My first adventure in a maternity store.

This Christmas, Brent got me a couple of really nice maternity shirts. They have short sleeves and are not very ruffly. Not my typical style but close enough that I think they will look good on me and I won’t look like I’ve mutated my fashion sense due to pregnancy. Brent told me they had a store in St-Laurent and I was excited.

A few days later I happened to be in that mall so I went into the store. My impressions are as follows;

  • They need a new merchandiser. There were portable racks between all their regular racks. All the racks were overstuffed. It was hard to really see anything nice because everything was so squished together. It made the store feel unwelcoming and it highlighted no products at all.
  • All the women here are either pregnant or have beer bellies. Do they get fired once they give birth? Maybe they wear fake bellies?
  • RUFFLES EVERYWHERE! It looks like I’ll have to get over my aversion to ruffles. It’s just that, I’ve spent my whole life disliking ruffles on me. They do not go with my style or body type at all and now it seems like it’s the only option I have! I’m hoping I can hold out until I go to Rome and maybe find something less matronly.

So I’m thinking maybe after the ‘holidays’ the store will clean up a bit. I really hope so because for those prices, it shouldn’t look like a bargain basement.


On this day:

in 2007 – What wrong with liking the name Boris?
in 2006 – Diva Car

14 Comments on “My first adventure in a maternity store.”

  1. damedini says:

    No you don’t have to wear ruffles! Yoga pants will do you very nicely throughout, I’d imagine. Or knit pants from Cotton Ginny. You’ll want to be able to either put the waist below or above your belly and it’ll need to stretch. For tops, reagular, longer tops in a slightly larger size will take you most of the way through. Think the kimono style tops and trapeze tops that are popular/were last year.
    My om gleefully took me maternity clothing shopping when I was about 4 mos. She insisted I needed a pair of jeans with a stretch panel. I have never worn less comfortable clothing! The place where the stretch joined the denim cut into my lower belly and hurt.
    Were I pregnant again I’d live in knit and yoga wear.

  2. damedini says:

    No you don’t have to wear ruffles! Yoga pants will do you very nicely throughout, I’d imagine. Or knit pants from Cotton Ginny. You’ll want to be able to either put the waist below or above your belly and it’ll need to stretch. For tops, reagular, longer tops in a slightly larger size will take you most of the way through. Think the kimono style tops and trapeze tops that are popular/were last year.
    My om gleefully took me maternity clothing shopping when I was about 4 mos. She insisted I needed a pair of jeans with a stretch panel. I have never worn less comfortable clothing! The place where the stretch joined the denim cut into my lower belly and hurt.
    Were I pregnant again I’d live in knit and yoga wear.

  3. rachaeldoss says:

    I’d see about trying some things on for a size comparison and then looking at online maternity retailers. Old Navy generally has some really awesome maternity stuff (as it is generally their regular clothes just maternized) and Ann Taylor Loft also does a Maternity line…I think Gap, too.
    Most of the stuff I’ve seen there (not that I look very hard, mind you) is pretty awesome. OH – And Liz Lange for Target maternity wear is gorgeous. Ben keeps trying to buy me the dresses because he thinks they are cute, and I keep saying, “Honey, those are for pregnant women. Please stop prematurely dressing me in maternity clothes.” 🙂

    • Polka Dots are my ‘ruffles’.
      I have a few *tiny* polka dot printed items, but in general… I choose not to wear giant dots all over my body. I’m noticing LOTS of polka dots in the maternity sections as well. I don’t kno what an extended tummy has to do with dressing like a clown, but apparently that’s the trend with some maternity lines. I agree with Rach… in the future, I’ll definitely rely on Ann Taylor Loft and Gap for my big belly needs.

    • Polka Dots are my ‘ruffles’.
      I have a few *tiny* polka dot printed items, but in general… I choose not to wear giant dots all over my body. I’m noticing LOTS of polka dots in the maternity sections as well. I don’t kno what an extended tummy has to do with dressing like a clown, but apparently that’s the trend with some maternity lines. I agree with Rach… in the future, I’ll definitely rely on Ann Taylor Loft and Gap for my big belly needs.

  4. rachaeldoss says:

    I’d see about trying some things on for a size comparison and then looking at online maternity retailers. Old Navy generally has some really awesome maternity stuff (as it is generally their regular clothes just maternized) and Ann Taylor Loft also does a Maternity line…I think Gap, too.
    Most of the stuff I’ve seen there (not that I look very hard, mind you) is pretty awesome. OH – And Liz Lange for Target maternity wear is gorgeous. Ben keeps trying to buy me the dresses because he thinks they are cute, and I keep saying, “Honey, those are for pregnant women. Please stop prematurely dressing me in maternity clothes.” 🙂

  5. liss76 says:

    I hated maternity pants. I never did find a pair that fit me comfortably. I wore yoga pants the first time around and the second time around I added a pair of extra low-rise stretchy Old Navy non-maternity denims to the mix. They were especially great after the baby arrived when my normal non-pg stuff didn’t yet fit.
    Old Navy has maternity now, though, and a lot of it looks pretty sensible. I pretty much got through the whole pregnancy with those pants and a bunch of plain maternity t-shirts and tank tops. With my second I was due at the end of November, so I also bought a zip-up hoody cardigan to wear in lieu of a jacket at 9mos pg. Let me tell you that even with only that and a tank top I was far too warm at the end of November! Whew!

  6. liss76 says:

    I hated maternity pants. I never did find a pair that fit me comfortably. I wore yoga pants the first time around and the second time around I added a pair of extra low-rise stretchy Old Navy non-maternity denims to the mix. They were especially great after the baby arrived when my normal non-pg stuff didn’t yet fit.
    Old Navy has maternity now, though, and a lot of it looks pretty sensible. I pretty much got through the whole pregnancy with those pants and a bunch of plain maternity t-shirts and tank tops. With my second I was due at the end of November, so I also bought a zip-up hoody cardigan to wear in lieu of a jacket at 9mos pg. Let me tell you that even with only that and a tank top I was far too warm at the end of November! Whew!

  7. photogfrog says:

    Have you thought about looking in plus sized shops, rather than maternity shops? Lots of tops this year have this horrible style that band right under the bustline in an A-line cut, making just normal fat girls look pregnant. It sucks for us, but it might help you…and plus sized stuff tends to be UN-ruffly.

  8. photogfrog says:

    Have you thought about looking in plus sized shops, rather than maternity shops? Lots of tops this year have this horrible style that band right under the bustline in an A-line cut, making just normal fat girls look pregnant. It sucks for us, but it might help you…and plus sized stuff tends to be UN-ruffly.

  9. Anonymous says:

    you should try…
    … a store named Milkface. It’s in Westboro, on Danforth near the MEC. It’s mostly about babywearing (it’s very good for that kind of stuff), but they do have some cute clothes there too.

  10. Anonymous says:

    you should try…
    … a store named Milkface. It’s in Westboro, on Danforth near the MEC. It’s mostly about babywearing (it’s very good for that kind of stuff), but they do have some cute clothes there too.


Leave a Reply

