I do NOT look THAT pregnant!

I am just over 3 months pregnant. I have a bit of a tummy but really, it could just be the beer talking.

Yesterday on the way home I was standing near the front of the bus because it was packed and this woman was all “Are you pregnant?” and I looked at her quizzically while saying yes. Then she gave me her seat!

It is winter and I was wearing a big puffy coat with a long scarf in front. My belly was NOT showing. I think I’ll have to take photos soon to prove my “not obviously pregnant-ness”


On this day:

In 2007 – Loot bags
In 2006 – Spooning out my eyes and feeding them to crows

28 Comments on “I do NOT look THAT pregnant!”

  1. artistiqua says:

    That’s weird, it’d be highly unusual to have such a tummy in your third month that it shows even through a coat!
    She must have had the sixth sense for such a thing I guess. πŸ˜‰ Or maybe she could tell from your face and skin. I know that for example that women in Africa can tell just by looking at another woman and see wether they are pregnant or not.

  2. artistiqua says:

    That’s weird, it’d be highly unusual to have such a tummy in your third month that it shows even through a coat!
    She must have had the sixth sense for such a thing I guess. πŸ˜‰ Or maybe she could tell from your face and skin. I know that for example that women in Africa can tell just by looking at another woman and see wether they are pregnant or not.

  3. lindyhoppr says:

    I got the whole “are you pregnant” followed by a pat on the tummy.
    Then I smacked the guy because that was totally uncalled for and I was totally not pregnant.
    I bet you have a glow. I can’t imagine that you’d be showing this early on.

  4. lindyhoppr says:

    I got the whole “are you pregnant” followed by a pat on the tummy.
    Then I smacked the guy because that was totally uncalled for and I was totally not pregnant.
    I bet you have a glow. I can’t imagine that you’d be showing this early on.

  5. damedini says:

    My neighbor’s about 4.5 mos she she just popped a tum. It’s a cute little bump, but it protrudes quite a bit more than mine did.
    It all depends on your bod. The neighbor is a tiny little thing and she’ll look like a Volkswagon by 6 mos.
    You may be glowing, or you may have rubbed your tum or your back witout realizing it. To a woman whose had several kids, there are so many indicators other than a bump.

  6. damedini says:

    My neighbor’s about 4.5 mos she she just popped a tum. It’s a cute little bump, but it protrudes quite a bit more than mine did.
    It all depends on your bod. The neighbor is a tiny little thing and she’ll look like a Volkswagon by 6 mos.
    You may be glowing, or you may have rubbed your tum or your back witout realizing it. To a woman whose had several kids, there are so many indicators other than a bump.

  7. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with others that you might have had a “tell” that only other women with children would notice. Some people are just really intuitive. πŸ™‚
    You’ll be one of those women who doesn’t even get a real bump until you’re 6 months, I bet!
    Edited to show I actually know the difference between “your” and “you are” πŸ˜€

  8. rachaeldoss says:

    I agree with others that you might have had a “tell” that only other women with children would notice. Some people are just really intuitive. πŸ™‚
    You’ll be one of those women who doesn’t even get a real bump until you’re 6 months, I bet!
    Edited to show I actually know the difference between “your” and “you are” πŸ˜€

  9. Could be the beer talking.
    LMAO
    Maybe you had your hands in front of your belly? Maybe the lady is psychic? Either way… YAY for polite strangers giving up their seats for you : )

  10. Could be the beer talking.
    LMAO
    Maybe you had your hands in front of your belly? Maybe the lady is psychic? Either way… YAY for polite strangers giving up their seats for you : )

  11. sassinate says:

    It might not be your body she was looking at… I know that there are many women who, right around their 3 month mark, develop a characteristic cheek reddening. You might not notice it yourself — its not a rash etc. Its just slight pinking as if you’re wearing very natural looking blush. Some people go out of their way to gaze at people I think. I never notice the ‘blush’ but I have a friend who does and always asks the person if they are pregnant. 9 times out of 10 they are and she comes back and says ‘See! I told you she was pregnant’. They have no visible tummy, its all in the face.

  12. sassinate says:

    It might not be your body she was looking at… I know that there are many women who, right around their 3 month mark, develop a characteristic cheek reddening. You might not notice it yourself — its not a rash etc. Its just slight pinking as if you’re wearing very natural looking blush. Some people go out of their way to gaze at people I think. I never notice the ‘blush’ but I have a friend who does and always asks the person if they are pregnant. 9 times out of 10 they are and she comes back and says ‘See! I told you she was pregnant’. They have no visible tummy, its all in the face.

  13. lola_70 says:

    I once made the mistake of asking a woman when she was due. She promptly put me in my place with her reply of: I’m not pregnant… I’m just FAT!
    I felt like an ass…
    Use that line if it bothers you so much.

  14. lola_70 says:

    I once made the mistake of asking a woman when she was due. She promptly put me in my place with her reply of: I’m not pregnant… I’m just FAT!
    I felt like an ass…
    Use that line if it bothers you so much.

  15. Anonymous says:

    If you ever change your mind and decide to flaunt the whole pregnancy thing, remember, I’m down with taking pictures.
    And I finally got OpenID set up, so I can comment without having to be anonymous or a livejournal user.

  16. Anonymous says:

    If you ever change your mind and decide to flaunt the whole pregnancy thing, remember, I’m down with taking pictures.
    And I finally got OpenID set up, so I can comment without having to be anonymous or a livejournal user.

  17. melytha says:

    PS. Just thought I’d tell you I found your journal via the octranspo community (the maternity clothes post,) and naturally, since I am expecting also and thinking about maternity clothes, I was curious about your journal πŸ™‚

  18. melytha says:

    PS. Just thought I’d tell you I found your journal via the octranspo community (the maternity clothes post,) and naturally, since I am expecting also and thinking about maternity clothes, I was curious about your journal πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

