My most giantest post ever!

So I’m mainly going to transcribe from my notebook and will probably add a few interjections here and there… You can click on all photos for larger versions.

Friday Feb 15 2008
I’m sitting at gate 50 of the Pierre Trudeau International Airport. It’s ten after three and my plane doesn’t leave until 6:30. I’ve already walked the terminal and there isn’t much to see so I’m sitting by the window watching planes take off

My view
Waiting to Leave Montreal

Ok now it’s 4:20 (Ha!) 2 hours to go! I just bought a plain tomato cucumber sandwich for $7! I will now eat it because I’m starving. I just realized I got through security with an orange in my purse!

I ate half & I’ll save the other half for later. The box says the sandwich is “bread, cheddar, swiss, tomato, cucumber, lettuce”. My experience says “bread, unidentified white cheese, cabbage shavings, tomato, zucchini, lettuce”. Impressive! However, too cold.

At this point I stretched out across three empty seats for a nap. I was awoken by a guy who decided sitting on my feet was a good idea. He motioned that he needed to plug in his laptop and that made sense since it was the only power station within 20 feet… I sat up and he was all “No no no don’t wake up!” He must have had a thing about having a sleeping lady’s feet on his butt.

He sat down, changed his shoes, and left.

Saturday Feb 16 2008
It is now 9:10 am Frankfurt time which is 3:10 am my time. I didn’t sleep much on the plane. I ended up sitting next to a 23 year old named Natalie who was going to Poland. She was hilarious. She has a hard time flying and normally takes Ativan to relax but didn’t this time. She chose white wine to calm her nerves and since I can’t drink anyways I gave her mine too. We stayed up talking about planes, boyfriends, husbands and dogs and she kept trying to get me to dare her to grope the guy next to her. I kept telling her not to but I think she did one time when I wasn’t looking anyways.

She was obsessed with buying duty-free items while on the plane and the flight attendants got a kick out of her incessant questions about which perfumes smelled best. At one point, it seemed like we were the only ones still awake (I’m sure everyone hated us) and a flight attendant asked us if we had an extra magazine. In exchange we got a bottle of white wine and a bottle of Perrier from first class. Later we also got fancy desserts! On PLATES! Natalie got the hiccups and wanted me to scare her. I didn’t know what to do without waking everyone. I decided that since she’s scared of flying, I would remind her of how high we were and if we went down, we’d drown in the wreckage. It didn’t work.

We planned on sitting for a coffee during our respective layovers but we got split up when she ran into a friend and I had to go in the other direction to find out which gate I’m at. It’s too bad because I wanted to trade e-mails with her.

Other details:

  • Auditioning for post-grad acting
  • Boyfriend Steven
  • The Fendi perfume she bought with her mom’s CC smells like a grassy hill in the sun with frolicking lambs and baby bunnies

In other news, the security guy let me get by with my orange AGAIN but not my apple juice box leftover from my in-flight breakfast. Oh AND I got my first Passport stamp! Swanky!

___

ROME!

I’m so excited that I’m finally here! I have no idea what time it is…maybe 11pm Rome time so 5pm Ottawa time? I slept a bit between Frankfurt & Rome. It was so nice to just relax with

  for the afternoon and evening. I have a feeling I will eat them out of house and home so I’ll be sure to pick up snacks to share whenever I can.

I’m currently lying down for what seems like the first time in days. I’m in the guest room and it’s just so… lovely

‘My’ room
My Room

Some guy hanging out in my room.
Willy Loving

Willy Face

Their whole place is outstanding. I don’t know how they will ever find a Canadian house they like after having live in this awesome apartment!

The coaster I used all week
Coaster

I think that tomorrow we’re going to the Vatican & to the bone-church of the Capuchin monks. Should be gross but fun!

I’m about to pass out.

Sunday Feb 17 2008
I don’t think there are any clocks in here… I never know what time it is.

Today we went to the church where there are Capuchin Monk bones everywhere. It was pretty creepy because, well, bones everywhere… but I think the mummified corpses that were standing in some of the ‘scenes’ were the scariest of all. Or maybe the thought of what it would be like to arrange them in that way…

Cameras weren’t allowed so I got Brent the creepiest postcard I could find.

Then we went to St-Peter’s Square / Vatican City. There was a huge crows there so I thought there was a protest since they were all standing still and some had big signs. Then Ryan noticed that one of the windows was open and had the fancy red cloth hanging from it. We waited to see what would happen and at noon Pope Benedict came to the window and started talking.

Me in Vatican City
Tiana does Vatican City

I thought they were protesters
Vatican

Obelisk in St-Peter’s Square
Obelisk in St Peters Square

Pope Benedict speechin’ it up
Pope Benedict Speechin it up

We only stayed for a few minutes but I caught something about the glory of the resurrection. I assume it has something to do with Lent.

We walked around

 ‘s neighbourhood to get sandwiches and gelato. Lots/most places are closed on Sundays and the gelato shop was one of the unfortunate victims 😦 We made a SUPER YUMMY lasagna as well as some brownies which I heartily enjoyed.

