Things coworkers have said since they found out I was pregnant.

  • Why didn’t you tell me sooner?
  • How many more kids are you going to have?
  • Was it an accident?

On this day:

In 2007
– Reviews of Children of men
In 2006 – Reading other people’s resumés
In 2005 – Can a robot love?

38 Comments on “Things coworkers have said since they found out I was pregnant.”

  1. lindyhoppr says:

    No one said “Congratulations! I’m so happy for you”?
    That’s too bad.

  2. lindyhoppr says:

    No one said “Congratulations! I’m so happy for you”?
    That’s too bad.

  3. artistiqua says:

    Yeah, like the above poster mentioned- nobody congratulated? I think that is the first thing one should say and then go on minding their own business!
    ‘Was it an accident’ is a pretty rude question in my opinion. That isn’t a question for co-workers to ask…

  4. artistiqua says:

    Yeah, like the above poster mentioned- nobody congratulated? I think that is the first thing one should say and then go on minding their own business!
    ‘Was it an accident’ is a pretty rude question in my opinion. That isn’t a question for co-workers to ask…

  5. trinity3x says:

    1.) Because contrary to popular belief, this is my business and we are not BFFs.
    2.) Perhaps we could get the hang of one first?
    3.) Isn’t that between my husband and I?

  6. trinity3x says:

    1.) Because contrary to popular belief, this is my business and we are not BFFs.
    2.) Perhaps we could get the hang of one first?
    3.) Isn’t that between my husband and I?

  7. I’m still so excited for you!!
    *Not your business
    *Also not your business
    *What an asshole

  8. I’m still so excited for you!!
    *Not your business
    *Also not your business
    *What an asshole

  9. agrrlswrrld says:

    the first one cracks me up. Are they family? Friends? um, no. Would they even know you if you didn’t share the dame office?
    It’s irritating how coworkers have a way of assuming they have a right to know what’s going on in each other’s personal lives.

  10. agrrlswrrld says:

    the first one cracks me up. Are they family? Friends? um, no. Would they even know you if you didn’t share the dame office?
    It’s irritating how coworkers have a way of assuming they have a right to know what’s going on in each other’s personal lives.

  11. nyxie says:

    Yeah, you have to be a serious ass to ask that last question. I don’t think I’d even ask that of a very close friend.

  12. nyxie says:

    Yeah, you have to be a serious ass to ask that last question. I don’t think I’d even ask that of a very close friend.

  13. rachaeldoss says:

    I am astonished by people.
    As if the other questions weren’t intrusive enough, WHO THE HELL ASKS IF IT WAS AN ACCIDENT?!?!?!?!?!

    • Who asks if it was an “accident”? Some people are just tactless.
      I agree that whether or not your pregnancy was unplanned, it’s your business. And even if it was, does that make you any less happy about it? I think not.

    • Who asks if it was an “accident”? Some people are just tactless.
      I agree that whether or not your pregnancy was unplanned, it’s your business. And even if it was, does that make you any less happy about it? I think not.

  14. rachaeldoss says:

    I am astonished by people.
    As if the other questions weren’t intrusive enough, WHO THE HELL ASKS IF IT WAS AN ACCIDENT?!?!?!?!?!

  15. utsi says:

    welcome to the concept of – you are pregnant- you are now a public possession/obsession. your personal space has now been challenged or sacrificed. not sure which exactly. i find this an odd phenomenon to watch. my logest friend kept it a secret at work until she was six omnths along for this very reason.
    sorry you work with idjits

  16. utsi says:

    welcome to the concept of – you are pregnant- you are now a public possession/obsession. your personal space has now been challenged or sacrificed. not sure which exactly. i find this an odd phenomenon to watch. my logest friend kept it a secret at work until she was six omnths along for this very reason.
    sorry you work with idjits

  17. lyndszy says:

    Has anyone touched your belly yet? Apparently this is one of the reasons you shouldn’t tell your co-workers..even if they barely know you, they will try to touch your belly (so says my pregnant coworker)
    I never tell my co-workers anything.

  18. lyndszy says:

    Has anyone touched your belly yet? Apparently this is one of the reasons you shouldn’t tell your co-workers..even if they barely know you, they will try to touch your belly (so says my pregnant coworker)
    I never tell my co-workers anything.

  19. photogfrog says:

    #3 – Why YES! It WAS! I was getting up one night to get a glass of water, I stubbed my toe and fell over onto my husband’s penis and WHAMMO! I’m now pregnant. I am not ENTIRELY sure how this works. Maybe you could tell me?
    Not one congrats. People are fucking cockholes.

  20. photogfrog says:

    #3 – Why YES! It WAS! I was getting up one night to get a glass of water, I stubbed my toe and fell over onto my husband’s penis and WHAMMO! I’m now pregnant. I am not ENTIRELY sure how this works. Maybe you could tell me?
    Not one congrats. People are fucking cockholes.

  21. lumpy_lia says:

    I can’t help but laugh. Holy god people are insane.

  22. lumpy_lia says:

    I can’t help but laugh. Holy god people are insane.

  23. melytha says:

    I’m only just about 2 months, but the comment we often get is “Already?” which we find kind of amusing. It’s not like we’re too young to have children or something, and also, we’re married!
    I don’t think I’d mind the first two questions, although to the second I’d reply “That’s not mine to decide”, but the third one is rather silly…my baby is definitely no accident 🙂

  24. melytha says:

    I’m only just about 2 months, but the comment we often get is “Already?” which we find kind of amusing. It’s not like we’re too young to have children or something, and also, we’re married!
    I don’t think I’d mind the first two questions, although to the second I’d reply “That’s not mine to decide”, but the third one is rather silly…my baby is definitely no accident 🙂


Leave a Reply

