “we” wouldn’t see who it was. It seemed to work very well.

  2. I don’t think people will think you are crazy. We had the same problem since as you said you can’t find everything you want all in one place.
    In the end since I am geeky and have geeky friends, we set up our own web page that had all the items listed from multiple stores so there was one easy spot to find everything. Each item had a link to the store where you could get it along with the price and quantity we were interested in. We instructed people to e-mail my friend who was managing the list so he could mark items as taken once they were purchased and “we” wouldn’t see who it was. It seemed to work very well.

  3. I don’t think anyone will think you’re crazy because each of your registries have different items on them.
    Where have you registered?

  4. I don’t think anyone will think you’re crazy because each of your registries have different items on them.
    Where have you registered?

  5. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with everyone else – there is nothing crazy about having three registries if the stuff doesn’t overlap! For example, most people I know have a registry at both Target and then at like Babies R Us. And sometimes, the stuff overlaps. And no one thinks that is weird here.

  6. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with everyone else – there is nothing crazy about having three registries if the stuff doesn’t overlap! For example, most people I know have a registry at both Target and then at like Babies R Us. And sometimes, the stuff overlaps. And no one thinks that is weird here.

  7. Perfectly normal and within reason.
    I’ll most likely have 2 or 3 myself.
    People are spread out all over and I want their shopping to be simple.

  8. Perfectly normal and within reason.
    I’ll most likely have 2 or 3 myself.
    People are spread out all over and I want their shopping to be simple.

  9. This is more for you than for the baby but this place has some great stuff, quality, comfort, and great service. They are located in Toronto but ship to Ottawa and are sometimes here for baby shows:
    http://www.breast-is-best.com/

  10. This is more for you than for the baby but this place has some great stuff, quality, comfort, and great service. They are located in Toronto but ship to Ottawa and are sometimes here for baby shows:
    http://www.breast-is-best.com/


Leave a Reply

