Someone needs to make these for me.

Pistachio Macaroons

(From Nigella Lawson, “How to Be a Domestic Goddess: Baking and the Art of Comfort Cooking,” Hyperion, 2001.) 

For the macaroons: 

5/8 cup or 3 ounces pistachios

3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

2 large egg whites

1 tablespoon sugar

For the buttercream: 

1/4 cup or 2 ounces pistachios

1 2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment or wax paper.

Make the macaroons: 

Grind the pistachios in a food processor with confectioners’ sugar until as fine as dust. Whisk the egg whites until fairly stiff, but not dry. Sprinkle with sugar and whisk until very stiff. Fold the whites into the pistachio-sugar dust and combine gently. Pipe small rounds (2 to 3 inches in diameter) onto your baking sheet using a plain 1/2-inch nozzle. Let them sit for about 10 minutes to form a skin. Then put them in the oven and cook for 10-12 minutes. They should be set, but not dried out. Remove from oven and let cool on the baking sheet.

Make the buttercream: 

Grind the nuts and the sugar in the processor as before. Cream the butter, and continue creaming as you add the nut dust. Make sure you combine them well. Sandwich the macaroons together with the buttercream.

Makes about 20 cookies.


My sister…

  • and her friend pinned me down and tickled me until I peed in my pants
  • taught me that just because I ran my hair under the water, it didn’t mean the conditioner was out
  • was in the bathroom with me one time (probably brushing her teeth) and kept telling me that I didn’t wipe properly and to do it again. By the time I flushed there was so many wads of paper in there that it clogged the toilet and overflowed.
  • ‘kidnapped’ me from my babysitter’s and took me to the zoo

My sister…good or evil?


On this day:

In 2006 – contractual garbage
in 2005 – a mafiosa of crows