I also got a hold of Brent on the phone today which makes me super happy because he was out when I called yesterday. It’s ridiculous how much I miss him already. I hope I can find him a really nice gift. […]

I am having a great time. Hanging out with

  is SOOOO awesome and I’m really excited for all the stuff we’re going to do in the coming week.

[…]

Monday Feb 18 2008

Today I slept in until 11 am. That’s when

  woke me up. The shutters really block the light here so tonight I’m leaving one slightly open so I can maybe wake up on my own.

Today we went shopping. I got some great maternity stuff at Zara and H&M. I wish we had both those stores. I also bought my first baby stuff! A snowsuit on sale for 5 euros and alligator covered onesie/hat set.

  also got the fetus a really cute Barbapapa food set. She seems to be on a baby-shopping rampage so I had to stop her!

The big thing for today was shopping and that was tiring but it was fun and I got really nice stuff I couldn’t get at home and I got it for a really good price.

Unfortunately, I got the answering machine again when I called Brent. I left a message for him and just now saw that he sent me a nice email so I wrote back. It’s hard not being able to contact your husband whenever you want!

Tuesday Feb 19 2008

Today was out lazy at-home re-coup day. We spent it doing our nails and watching season 2 of Flavor of Love. That show is so CRAZY! I can’t imagine watching something like that on a regular basis. Imagine having that much insane drama in your life???

[…]

Wednesday Feb 20 2008

Today was the half way point of my trip. I made breakfast for

  and even though it didn’t turn out how I had planned, she said she liked it. She’s very nice!

We went on a walking adventure.

First we walked through Villa Borghese which is a huge beautiful park. It was really nice and I can only imagine how stunning it would be with everything in full bloom.

Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Moderna – at the entrance to the park
Galleria Nazionale dArte Moderna

Turtle Fountain
Turtle Fountain at Villa Borghese

Penis Arch
Penis Arch at Villa Borghese

At the pond
Pond at Villa Borghese - 2

Pond at Villa Borghese

Crossing the bridge
View from Villa Borghese - 3

Does anyone know what kind of trees those are over on the left? I love them!

An Egyptian Obelisk
Egyptian Obelisk in Villa Borghese

Vistas into downtown
View from Villa Borghese - 2

View from Villa Borghese

As we were leaving the park, we walked by a beggar. We had seen him sitting against a wall from a distance but when he noticed us approaching, he started writhing and convulsing. As we walked by, he hit

  in the leg with his cane! How this will get money from us, I do not know.

Once we passed him we were at the Spanish Steps. From the top, there were beautiful views of the streets, balconies, houses and fountains.

Views from atop the Spanish Steps
View from West of the Spanish Steps - 2

Palm at the Spanish Steps

Terrace Next to Spanish Steps

View from West of the Spanish Steps

View from Spanish Steps

That’s the Trevi Fountain at the bottom but it’s not flowing.

As we made out way down, I realized that there were an awful lot of merchants milling about the visitors. I think one of them was selling pot unless a word that sounds an awful lot like ‘marijuana’ means something else in Italian.

Views from the bottom of the Spanish Steps
Spanish Steps

Unknown Obelisk - East of Spanish Steps

We reached Via del Corso which is a posh shopping area. We checked out the window displays at Chanel, Hermes and Prada to name a few.

We shopped at Benetton and Sephora. I only got a mascara. Then we decided to head back the way we came.

Going up the Spanish Steps nearly killed me! I had to take a break half way up. At the top, some guy growled at me. I got the impression he meant it as a come on but it just made me think he was nuts.

When we went by the beggar again, I stayed between him and my pal and there was no incident.

We decided to sit and chat on a bench in the park. We talked about a wonderful prof. we had in college and how devastating it was that he killed himself. He had manic depression and in the time we knew him he burned so brightly. He filled us with inspiration, confidence and joy and it’s tragic that he burned right out.

This conversation was cut short by a flower merchant who started harassing us.

  had warned me that these men come up to women offering roses as gifts and then ask for money shortly after.

I immediately said no but he kept insisting that it was a free gift from him to me and wedged it in between my arm and my body.

  held him off. He shoved it in her hand. She said no and put it on the bench. Then he started yelling angry things at her and she kindly told him to go fuck himself. He snatched up the flowers and left. We took that as our cue to move along.

Winter weeds
Winter Weeds

An orange tree in the park
Orange Tree in Villa Borghese

Pretending to be statues – I should have done these in B&W…
Angela Statue

Tiana Statue

That’s a new maternity top and my new favorite scarf!

After Ryan came home from work, we all headed out for dinner at a place called Duke’s. The two of them took on the burden of having to drink enough on my behalf and somehow, I was the one who tripped all over herself when coming back from the washroom.

The food was really good and the dessert was outstanding! We had some really good and funny conversations about families and called it a night.

After all that, I am beat!

Thursday Feb 21 2008

Today was a grey rainy day so after a leisurely morning we took a taxi out to Porta di Roma for some indoor shopping. I bought more maternity clothes! Yay! I can safely say that I have some nice pieces that will mix well with basics I can find back home.

