Snoogle-riffic

After yesterday’s poll I decided I need to sleep more comfortably and there will come a point when back sleeping really isn’t possible anyways so I looked into getting a body pillow. I went down to the store and picked up a Snoogle.

GET ONE RIGHT NOW

Yeah after ONE NIGHT with this thing I feel so much better. That ass-bone pain I was talking about the other day? Gone! Tossing and turning? Gone! All that back pain I didn’t know I had until I woke up with none this morning? Gone!

Worth every penny and it can be used for breastfeeding later on as well and probably some awesome fort-building.

I would recommend this to anyone with back pain really.

On another note, I think I feel movement but I’m not really sure. The best way I can describe it is as a slightly painful gas bubble that comes and goes but doesn’t move and isn’t followed up by a fart. I read in my week-by-week book that I should start feeling movement between this week and the next 4 weeks but I’ve been feeling something like this now and then for the past 2 weeks so who knows. I didn’t even think it could be movement until I read that yesterday. I thought that’s what a uterus stretching out felt like.

This brings me back to the whole idea of home birth. Remember how I said that I was 90% sure that’s the way I want to go? That nagging 10% is the Epidural Percentage as I like to call it to myself. In a home birth, and epidural is not an option, unless you have a really awesome anesthesiologist friend I suppose. But if you REALLY want one, you can always transfer to the hospital. I need to do more looking into alternative pain management… Anyways I don’t have to decide until I’m in labor anyways I guess.

 

37 Comments on “Snoogle-riffic”

  1. damedini says:

    That pillow looks fabulous! I had horrible ligament stretching, to the point where rolling over in bed was a 5 minute process (big kid) and really would have loved something like this.
    If wha you’re feeling hurts, chances are it isn’t baby. Baby won’t hurt you til 8 or 9 months. She just doesn’t have the strength yet. But it might be. For me it was the faintest of flutters, but very distinctly located.

    • tianadargent says:

      I wouldn’t say hurts like I go OW. More like…a weird feeling in a spot that I’ve never felt anything before. Just like a spot of high pressure.
      Ligament stretching… more details please…

    • damedini says:

      Ah,then that may well be baby! You’ll be sure very soon. I don’t recall noticing my uterus stretching.
      Well, the baby has to pass through your pelvis, through an opening not really very large normally. Your body produces a chemical that starts the ligaments of your pelvis (and all over) loosening and stretching a bit. I went a month late, and my kid was very big. My body tried so very hard to stretch enough, and my pelvis got very loose indeed. I could feel the seperate bits move independently in bed. This is why they caution you later in pregnancy about clumsiness and certain athletic activities.

  2. damedini says:

    That pillow looks fabulous! I had horrible ligament stretching, to the point where rolling over in bed was a 5 minute process (big kid) and really would have loved something like this.
    If wha you’re feeling hurts, chances are it isn’t baby. Baby won’t hurt you til 8 or 9 months. She just doesn’t have the strength yet. But it might be. For me it was the faintest of flutters, but very distinctly located.

  3. I just checked & there is actually a store where Richard’s parents live that carry Snoogles. I’ll get him to call them tonight and get on that! Anything that might keep me from continually rolling over onto my belly…
    Thanks for the tip Doll!

  4. tianadargent says:

    You will marry it…I’m telling you.

  5. tianadargent says:

    You will marry it…I’m telling you.

  6. metahara says:

    I read a book titled “Spiritual Midwifery” by Ina Mae Gaskins when I was pregnant.
    It said ride the pain and offered a hippy dippy story of one womans “ride”
    Gotta say, hippy dippy groovy language n all, that book was a great help.
    Being conscious, in a mediative state allowed me the full experience…it’s hard to explain without sounding crazy, but, there is a moment at birth when I felt my connection to universe so completely…the only other time I felt that was during near death. Now, maybe it is all chemical, maybe the unique orgasm women experience at birth is to…? The thing is, I felt like it informed my parenting and while I think every woman should do what is right for her and not everyone can go natural, I hope those who can do.
    It’s not an every night annoyance. It is an event.
    Speaking of every night, you may want to practice taking naps now. I was not able to get myself to nap for the longest time. Nursing all night is not a full night of deep sleep.

    • tianadargent says:

      Oh I’m a champion napper! I never really sleep the whole night through, it’s just now that I can’t fall back asleep because I was uncomfortable.
      Thanks for the book recommendation!

