spelling sounds is tough

On Thursday we had our second appointment with the midwife. Except our midwife is on vacation so it was with our back-up. It took a long time and we covered a lot of the same things as the first time but a few cool things happened.

  1. I got to pee in a cup. Always a treat!
  2. We listened to the heartbeat. It sounds cool. Like a deep-voiced guy whispering ‘woopa woopa’
  3. We listened to the placenta, which sounds like a top-loading washing machine

Brent’s face was completely take over by a smile and all of life’s problems went away for at least a little while.


On this day:

In 2006 – boring crap
In 2005 – although I like the design of it, I’m SO GLAD I didn’t get this as a tattoo. This is why I wait a few months to book my appointments…

22 Comments on “spelling sounds is tough”

  1. photogfrog says:

    COOL!!!
    Pics? πŸ™‚

  2. photogfrog says:

    COOL!!!
    Pics? πŸ™‚

  3. corto says:

    we were plagued by challenges in having our first baby… (we ended up with two healthy happy boys)… but I recall the gravity of my happiness when we finally could hear a healthy heartbeat… We called it “rocky” for the eight months he was inside… πŸ™‚ (our little “fighter”. :D)

  4. corto says:

    we were plagued by challenges in having our first baby… (we ended up with two healthy happy boys)… but I recall the gravity of my happiness when we finally could hear a healthy heartbeat… We called it “rocky” for the eight months he was inside… πŸ™‚ (our little “fighter”. :D)

  5. Our appointment got rescheduled last week because our guy was delivering a baby. I figure that’s just part of the deal.
    I’m glad everything is going smoothly and you got to hear your little one’s heartbeat! I go in at 2:30 today. No more violation cam I’m told… just the audio this time, no visuals. Which I’m more than content with!
    p.s. How are you feeling? I know every woman is different… I was curious about how you were feeling this week.

    • tianadargent says:

      That happened to us and this was our re-scheduled appointment.
      I’ve been feeling a lot better lately but was keeping it to myself so you wouldn’t feel too bad! My energy is coming back (I can stay up till 10 pm! And load the dishwasher!) and I don’t get nauseous as long as my tummy is not empty. Although today I am SO hungry. I ate my lunch and was still starving so I bought a mini-bag of chips and I JUST finished it and I’m still hungry.
      I was hoping to save my fruits until the afternoon but I don’t think I can hold out!

      • No, don’t keep it to yourself! I’ve had fun keeping up with your progress because you’ve been a pretty good predictor of how I was going to be feeling in a couple of weeks. The fact that you’re feeling better makes ME feel better.
        The whole thing is still so crazy to me. I got the weekly update e-mail this weekend and it said, “Your baby is now the size of a fig”. The thought of the gummy bear growing to the size of a fig in just a few shorts weeks is amazing to me.

        • tianadargent says:

          Mine is the size of a fist! Crazy!!!!!

          • Oh my goodness! A fist is pretty big : )
            Are your clothes getting snug yet? I ordered a few cute pieces from Gap just in case mine do. Have you found any maternity clothes you like yet? I was looking around online this weekend and found Motherhood Maternity. Their prices are surprisingly low, and they had some pretty cute stuff! I’m actually considering ordering this little black wrap dress for work.

            Anyway, I checked for you and there are 2 locations in your area!
            Motherhood at St. Laurent Shopping Ctr
            1200 St. Laurent Blvd
            Ottawa, ON K1K3B5 CA
            Motherhood
            1600 Merivale Road
            Nepean, ON K2G5J7 CA
            Might be worth checking out! Or you can browse online.
            http://www.motherhood.com

            • tianadargent says:

              That’s actually the place I wrote about going in to! I decided to go back once the holiday sales were over because they would probably have nicer stuff out then.
              My stuff is getting a bit snug. I went to a department store on Friday and picked up a SUPER CUTE top and some nice pants. the pants are still a bit too loose around the waist but they were 25% off so I figured I should get them now!

            • tianadargent says:

              That’s actually the place I wrote about going in to! I decided to go back once the holiday sales were over because they would probably have nicer stuff out then.
              My stuff is getting a bit snug. I went to a department store on Friday and picked up a SUPER CUTE top and some nice pants. the pants are still a bit too loose around the waist but they were 25% off so I figured I should get them now!

            • That dress is very, very cute! And it looks comfortable.
              T- glad the sound test went well:)

            • That dress is very, very cute! And it looks comfortable.
              T- glad the sound test went well:)

          • Oh my goodness! A fist is pretty big : )
            Are your clothes getting snug yet? I ordered a few cute pieces from Gap just in case mine do. Have you found any maternity clothes you like yet? I was looking around online this weekend and found Motherhood Maternity. Their prices are surprisingly low, and they had some pretty cute stuff! I’m actually considering ordering this little black wrap dress for work.

            Anyway, I checked for you and there are 2 locations in your area!
            Motherhood at St. Laurent Shopping Ctr
            1200 St. Laurent Blvd
            Ottawa, ON K1K3B5 CA
            Motherhood
            1600 Merivale Road
            Nepean, ON K2G5J7 CA
            Might be worth checking out! Or you can browse online.
            http://www.motherhood.com

        • tianadargent says:

          Mine is the size of a fist! Crazy!!!!!

      • No, don’t keep it to yourself! I’ve had fun keeping up with your progress because you’ve been a pretty good predictor of how I was going to be feeling in a couple of weeks. The fact that you’re feeling better makes ME feel better.
        The whole thing is still so crazy to me. I got the weekly update e-mail this weekend and it said, “Your baby is now the size of a fig”. The thought of the gummy bear growing to the size of a fig in just a few shorts weeks is amazing to me.

    • tianadargent says:

      That happened to us and this was our re-scheduled appointment.
      I’ve been feeling a lot better lately but was keeping it to myself so you wouldn’t feel too bad! My energy is coming back (I can stay up till 10 pm! And load the dishwasher!) and I don’t get nauseous as long as my tummy is not empty. Although today I am SO hungry. I ate my lunch and was still starving so I bought a mini-bag of chips and I JUST finished it and I’m still hungry.
      I was hoping to save my fruits until the afternoon but I don’t think I can hold out!

  6. Our appointment got rescheduled last week because our guy was delivering a baby. I figure that’s just part of the deal.
    I’m glad everything is going smoothly and you got to hear your little one’s heartbeat! I go in at 2:30 today. No more violation cam I’m told… just the audio this time, no visuals. Which I’m more than content with!
    p.s. How are you feeling? I know every woman is different… I was curious about how you were feeling this week.

  7. metahara says:

    He is going to have so much fun playing with the baby.

  8. metahara says:

    He is going to have so much fun playing with the baby.


Leave a Reply

