I just read this thing…

and I really liked it and maybe you will too.

It’s basically about the importance of good unbiased journalism about news.  What’s news? Celebrity sighting are not news.

I’m pretty glad that the news I tune in to isn’t much affected by this kind of stuff but it’s sad that so many people who watch or listen to ‘the news’ have no idea what’s going on in their world.

Here’s an excerpt:

Breaking News: Police have just been to Brittney Spears’ house, and although there are unconfirmed reports of a suicide attempt, nothing has been substantiated. However they are taking her to a hospital in an ambulance.

You’ve got to be fucking kidding me!

There are so many levels of wrong here I don’t know where the hell to begin. Maybe I should start with the obvious, which is that a has-been pop tart’s mental breakdown is not exactly “breaking news”. Breaking news is a political assassination, or an natural disaster, or a major financial crisis that will affect millions of people.

And the rest is here

20 Comments on “I just read this thing…”

  1. My mom and I were just talking about this this morning. Sometimes when I read the “news” I wish I wasn’t a journalist.
    You’re right about it not being “breaking news.” I’m not affected in any way by it…I feel quite certain no one else is, either.

  2. My mom and I were just talking about this this morning. Sometimes when I read the “news” I wish I wasn’t a journalist.
    You’re right about it not being “breaking news.” I’m not affected in any way by it…I feel quite certain no one else is, either.

  3. metahara says:

    oh. Sorry to hear if finally hit Canada. Infotainment began in 1976 but really took off during Ronald Reagan’s “regime” when he changed laws that protect us from unfair, biased, made of hearsay “news”
    I remember watching the change from investigative journalism to infotainment in my teens. I boycotted TV for 16 years.
    Have you seen Broadcast News ( a fave movie )
    or the Insider?

    • tianadargent says:

      Oh I’m sure it goes on on the networks here but I only look at or listen to the Canadian equivalent of NPR.
      I haven’t seen either of those movies but will check ’em out.

    • tianadargent says:

      Oh I’m sure it goes on on the networks here but I only look at or listen to the Canadian equivalent of NPR.
      I haven’t seen either of those movies but will check ’em out.

  4. metahara says:

    oh. Sorry to hear if finally hit Canada. Infotainment began in 1976 but really took off during Ronald Reagan’s “regime” when he changed laws that protect us from unfair, biased, made of hearsay “news”
    I remember watching the change from investigative journalism to infotainment in my teens. I boycotted TV for 16 years.
    Have you seen Broadcast News ( a fave movie )
    or the Insider?

  5. agrrlswrrld says:

    I love that Lawrence Wall at the CBC has outly refused to report on entertainment “news.
    It’s sad when you log on to websites like CNN and see tickers with updates on celebrity gossip. Most people could not tell you how many votes in parliament paul martin missed last year, but they can tell you how many tattoos britney has, or how many boyfriends she has had in the last year.
    It makes me sad that we are living in a world where celebrity whims trumps Russia setting-up talks with cuba last week to discuss building a military base there.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks
      Hi:
      Thanks for your support. I will continue to ignore news about Britney as it comes up. It’s sad that when she’s in the news, our Alerts system on the CBC computer goes crazy with one story flashing after another. This system was supposedly set up for the Really Important Stories, not these sad tales of a young star self-destructing.
      Best wishes,
      Laurence Wall
      CBC Radio Ottawa.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks
      Hi:
      Thanks for your support. I will continue to ignore news about Britney as it comes up. It’s sad that when she’s in the news, our Alerts system on the CBC computer goes crazy with one story flashing after another. This system was supposedly set up for the Really Important Stories, not these sad tales of a young star self-destructing.
      Best wishes,
      Laurence Wall
      CBC Radio Ottawa.

  6. agrrlswrrld says:

    I love that Lawrence Wall at the CBC has outly refused to report on entertainment “news.
    It’s sad when you log on to websites like CNN and see tickers with updates on celebrity gossip. Most people could not tell you how many votes in parliament paul martin missed last year, but they can tell you how many tattoos britney has, or how many boyfriends she has had in the last year.
    It makes me sad that we are living in a world where celebrity whims trumps Russia setting-up talks with cuba last week to discuss building a military base there.

  7. damedini says:

    Oh I hate that as well. Nor are sport scores or gossip news.
    I do wonder how they managed to eliminate the good investigative journalist. We need many of them to really ferret out what the public needs to know.

  8. damedini says:

    Oh I hate that as well. Nor are sport scores or gossip news.
    I do wonder how they managed to eliminate the good investigative journalist. We need many of them to really ferret out what the public needs to know.

  9. clivec says:

    I could not agree more. The actions of a celebrity is not “breaking”, though if someone wants to watch a gossip type show, go to town, but keep it the hell off real news.

  10. clivec says:

    I could not agree more. The actions of a celebrity is not “breaking”, though if someone wants to watch a gossip type show, go to town, but keep it the hell off real news.

  11. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with this. As much as I love some celebrity gossip, I do not want to see it on my news. It is completely useless there. That is why there are shows dedicated to this type of news, and that is where it should stay.
    I also don’t think stories of cute bears at the zoo is news unless they are mauling visitors.

  12. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with this. As much as I love some celebrity gossip, I do not want to see it on my news. It is completely useless there. That is why there are shows dedicated to this type of news, and that is where it should stay.
    I also don’t think stories of cute bears at the zoo is news unless they are mauling visitors.


Leave a Reply

