I sure love a good rant.

This one is courtesy of No Cookies for Me.

It’s pretty much about how the War on Christmas is a made-up pile of bullshit. I tend to agree. An excerpt:

If you’re going to write a song about a made up movement to abolish Christmas, let’s get a few facts straight first, okay? Because, as it stands, you, and whatever comedian it is that you’ve got soundbites of, sound like a bunch of morons. Let’s start with, as noted above, NOBODY IS TAKING CHRISTMAS AWAY FROM YOU.

Read the rest here and let me know what you think!

I also like the point he brings up about how these “Christmas Activists” are all “Christmas is so SACRED and about JESUS” BUT is it really? Christmas just seems like a big marketing scheme if you ask me, and I was raised Catholic!


On this day:

In 2006 – My post about perfect boots! I TOLD YOU THEY STOLE MY IDEA! Except all the ones I’ve seen don’t have a REMOVABLE lining.
In 2005 – Brent takes off.

18 Comments on “I sure love a good rant.”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    My honest belief is:
    Christmas is no longer a Christian holiday.
    Nowhere in the bible was there a Santa Claus or a Christmas Tree. So why are these things so tied to Christianity? I think Christmas is the people’s winter festival, a way to unwind after a long year of hard work. A time to think of the people they love by gathering together to eat and socialize and offer them gifts.
    I wish – because the name IS Christian – that we could rename Christmas. I mean, I know that’ll never happen, but I don’t see why it couldn’t be a holiday like Thanksgiving, where you are free to celebrate regardless of religious affiliation. Most people do already! Then Christianity can have Christmas back to celebrate like the Jews do Hannukah. They (myself included) can practice Advent celebrations and get together with family and if they also celebrate the Winter Holiday they can do gifts and have a tree, but maybe they take a different view of “bringing gifts” as the wisemen did – They could donate gifts of “gold” money to charities, etc.
    I didn’t read this article yet, but I will, I just wanted to go ahead and give you my point of view first. πŸ™‚

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    My honest belief is:
    Christmas is no longer a Christian holiday.
    Nowhere in the bible was there a Santa Claus or a Christmas Tree. So why are these things so tied to Christianity? I think Christmas is the people’s winter festival, a way to unwind after a long year of hard work. A time to think of the people they love by gathering together to eat and socialize and offer them gifts.
    I wish – because the name IS Christian – that we could rename Christmas. I mean, I know that’ll never happen, but I don’t see why it couldn’t be a holiday like Thanksgiving, where you are free to celebrate regardless of religious affiliation. Most people do already! Then Christianity can have Christmas back to celebrate like the Jews do Hannukah. They (myself included) can practice Advent celebrations and get together with family and if they also celebrate the Winter Holiday they can do gifts and have a tree, but maybe they take a different view of “bringing gifts” as the wisemen did – They could donate gifts of “gold” money to charities, etc.
    I didn’t read this article yet, but I will, I just wanted to go ahead and give you my point of view first. πŸ™‚

  3. damedini says:

    I do not identify as christian.
    Christmas is what you make of it, no more, no less. How I celebrate it should not impact how Joe Fundy celebrates in any way, unless there’s a direct interaction. If it’s a deeply religious thing for him, fine. I don’t care. If it’s not for me, that’s none of his business. He is not compelled to wander the malls at this time of year and no-one is forcing anything on him.
    IMO, these protesters are trying to force /their/ religion onto others: nyah. if it can’t be christmas by MY definition, you can’t play.

  4. damedini says:

    I do not identify as christian.
    Christmas is what you make of it, no more, no less. How I celebrate it should not impact how Joe Fundy celebrates in any way, unless there’s a direct interaction. If it’s a deeply religious thing for him, fine. I don’t care. If it’s not for me, that’s none of his business. He is not compelled to wander the malls at this time of year and no-one is forcing anything on him.
    IMO, these protesters are trying to force /their/ religion onto others: nyah. if it can’t be christmas by MY definition, you can’t play.

