Trying to keep the cat in the bag…

Today is the office’s annual holiday pot luck at which I notoriously get drunk. Obviously I won’t be drinking this year and people are definitely going to notice…none of them know I’m pregnant yet and I’m trying to keep it that way at least for a little while so maybe I’ll just play the “I’m not feeling so well today” card to throw off suspicions.


On this day:

In 2006 – who decides that Monday is a better day for a party?
In 2005 WOW – This day actually has a few classic entries in it! The butter chicken ham, the roots of the legend of “Tiana – Office Drunk” and the one about my mom’s dead cat that is probably still in her garage.

16 Comments on “Trying to keep the cat in the bag…”

  1. trinity3x says:

    As an ex-bartender, here’s a trick I used for my clients who wanted to keep their status discreet: club soda on the rocks with a twist of lime.
    Looks like a gin and tonic, but without the baby altering chemicals!

  2. trinity3x says:

    As an ex-bartender, here’s a trick I used for my clients who wanted to keep their status discreet: club soda on the rocks with a twist of lime.
    Looks like a gin and tonic, but without the baby altering chemicals!

  3. We had two Christmas parties last week and people where wondering why I wasn’t knee deep in the eggnog bowl like usual. I told them I was still kind of hungover from the previous night’s festivities.
    Everyone smiled and seemed very content with that excuse.

  4. We had two Christmas parties last week and people where wondering why I wasn’t knee deep in the eggnog bowl like usual. I told them I was still kind of hungover from the previous night’s festivities.
    Everyone smiled and seemed very content with that excuse.

  5. artistiqua says:

    Yeah, say you’re on antibiotics or something! ^_^

  6. artistiqua says:

    Yeah, say you’re on antibiotics or something! ^_^

  7. rachaeldoss says:

    That’ll be a problem for me, too. Even now when I don’t drink people are always, “OOO, ARE YOU PREGNANT!?”
    I’m going to have figure something out for when I need to keep that to ourselves for awhile…my friends were geniuses; they would prepare empty beer bottles before we would get to their houses and drink them with just water in them.
    I don’t drink beer, so that won’t work for me. 😦
    I second carrying the glass around…and go back to the bar a lot and when you actually get thirsty you can get a water and be all, “Don’t want to end up like last year, you know!”

  8. rachaeldoss says:

    That’ll be a problem for me, too. Even now when I don’t drink people are always, “OOO, ARE YOU PREGNANT!?”
    I’m going to have figure something out for when I need to keep that to ourselves for awhile…my friends were geniuses; they would prepare empty beer bottles before we would get to their houses and drink them with just water in them.
    I don’t drink beer, so that won’t work for me. 😦
    I second carrying the glass around…and go back to the bar a lot and when you actually get thirsty you can get a water and be all, “Don’t want to end up like last year, you know!”

  9. gringogidget says:

    I think if you lie, you’re setting yourself up for later. People will call you on it.
    You don’t have to explain yourself to people, it’s none of their business if you drink or not 😉

  10. gringogidget says:

    I think if you lie, you’re setting yourself up for later. People will call you on it.
    You don’t have to explain yourself to people, it’s none of their business if you drink or not 😉


Leave a Reply

