I had no idea it was my only function.

So there’s a new guy and his boss is bringing him around introducing him to everybody under the format of Name – Job description. She gets to me and says Tiana – Soon to be a mom! and then moves on to the next person.

 


On this day:

In 2007 – pug-tastic photo barrage
In 2005 – so tired I look like a raisin

40 Comments on “I had no idea it was my only function.”

  1. trinity3x says:

    The flip side:
    There is something primal in humans that responds to life. I suspect she was responding to that stirring inside her and thought you’d be more excited about upcoming motherhood than your job. I understand why you’re insulted, but I don’t think that was her intention.

  2. trinity3x says:

    The flip side:
    There is something primal in humans that responds to life. I suspect she was responding to that stirring inside her and thought you’d be more excited about upcoming motherhood than your job. I understand why you’re insulted, but I don’t think that was her intention.

  3. rachaeldoss says:

    Too bad you couldn’t introduce her: “Person in Charge – Always an Idiot.”

    • rachaeldoss says:

      It just occurred to me that she might literally have in her head somewhere that it’s unimportant to tell this new hire what your function is because she thinks that you will not be there very long and he’ll just ask someone else.
      Which, I do not know what your plans are as far as working or not, but I would have been irritated if someone made an assumption like that about my validity as a “go-to” without my expressing my future plans prior.
      Sorry – when I thought of that, it just made me mad on your behalf. :-/

    • rachaeldoss says:

      It just occurred to me that she might literally have in her head somewhere that it’s unimportant to tell this new hire what your function is because she thinks that you will not be there very long and he’ll just ask someone else.
      Which, I do not know what your plans are as far as working or not, but I would have been irritated if someone made an assumption like that about my validity as a “go-to” without my expressing my future plans prior.
      Sorry – when I thought of that, it just made me mad on your behalf. :-/

  4. rachaeldoss says:

    Too bad you couldn’t introduce her: “Person in Charge – Always an Idiot.”

  5. I know exactly how you feel. To this day, I am STILL introduced as “Cuz’s daughter” since my dad is well known in our industry, instead of people actually using my job title.
    I always smile sweetly while shaking the new person’s hand, and add “I’m also the Lead Editor on our company’s flag ship show”.
    Whatever. People are morons.

  6. I know exactly how you feel. To this day, I am STILL introduced as “Cuz’s daughter” since my dad is well known in our industry, instead of people actually using my job title.
    I always smile sweetly while shaking the new person’s hand, and add “I’m also the Lead Editor on our company’s flag ship show”.
    Whatever. People are morons.

  7. I always get “This is our city government and police reporter.” Guess I don’t have a name.
    I should introduce my boss as “The funny looking man who answers everything with a smart remark” or “man who constantly makes stupid jokes only 7-year-olds find funny.”

  8. I always get “This is our city government and police reporter.” Guess I don’t have a name.
    I should introduce my boss as “The funny looking man who answers everything with a smart remark” or “man who constantly makes stupid jokes only 7-year-olds find funny.”

    • metahara says:

      I wonder, is anyone calling brett “soon to be father”?
      or is it like Director’s
      in the bio for female it identifies her as Mother, Director, Writer, etc.
      in the bio for him it identifies Director, writer, etc.
      I have not come across a professional amns bio that included “Father and husband” in it.
      Where women’s bio’s are concerned- it’s almost guaranteed to be in there.

      • tianadargent says:

        I have no idea what they call him. Brent works from home so I guess it’s a bit of a non-issue for him. But I can say that when there are guys art work who are expecting, people still say “And how’s the daddy today?” and other dumb shit like that.
        I got that last week: “How’s the mom doing?” and I said there were 3 moms in the room and as far as I could tell, I wasn’t one of them.

      • tianadargent says:

        I have no idea what they call him. Brent works from home so I guess it’s a bit of a non-issue for him. But I can say that when there are guys art work who are expecting, people still say “And how’s the daddy today?” and other dumb shit like that.
        I got that last week: “How’s the mom doing?” and I said there were 3 moms in the room and as far as I could tell, I wasn’t one of them.