  5. jakothewoods says:

    *chuckles* You mean Yule? πŸ˜‰
    Honestly, if we look at it objectively, Christmas never was a Christian holiday. Until it was appropriated, along with Halloween and Easter, in an attempt to “ease” Pagans into the Christian religion by either making compromises concerning dates, or by saying “Look, we have the same holidays, they’ve just got different names!” If one studies deep enough and long enough, You’ll find that historically Christ, or whatever his name was back then, was born around the same time he died – in the spring. The whole December 25th thing was taken from Mithraism, and the birth of Mithras in it. Making Christmas nominally coincide with the winter solstice was just another concession the Christian religion made to the Pagans.
    So the whole “HA-ppy BIR-thday JAY-sus!” thing always kind of makes me laugh.

    • jakothewoods says:

      Hahaha
      …and if I’d read all the way through the original post that you linked, before posting myself, I’d have seen that he says essentialy the same thing in there. The date is older than the holiday. :p
      Silly religious nuts…

    • jakothewoods says:

      Hahaha
      …and if I’d read all the way through the original post that you linked, before posting myself, I’d have seen that he says essentialy the same thing in there. The date is older than the holiday. :p
      Silly religious nuts…

  6. jakothewoods says:

    *chuckles* You mean Yule? πŸ˜‰
    Honestly, if we look at it objectively, Christmas never was a Christian holiday. Until it was appropriated, along with Halloween and Easter, in an attempt to “ease” Pagans into the Christian religion by either making compromises concerning dates, or by saying “Look, we have the same holidays, they’ve just got different names!” If one studies deep enough and long enough, You’ll find that historically Christ, or whatever his name was back then, was born around the same time he died – in the spring. The whole December 25th thing was taken from Mithraism, and the birth of Mithras in it. Making Christmas nominally coincide with the winter solstice was just another concession the Christian religion made to the Pagans.
    So the whole “HA-ppy BIR-thday JAY-sus!” thing always kind of makes me laugh.

  7. gusgreeper says:

    crap i just closed the blog you sent me and forgot to put it on my feeeeeeeed. must re open.
    i heard the other day that santas are getting fired if they say HO HO HO. apparently that is banned now. no more HO HO HO. makes me want to run through stores yelling it in nothing but black boots and maybe some bells, garland if they are lucky..

  8. gusgreeper says:

    crap i just closed the blog you sent me and forgot to put it on my feeeeeeeed. must re open.
    i heard the other day that santas are getting fired if they say HO HO HO. apparently that is banned now. no more HO HO HO. makes me want to run through stores yelling it in nothing but black boots and maybe some bells, garland if they are lucky..

  9. gusgreeper says:

    HA sweet, that is funny.

  10. gusgreeper says:

    HA sweet, that is funny.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Thanks!
    I appreciate the shout-out.
    And, yeah, Christmas is totally a giant marketing scheme in a lot of ways, now. The decorations that come out before we’ve even hit Halloween, and the radio stations that play nothing but Christmas music, and the bell ringers, and on and on and on. So much of it is designed around conspicuous consumption- it’s about spending money and showing how much you care by how many gifts you give or how many lights you hang up.
    And I *like* Christmas.
    But, yeah. I’ve reached my limit with the “Christmas is under attack!” people. If it’s under attack, it’s because of people who celebrate it, not people who don’t.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Thanks!
    I appreciate the shout-out.
    And, yeah, Christmas is totally a giant marketing scheme in a lot of ways, now. The decorations that come out before we’ve even hit Halloween, and the radio stations that play nothing but Christmas music, and the bell ringers, and on and on and on. So much of it is designed around conspicuous consumption- it’s about spending money and showing how much you care by how many gifts you give or how many lights you hang up.
    And I *like* Christmas.
    But, yeah. I’ve reached my limit with the “Christmas is under attack!” people. If it’s under attack, it’s because of people who celebrate it, not people who don’t.


Leave a Reply

