Say cheese!

So it’s no secret that I’ve been longing for a new camera. I’ve had it since 2003 and digital technology has come a long way since then. Event he cheapest cameras available are better than the one I have now. I agreed with myself to wait until it was broken because I have no good reason to get a new one really.

Well it’s now moderately broken. There’s something wrong with the door to the battery compartment. The other day the batteries died and when I went to replace them, I couldn’t get it open. Brent finally did it and I have no idea how but what a pain! I can’t go on a Roman adventure and part way through have no photos because I can’t change the danged batteries!

I’m a fairly loyal consumer of Canon products. In my experience, they always give the best quality/price ratio. So I’ve come up with these two options. My major concerns were MP, Optical zoom, Weight and Battery type and cost.

This one, is the batter camera as far as specs go.

8.0MP
10x Optical Zoom
265g
2x ‘AA’
349.99

This one is pretty close to the specs of the first, costs less and is lighter.

8.0MP
6X Optical Zoom
200g
2x ‘AA’
249.99 (on sale for 229.99)

I’m going to check them out in-store and play around with them. I’d prefer not to have to buy a new memory card so I’ll see if either of them accept the one I have for my current camera. After I see them in Best Buy, I’ll see if I can get a better price at another store.

I’m open to other suggestions but I’m telling you, 350 is my absolute MAXIMUM price (Canadian)


On this day:

In 2007
– Boring crap
In 2006 – Wow, more boring crap!

48 Comments on “Say cheese!”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    My new camera is a Nikkon S700 and it is pretty cool so far; I’m not a huge fan of the way everything is so automated now, that even getting a damn point and shoot to focus on the center of what you’re pointing and shooting is nearly impossible. Stupid face recognition. Anyway, it does take really awesome photos with it’s 7.0 MP of goodness.
    I say all that not to sway you to buy Nikkon, but to check out the prices at Costco.com. We got this camera at Costco before Christmas for 279.99 USD and it came with 50 prints (printed at costco, of course!)!! I mean, that’s another 8.00 bucks off the price of the camera, really. Anyway, you don’t need a costco membership to shop online and they accept all major credit cards unlike the brick and mortar stores.
    You’ll be glad to have a new camera for Rome AND for baby!!

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    My new camera is a Nikkon S700 and it is pretty cool so far; I’m not a huge fan of the way everything is so automated now, that even getting a damn point and shoot to focus on the center of what you’re pointing and shooting is nearly impossible. Stupid face recognition. Anyway, it does take really awesome photos with it’s 7.0 MP of goodness.
    I say all that not to sway you to buy Nikkon, but to check out the prices at Costco.com. We got this camera at Costco before Christmas for 279.99 USD and it came with 50 prints (printed at costco, of course!)!! I mean, that’s another 8.00 bucks off the price of the camera, really. Anyway, you don’t need a costco membership to shop online and they accept all major credit cards unlike the brick and mortar stores.
    You’ll be glad to have a new camera for Rome AND for baby!!

  3. redaryl says:

    I could have written these last two posts myself. πŸ˜‰ Although I haven’t actually attempted to do anything artistic yet, but I’ve been meaning too.
    I’ve also been looking at the Canon Rebel XTi which has 10MP. I have the lenses already (from a Canon SLR I already own), so I’d only have to buy the body. But it’s still around $500. :/

    • tianadargent says:

      OMG I never thought that I could use the lens from my SLR on a digital!

      • rachaeldoss says:

        Yes ma’am – they know that people don’t want to have to buy new lenses for digital cameras, and so they’re making the new digital bodies to fit all the lenses you could normally do on your SLR. It’s the only way Ben and I have so many lenses for our Nikkon D200s – Ben had an N80 back in the day so he already had a ton of lenses.

      • rachaeldoss says:

        Yes ma’am – they know that people don’t want to have to buy new lenses for digital cameras, and so they’re making the new digital bodies to fit all the lenses you could normally do on your SLR. It’s the only way Ben and I have so many lenses for our Nikkon D200s – Ben had an N80 back in the day so he already had a ton of lenses.

      • redaryl says:

        Do you have a Canon already? Honestly that’s why I decided to buy a Canon DSLR instead of Nikon, I already had lenses. πŸ™‚

      • redaryl says:

        Do you have a Canon already? Honestly that’s why I decided to buy a Canon DSLR instead of Nikon, I already had lenses. πŸ™‚

    • tianadargent says:

      OMG I never thought that I could use the lens from my SLR on a digital!

    • I’ve got a Kodak Easyshare M753 which takes good photos, but I find myself lusting after the Nikon D40.
      That’s a nice camera but at $500, I can’t justify buying it when I know I’m not going to stay in the newspaper business.
      What kind of camera do you have now?

