I brought a burrito for lunch

I got viciously attacked by a yo-yo.  My knee is red now.

What’s new?

Today I’m going to meet up with Jay to finish off my tomato leg.  I am anticipating the pain equivalent of the heat of a thousand suns so I brought snacks and a magazine to distract me and a few painkillers to make a lovely cocktail.

Also on the new front Brent and I are considering moving.  A house has just been listed in our dream neighbourhood.  It costs a bit more than our current house cost us but a few factors make us think we can afford it.

  1. We bought our house low so we can probably make a bit of profit off the sale
  2. Brent has had quite a substantial raise since we bought our house
  3. We were originally approved for a mortgage that was the cost of this house
  4. We wouldn’t need to get new furniture as we did with this house

Here it is if you want to see it.  We’d probably be living pretty lean until our next raises though.  It’s the exact same model as some friends of ours and I fell in love with their place the moment I walked in.  I think it’s actually on the same street.  It looks smaller than out house from the front but the usable square footage is actually higher, the lot is bigger and the yards are flat which means they are easier to mow and garden on.

I’m very excited about this prospect.  We’re going to drive by it today and if the location is where we think it is, call our real estate agent.

On this day:

In 2006 – My useless psychic abilities
In 2005 – Apparently, hockey made me mad.

30 Comments on “I brought a burrito for lunch”

  1. photogfrog says:

    Nice house. I like it. Given the property market, I’d say do it now…before prices get more insane.

  2. photogfrog says:

    Nice house. I like it. Given the property market, I’d say do it now…before prices get more insane.

  3. redaryl says:

    The outside is super cute, 50ish style.
    I can’t wait to see what you do to the inside if you get it.

  4. redaryl says:

    The outside is super cute, 50ish style.
    I can’t wait to see what you do to the inside if you get it.

  5. damedini says:

    OMG wow! Pounce on it. It’s gorgeous and think of all you could do with it, decor wise. And it’s huge!

    • tianadargent says:

      I know right! This positive feedback makes me feel so much more confident in this idea. I LOVE how there’s a WOOD BURNING FIREPLACE. They don’t show it from the inside here but from the outside it’s the bricked part between the two gigantic windows and it sits between the living and dining rooms.

      • damedini says:

        *wince* Sorry, they say it’s gas burning :
        “STONE FLOOR-TO-CEILING (GAS) FIREPLACE”
        But I understand they’re easy enough to convert. And gas beats no fireplace, IMO.
        In Toronto you’d be paying almost a mil for that. The list price gets you a ratty little house on a ratty little lot and a lot of work.

      • damedini says:

        *wince* Sorry, they say it’s gas burning :
        “STONE FLOOR-TO-CEILING (GAS) FIREPLACE”
        But I understand they’re easy enough to convert. And gas beats no fireplace, IMO.
        In Toronto you’d be paying almost a mil for that. The list price gets you a ratty little house on a ratty little lot and a lot of work.

    • tianadargent says:

      I know right! This positive feedback makes me feel so much more confident in this idea. I LOVE how there’s a WOOD BURNING FIREPLACE. They don’t show it from the inside here but from the outside it’s the bricked part between the two gigantic windows and it sits between the living and dining rooms.

  6. damedini says:

    OMG wow! Pounce on it. It’s gorgeous and think of all you could do with it, decor wise. And it’s huge!

  7. lola_70 says:

    How exciting!
    Hope it is the place you like.

  8. lola_70 says:

    How exciting!
    Hope it is the place you like.

  9. The house is very, very nice. The fireplace does look very cute, I could see it in the corner of one of the pictures.
    BUT, since when is way out there YOUR ideal location? I thought you loathed Kanata?

    • tianadargent says:

      It’s actually not that far West, it’s maybe 5 minutes from Bayshore. It’s weird because we spend a lot of time and money driving out to the west end and we hardly see the people we know in the east. Also, I didn’t know this neighbourhood existed, I thought Kanata was all new mega-houses with garages for front elevations.

    • tianadargent says:

      It’s actually not that far West, it’s maybe 5 minutes from Bayshore. It’s weird because we spend a lot of time and money driving out to the west end and we hardly see the people we know in the east. Also, I didn’t know this neighbourhood existed, I thought Kanata was all new mega-houses with garages for front elevations.

  10. The house is very, very nice. The fireplace does look very cute, I could see it in the corner of one of the pictures.
    BUT, since when is way out there YOUR ideal location? I thought you loathed Kanata?

  11. rachaeldoss says:

    The landscaping is really gorgeous AND it looks HUGE inside! Plus, you have space for TWO microwaves! No more waiting until one bag of popcorn is finished to start another. LOL
    It’s very cute! We’re still a few years away yet from being able to make a move. But I put down roots faster than a weed, so I’m comfortable with that. 😀

  12. rachaeldoss says:

    The landscaping is really gorgeous AND it looks HUGE inside! Plus, you have space for TWO microwaves! No more waiting until one bag of popcorn is finished to start another. LOL
    It’s very cute! We’re still a few years away yet from being able to make a move. But I put down roots faster than a weed, so I’m comfortable with that. 😀

  13. agrrlswrrld says:

    it looks great, and that is a really nice location. Go for it!

  14. agrrlswrrld says:

    it looks great, and that is a really nice location. Go for it!

  15. jakothewoods says:

    I don’t see a listing for square footage – do you happen to know it offhand?
    The kitchen counterspace looks a little close (hard to judge from the picture) but those wood floors are BEAUTIFUL. You thinking area rugs?
    The lot looks nice and kempt, too. 🙂 Trees are a total bonus.
    Looks like a nice place.

    • tianadargent says:

      I don’t know it off hand but a real estate agent (not ours) gave us a fact sheet yesterday. It’s just not handy right now.
      The kitchen is the same as at our friends house so it’s basically back to back counters with 5″ between them. Counter space is a little less than our current house but the functionality is better as we just have one long counter.
      I would really like area rugs but in my experience, dog+area rugs= pee traps. It depends. I haven’t trusted them with area rugs yet so we’ll see. I wonder if I could spray them down with a dog repellent…

    • tianadargent says:

      I don’t know it off hand but a real estate agent (not ours) gave us a fact sheet yesterday. It’s just not handy right now.
      The kitchen is the same as at our friends house so it’s basically back to back counters with 5″ between them. Counter space is a little less than our current house but the functionality is better as we just have one long counter.
      I would really like area rugs but in my experience, dog+area rugs= pee traps. It depends. I haven’t trusted them with area rugs yet so we’ll see. I wonder if I could spray them down with a dog repellent…

  16. jakothewoods says:

    I don’t see a listing for square footage – do you happen to know it offhand?
    The kitchen counterspace looks a little close (hard to judge from the picture) but those wood floors are BEAUTIFUL. You thinking area rugs?
    The lot looks nice and kempt, too. 🙂 Trees are a total bonus.
    Looks like a nice place.

  17. lumpy_lia says:

    i’m in san fran for a bluegrass festival and today I saw Guy Clark play (i love guy clark). He sang one of his best songs ever and i thought of you the whole time. It’s called “home grown tomatoes” – you should totally download it. I can’t believe I didn’t tell you about it before!

  18. lumpy_lia says:

    i’m in san fran for a bluegrass festival and today I saw Guy Clark play (i love guy clark). He sang one of his best songs ever and i thought of you the whole time. It’s called “home grown tomatoes” – you should totally download it. I can’t believe I didn’t tell you about it before!


Leave a Reply