    • tianadargent says:

      Oh I’m a champion napper! I never really sleep the whole night through, it’s just now that I can’t fall back asleep because I was uncomfortable.
      Thanks for the book recommendation!

    • fiercekitty says:

      Has there been any research done about the childbirth orgasm? I’ve heard about it before, but I’m afraid of googling!

      • tianadargent says:

        I’ve heard of it but not much…I’m googling….
        This has a bunch of interesting quotes from women:
        http://www.unassistedchildbirth.com/sensual/orgasmic.html although some nude pregnant shots (tasteful) so best not to look at work.
        This site details a documentary wich touches on the subject (SFW) http://orgasmicbirth.com/what-is-orgasmic-birth%3F
        Most of what I’m looking at says that childbirth and pregnancy is part of a womans sexuality, which makes sense because you get pregnant from sex right? Even breastfeeding is part of this, erect nipples etc. But it also serves a purpose. Hormones released from nipple stimulation cause the uterus to heal faster. Anyways it’s all fairly interesting…
        Excerpts from an article (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,8123-2238733,00.html)
        “If a woman is comfortable enough to do nipple or clitoral stimulation during birth, it’s a useful trick for pain relief and inducing labour,”
        “One big hitch is that, as with any sexual activity, the amount of pleasure gained is closely related to the degree of relaxation, trust and safety that a woman feels”
        More than you wanted to know I bet…..

      • tianadargent says:

        I’ve heard of it but not much…I’m googling….
        This has a bunch of interesting quotes from women:
        http://www.unassistedchildbirth.com/sensual/orgasmic.html although some nude pregnant shots (tasteful) so best not to look at work.
        This site details a documentary wich touches on the subject (SFW) http://orgasmicbirth.com/what-is-orgasmic-birth%3F
        Most of what I’m looking at says that childbirth and pregnancy is part of a womans sexuality, which makes sense because you get pregnant from sex right? Even breastfeeding is part of this, erect nipples etc. But it also serves a purpose. Hormones released from nipple stimulation cause the uterus to heal faster. Anyways it’s all fairly interesting…
        Excerpts from an article (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,8123-2238733,00.html)
        “If a woman is comfortable enough to do nipple or clitoral stimulation during birth, it’s a useful trick for pain relief and inducing labour,”
        “One big hitch is that, as with any sexual activity, the amount of pleasure gained is closely related to the degree of relaxation, trust and safety that a woman feels”
        More than you wanted to know I bet…..

      • Anonymous says:

        Probably. I don’t know about googling it, but, I was not alone in speaking of it when I apprenticed with a midwife. It was common knowledge to that group of women.

    • fiercekitty says:

      Has there been any research done about the childbirth orgasm? I’ve heard about it before, but I’m afraid of googling!

  7. metahara says:

    I read a book titled “Spiritual Midwifery” by Ina Mae Gaskins when I was pregnant.
    It said ride the pain and offered a hippy dippy story of one womans “ride”
    Gotta say, hippy dippy groovy language n all, that book was a great help.
    Being conscious, in a mediative state allowed me the full experience…it’s hard to explain without sounding crazy, but, there is a moment at birth when I felt my connection to universe so completely…the only other time I felt that was during near death. Now, maybe it is all chemical, maybe the unique orgasm women experience at birth is to…? The thing is, I felt like it informed my parenting and while I think every woman should do what is right for her and not everyone can go natural, I hope those who can do.
    It’s not an every night annoyance. It is an event.
    Speaking of every night, you may want to practice taking naps now. I was not able to get myself to nap for the longest time. Nursing all night is not a full night of deep sleep.

  8. rachaeldoss says:

    That pretty much looks like the most awesome pillow on the planet.

  9. rachaeldoss says:

    That pretty much looks like the most awesome pillow on the planet.

  10. shesaid says:

    I have never heard of a Snoogle! That looks really comfy. I purposely started sleeping on my right side a couple of weeks ago and have been getting much better sleep. My spine is curved on the bottom a bit which is why the right side is better…just figured this out from the chiro. Bad backs are no fun.

    • tianadargent says:

      You should totally get one then. It’s like being hugged just right all night long and not getting sweaty from too much body heat. I think putting the lower part between the knees is the best help for my back. Maybe you could try that with an extra pillow?

  11. shesaid says:

    I have never heard of a Snoogle! That looks really comfy. I purposely started sleeping on my right side a couple of weeks ago and have been getting much better sleep. My spine is curved on the bottom a bit which is why the right side is better…just figured this out from the chiro. Bad backs are no fun.

  12. If you do have a home birth, do you register with a hospital in case something does happen and you need to go in? If not, I’m not sure how easy it would be to just show up and ask for the epidural. You also have to be careful when things have progressed to a certain point they won’t give it to you any more so you would have to get there before that time.
    If you are worried about the pain (who isn’t) one of the best things you can do is to have a Doula. People who have Doulas are less likely to need epidurals or have c-sections. Don’t forget if you did get an epidural the midwife will be much more restricted in what she can/you can do since you won’t be able to move and will be on your back in bed.

    • tianadargent says:

      Hmm I don’t know if you have to register ahead of time. I do know that some women who home-birth do transfer to a hospital for pain medication so I’m sure my midwife knows what to do and will tell me if I need to do anything ahead of time in that event.
      Also, my midwife is trained in birthing so if I’m passed the point of epidural, she would tell me before we even left for the hospital.
      “People who have Doulas are less likely to need epidurals or have c-sections”
      For our midwife center it’s a 10% epidural rate (as opposed to 90% in non-midwife assisted Ontario births) and something like 5% for c-sections (Ontario percentage not known)
      Honestly, for me, the draw backs of an epidural are greater than the benefits so I REALLY DOUBT I’d go that route but I need to contemplate all my options.

      • Right of course your midwife will know what to do and if things are possible. I’m just saying that depending on how your labour goes, you may not be able to have an epidural whether you decide you need one or not. This happened to my sister-in-law who was actually in the hospital so things can change fast. Contemplating all your options is very good, but not all your options maybe be available at any given time.
        Wow, 90% epidural rate seems very high. I guess a lot of people just say I don’t want to deal with the pain or think they won’t be able to handle it so just get it done right away. It wasn’t on our list of pain management techniques.
        I don’t know what the Ontario rate is for c-sections but at the Queensway Carleton hospital it is 25% of births.

    • tianadargent says:

      Hmm I don’t know if you have to register ahead of time. I do know that some women who home-birth do transfer to a hospital for pain medication so I’m sure my midwife knows what to do and will tell me if I need to do anything ahead of time in that event.
      Also, my midwife is trained in birthing so if I’m passed the point of epidural, she would tell me before we even left for the hospital.
      “People who have Doulas are less likely to need epidurals or have c-sections”
      For our midwife center it’s a 10% epidural rate (as opposed to 90% in non-midwife assisted Ontario births) and something like 5% for c-sections (Ontario percentage not known)
      Honestly, for me, the draw backs of an epidural are greater than the benefits so I REALLY DOUBT I’d go that route but I need to contemplate all my options.

  13. If you do have a home birth, do you register with a hospital in case something does happen and you need to go in? If not, I’m not sure how easy it would be to just show up and ask for the epidural. You also have to be careful when things have progressed to a certain point they won’t give it to you any more so you would have to get there before that time.
    If you are worried about the pain (who isn’t) one of the best things you can do is to have a Doula. People who have Doulas are less likely to need epidurals or have c-sections. Don’t forget if you did get an epidural the midwife will be much more restricted in what she can/you can do since you won’t be able to move and will be on your back in bed.

  14. pinkpiper222 says:

    Ok…so I’m giving more advice today…I bet you just love that….Have you ever watched the show on TLC, A BABY STORY?….I think it’s worth watching, because they cover so many different types of births and you can see what the actual women are going through at that very moment of intense pain…because I have had three boys, and I can’t imagine not having the option of an epidural…but some women don’t need it…
    YAY! You got the pillow! I was looking at them after I chatted with you yesterday…you could get tangled up in that thing! Glad it worked!

  15. tianadargent says:

    I’ve seen a few episodes but I find them kind of boring. I’m horrible.

  16. clivec says:

    I cannot say for myself, of course, but I know the epi made a great difference for my wife. At the first “go”, they only got half her body, and the half unsedated gave her an inkling that she wanted them to have one more “go” with the needle.

  17. clivec says:

    I cannot say for myself, of course, but I know the epi made a great difference for my wife. At the first “go”, they only got half her body, and the half unsedated gave her an inkling that she wanted them to have one more “go” with the needle.

  18. barcodegurl says:

    that pillow looks awesome. where did you get it/how much?

  19. tianadargent says:

    Toys R Us $60
    And I’m in love with it.


Leave a Reply