      • redaryl says:

        I have a crappy Sony(?) digital that is only 2MP but the SLR is a Canon Rebel G.
        I considered getting a smaller camera, but I’ve wanted a DSLR for a long time now and since I already have the lenses I’m really tempted to get it. I got some money for Christmas, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to afford it. πŸ™‚

      • redaryl says:

        I have a crappy Sony(?) digital that is only 2MP but the SLR is a Canon Rebel G.
        I considered getting a smaller camera, but I’ve wanted a DSLR for a long time now and since I already have the lenses I’m really tempted to get it. I got some money for Christmas, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to afford it. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve got a Kodak Easyshare M753 which takes good photos, but I find myself lusting after the Nikon D40.
      That’s a nice camera but at $500, I can’t justify buying it when I know I’m not going to stay in the newspaper business.
      What kind of camera do you have now?

  4. redaryl says:

    I could have written these last two posts myself. πŸ˜‰ Although I haven’t actually attempted to do anything artistic yet, but I’ve been meaning too.
    I’ve also been looking at the Canon Rebel XTi which has 10MP. I have the lenses already (from a Canon SLR I already own), so I’d only have to buy the body. But it’s still around $500. :/

  5. agrrlswrrld says:

    I’ve never had a cannon (except for my Cannon Rebel SLR – non-digital), which I love.
    As far as digital cameras, I have been a loyal sony user when it comes to cameras. I tend to stick to a camera that comes with a re-chargable battery because id is much cheaper because the battery life is so much better.
    I bought a sony cybershot last year that I completely LOVE it. (it’s this one: http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10085480&catid=10129) I paid $350 and I have used it every single day. At $179.00 I think it’s a steal.
    They have the same model in a higher resolution now, and I think it is still under $300.
    You can borrow it to try if you like.

  6. agrrlswrrld says:

    I’ve never had a cannon (except for my Cannon Rebel SLR – non-digital), which I love.
    As far as digital cameras, I have been a loyal sony user when it comes to cameras. I tend to stick to a camera that comes with a re-chargable battery because id is much cheaper because the battery life is so much better.
    I bought a sony cybershot last year that I completely LOVE it. (it’s this one: http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10085480&catid=10129) I paid $350 and I have used it every single day. At $179.00 I think it’s a steal.
    They have the same model in a higher resolution now, and I think it is still under $300.
    You can borrow it to try if you like.

  7. artistiqua says:

    I think the first one will be a bit more professional.
    This site gives you really helpful information and sample pictures of each camera:
    http://www.dpreview.com/

    • artistiqua says:

      But on the other hand it is probably best to get something portable and quickly set-up so you can take pictures on the go. You’ll be more likely to take pictures that way and if you see the ‘perfect shot’ chances are smaller that you’ll miss whereas with a big camera you’ll have to take it out of the bag, take off the lense protection cap, adjust the settings… It’s a pain. πŸ˜‰

    • artistiqua says:

      But on the other hand it is probably best to get something portable and quickly set-up so you can take pictures on the go. You’ll be more likely to take pictures that way and if you see the ‘perfect shot’ chances are smaller that you’ll miss whereas with a big camera you’ll have to take it out of the bag, take off the lense protection cap, adjust the settings… It’s a pain. πŸ˜‰

  8. artistiqua says:

    I think the first one will be a bit more professional.
    This site gives you really helpful information and sample pictures of each camera:
    http://www.dpreview.com/

  9. lyndszy says:

    I just got this camera for Christmas, and it is a great point and clicker. It only has a 4x zoom, but there are no AA batteries, and the pictures turn out awesome!
    When we went to scope out cameras, every place we went raved about how far Panasonic has come with their screens and colors.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830180128
    Thats in USD prices, but I’m sure you could find it for around the same price in CDN funds.

  10. lyndszy says:

    I just got this camera for Christmas, and it is a great point and clicker. It only has a 4x zoom, but there are no AA batteries, and the pictures turn out awesome!
    When we went to scope out cameras, every place we went raved about how far Panasonic has come with their screens and colors.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830180128
    Thats in USD prices, but I’m sure you could find it for around the same price in CDN funds.