I got us a load of ice cream so we had a ‘taster’s medley’ after dinner. Once Ryan went to bed,

  played backgammon with me 4 times with me and she finally won the last game. To be fair, we did play with different rules each time…

Tomorrow will be my last full day here and it is dubbed “Fun Girly Day” !

Friday Feb 22 2008

In essence, it’s my last day here since my flight leaves at 7 am.

I can’t believe how fast this week went by. On one hand, I feel like there is so much more I want to see and do. On the other hand, there was no point during this trip that I didn’t enjoy myself.

Today was spent in true T&A style. We pigged out on comfort foods (poutine and lime cupcakes) did our nails, watched a fresh episode of ANTM and talked about the kind of fun stuff lady friends discuss when no one is listening.

It will be sad to leave my best friend behind but I’m happy to be coming home to my husband who I need to snuggle for two weeks straight.

Poutine using Asiago and Gruyère cheeses.
Italian Poutine

Saturday Feb 23 2006

I’m currently on my flight from Rome to Frankfurt. Unfortunately there was too much fog to get a bird’s eye view of Rome.

So far I’ve taken a couple shots of some mountains and I can see that there are a bazillion more just up ahead. They are probably the Alps but I super-suck at geography so I’ll have to double check that.

The Alps
The Alps

Differences between Rome and Canada:

  • Public spaces use higher quality materials. Phones, streetlamps, garbage bins etc. are not made of plastics.
  • Television shows do not start/stop on the half hour or hour. They play WAY less commercials and with all that filler, North American shows end sooner. I like it!
  • Store clerks generally don’t care about you. No rude but no offers of help. If you get to the cash and your item has no tag, it’s your problem.
  • Most gas stations are tiny with just two pumps on the sidewalk.
  • You can’t go far without running into a flower stand and they are open late.
  • They have palm trees.
  • No snow in winter
  • Public water fountains are used for decoration and/or drinking as opposed to urination (as far as I know)

So the plane was in a holding pattern before landing for about 35 minutes (no watch) so when I got off the plane, there was someone there to bring me (and anyone else with the same connection) to my gate.

We took a speedy bus across the airport and got to bypass the security checkpoint (x-rays but not passport control).

The flight back was not too eventful. I got the worst seat on the plane. I had an ok seat but they double booked it. I offered it up because I thought I’d have a crack at a first class seat but instead I got one at the very back against the bathroom wall so it didn’t recline. Luckily there was an empty seat next to me so I could put my feet up there.

The woman in my original seat kept getting my vegetarian meals and NOT CORRECTING THE FLIGHT ATTENDANT so I had to keep an eye on her. Oh and she NEVER said thanks for giving up the seat!

After getting off the plane, going through customs and getting my luggage I got to see Brent who ducked a fence to come kiss me! TRUE LOVE.

18 Comments on “My most giantest post ever!”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    I hate it when you do someone a favor and then they act like you should have done it all along.
    HATE IT.
    Like when you let someone in front of you in traffic, when you really didn’t have to, and they don’t give the courtesy wave.
    But it sounds like your trip was SOOOOOO wonderful!!!!! I’m so jealous! Now I want to go back to Europe ASAP!

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    I hate it when you do someone a favor and then they act like you should have done it all along.
    HATE IT.
    Like when you let someone in front of you in traffic, when you really didn’t have to, and they don’t give the courtesy wave.
    But it sounds like your trip was SOOOOOO wonderful!!!!! I’m so jealous! Now I want to go back to Europe ASAP!

  3. Your pictures are amazing- I really enjoyed reading this post.

  4. Your pictures are amazing- I really enjoyed reading this post.

  5. lyndszy says:

    Awesome post! I love the trip entries and pictures. I now want to go there..it is so pretty!

  6. lyndszy says:

    Awesome post! I love the trip entries and pictures. I now want to go there..it is so pretty!

  7. photogfrog says:

    Awesome post and pics! I am guessing you had enough camera memory! 🙂
    And I hate it when you get the lousy seats. At least you had no one beside you. Did you get your veggie meals in the end?

  8. photogfrog says:

    Awesome post and pics! I am guessing you had enough camera memory! 🙂
    And I hate it when you get the lousy seats. At least you had no one beside you. Did you get your veggie meals in the end?

  9. *Rome beautiful
    *You are beautiful
    *You have the bestest best friend ever
    *You best friend’s dog is hot
    I can’t wait to see all the cute clothes.
    You’re easily the most fashionable preggie I’ve seen!

  10. *Rome beautiful
    *You are beautiful
    *You have the bestest best friend ever
    *You best friend’s dog is hot
    I can’t wait to see all the cute clothes.
    You’re easily the most fashionable preggie I’ve seen!

  11. fiercekitty says:

    You totally should have played the pregnant card to that woman on the plane. I can’t believe they didn’t give you first class after double booking your seat!

  12. fiercekitty says:

    You totally should have played the pregnant card to that woman on the plane. I can’t believe they didn’t give you first class after double booking your seat!

  13. agrrlswrrld says:

    Looks like you had an amazing trip, though!
    I would’ve totally played the pregnant card…

  14. agrrlswrrld says:

    Looks like you had an amazing trip, though!
    I would’ve totally played the pregnant card…


Leave a Reply