    • metahara says:

      I wonder, is anyone calling brett “soon to be father”?
      or is it like Director’s
      in the bio for female it identifies her as Mother, Director, Writer, etc.
      in the bio for him it identifies Director, writer, etc.
      I have not come across a professional amns bio that included “Father and husband” in it.
      Where women’s bio’s are concerned- it’s almost guaranteed to be in there.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Don’t you ever worry…
    I’ve been reading your blog (lurking) for some time.
    I enjoy your posting style and spirit.
    I run my own small company.
    Creepy or not, I google all of my employees fairly regularly.
    If you were in my company I’d have learned that you’ll often take sick days you don’t really need and today that you think your boss is an idiot (which I totally agree with you about).
    Don’t you worry that perhaps one day your boss might find this blog and worse yet, read it?

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: Don’t you ever worry…
      1- I don’t lie about the sick days I take. We are allotted a certain amount and allowed to use them as we please. I only have 6 per year.
      2- I wasn’t talking about my boss. I was talking about the boss of a new employee who works for a different department that sometimes deals with our department. I also recounted this story to my boss. So…?
      3- Go ahead and google my name. See where that takes you? Pretty much nowhere except to my baby registry and a couple of comments on some websites that have absolutely nothing to do with work or anything on here.

      • lola_70 says:

        Re: Don’t you ever worry…
        What’s this baby registry you talkin ’bout?

        • tianadargent says:

          Re: Don’t you ever worry…
          Oh well I started a couple registries as a “stuff we need” list and no one store has all the stuff we need.
          I did one at Babies R Us and another one at a local place. Although I think I want to remove the stroller thing from the BRU one because there are other ones I like better and are less bulky.
          I can email you the link if you want. I need opinions on what I might be missing or things I probably won’t need. I’m trying to keep it as simple as possible.

          • lola_70 says:

            Re: Don’t you ever worry…
            Babies & Toys R Us sucks harry balls!!!
            Please do send the link, I’m interested!
            I really thought you’d not even go to those stores.
            What are your thoughts on diapers?

          • lola_70 says:

            Re: Don’t you ever worry…
            Babies & Toys R Us sucks harry balls!!!
            Please do send the link, I’m interested!
            I really thought you’d not even go to those stores.
            What are your thoughts on diapers?

        • tianadargent says:

          Re: Don’t you ever worry…
          Oh well I started a couple registries as a “stuff we need” list and no one store has all the stuff we need.
          I did one at Babies R Us and another one at a local place. Although I think I want to remove the stroller thing from the BRU one because there are other ones I like better and are less bulky.
          I can email you the link if you want. I need opinions on what I might be missing or things I probably won’t need. I’m trying to keep it as simple as possible.

      • lola_70 says:

        Re: Don’t you ever worry…
        What’s this baby registry you talkin ’bout?

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: Don’t you ever worry…
      1- I don’t lie about the sick days I take. We are allotted a certain amount and allowed to use them as we please. I only have 6 per year.
      2- I wasn’t talking about my boss. I was talking about the boss of a new employee who works for a different department that sometimes deals with our department. I also recounted this story to my boss. So…?
      3- Go ahead and google my name. See where that takes you? Pretty much nowhere except to my baby registry and a couple of comments on some websites that have absolutely nothing to do with work or anything on here.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Don’t you ever worry…
    I’ve been reading your blog (lurking) for some time.
    I enjoy your posting style and spirit.
    I run my own small company.
    Creepy or not, I google all of my employees fairly regularly.
    If you were in my company I’d have learned that you’ll often take sick days you don’t really need and today that you think your boss is an idiot (which I totally agree with you about).
    Don’t you worry that perhaps one day your boss might find this blog and worse yet, read it?


Leave a Reply