  11. corto says:

    seriously?
    Ok… look, first of all… you have to consider what you’re using the camera for… second… are you a mac or a pc girl? Why? becu’z the darn camera mfg’s either spit out quick-time videos or avi videos… and the quick time videos are a pain in the ass in windowzzz. (MS Movie Maker does not seamlessly import them).
    Ok… so assume you’re a pc girl. Canon … EXCELLENT CHOICE. why? Canon has consistently paid attention to the investment folks make in the “how to operate their camera” zone. Unlike other mfgs who change up the “software” with every camera revision.
    DEFINATELY GO TO COST-CO or to Future Shop and … (no fooling now) … just buy a couple of cameras. USE THEM FOR A WEEK. and then let the experience you have assist your decision making process. Return ’em both or return one and keep the other. I do this and I’ve never regretted it… and I’ve never been hassled by the store for doing it. Cost-co and FS both have great “no hassle return policies” so … capitalize on that.
    I got all excited about the Lumix from Panisonic… BIG beautiful screen on the back… but it spat our quick-times and … the NO FLASH indoor high-asa shots… still sucked. I think of the “indoor, no flash” pictures as the best test of the cameras ccd (thing that collects the light and turns it into a digital file).
    Last… I said the “seriously” part because both of the cameras you linked are HUGE compared to the slim gorgous cameras out there. Small is totally worth it for convenience of use.
    Canon and Nikon make excellent ccds, use good lenses and have good software. Nikon is a little “cooler” while canon is a little “better”.
    (my 2 cents)

    • tianadargent says:

      too late! I already picked the black one and we are totally hangin’
      Since my previous camera was a dinsaur (by digi cam standards) it’s actually pretty much the same size. It was on sale at Future Shop. I love using Canon, the user interface is intuitive and every camera is very similar.
      I’m not huge into the movie files so that was not in my decision making but I use PCs so it looks like things worked out.

    • tianadargent says:

      too late! I already picked the black one and we are totally hangin’
      Since my previous camera was a dinsaur (by digi cam standards) it’s actually pretty much the same size. It was on sale at Future Shop. I love using Canon, the user interface is intuitive and every camera is very similar.
      I’m not huge into the movie files so that was not in my decision making but I use PCs so it looks like things worked out.

  12. corto says:

    seriously?
    Ok… look, first of all… you have to consider what you’re using the camera for… second… are you a mac or a pc girl? Why? becu’z the darn camera mfg’s either spit out quick-time videos or avi videos… and the quick time videos are a pain in the ass in windowzzz. (MS Movie Maker does not seamlessly import them).
    Ok… so assume you’re a pc girl. Canon … EXCELLENT CHOICE. why? Canon has consistently paid attention to the investment folks make in the “how to operate their camera” zone. Unlike other mfgs who change up the “software” with every camera revision.
    DEFINATELY GO TO COST-CO or to Future Shop and … (no fooling now) … just buy a couple of cameras. USE THEM FOR A WEEK. and then let the experience you have assist your decision making process. Return ’em both or return one and keep the other. I do this and I’ve never regretted it… and I’ve never been hassled by the store for doing it. Cost-co and FS both have great “no hassle return policies” so … capitalize on that.
    I got all excited about the Lumix from Panisonic… BIG beautiful screen on the back… but it spat our quick-times and … the NO FLASH indoor high-asa shots… still sucked. I think of the “indoor, no flash” pictures as the best test of the cameras ccd (thing that collects the light and turns it into a digital file).
    Last… I said the “seriously” part because both of the cameras you linked are HUGE compared to the slim gorgous cameras out there. Small is totally worth it for convenience of use.
    Canon and Nikon make excellent ccds, use good lenses and have good software. Nikon is a little “cooler” while canon is a little “better”.
    (my 2 cents)

  13. photogfrog says:

    If it were me, I’d go for the Canon PowerShot A720 IS 8.0MP Digital Camera. It’s lighter, more portable and easy to use. Plus, you can save the extra money for the Canon DSLR body in the future. My friend has the PSA Series and she takes AMAZING pics. It offers all the same manual functions as the DSLRS for practice with the M, AV and TV functions.
    If you can borrow them from a shop, take them out and play with them.
    If you want a TRUE pocket camera that takes good pics, try the Canon PowerShotSD series.
    http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926INGFS10089179&catid=20220
    Can’t go wrong with Canon. I am brand loyal to little but I will never stop buying Canon.

  14. photogfrog says:

    If it were me, I’d go for the Canon PowerShot A720 IS 8.0MP Digital Camera. It’s lighter, more portable and easy to use. Plus, you can save the extra money for the Canon DSLR body in the future. My friend has the PSA Series and she takes AMAZING pics. It offers all the same manual functions as the DSLRS for practice with the M, AV and TV functions.
    If you can borrow them from a shop, take them out and play with them.
    If you want a TRUE pocket camera that takes good pics, try the Canon PowerShotSD series.
    http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926INGFS10089179&catid=20220
    Can’t go wrong with Canon. I am brand loyal to little but I will never stop buying Canon.


Leave a Reply

