What I did on Wednesday

We just got back home and I feel like we’ve been in the car forever even though really, we haven’t. Our drive to and from Halifax was obviously much longer.

It all started yesterday at 3:45 am when the alarm went off. We got our shit together and got in the car. We couldn’t even start off with our traditional road-trip breakfast of McDonald’s since none were open and by the time they would have been open we were in the middle of Algonquin Provincial Park, where there are decidedly no fast-food restaurants.

Me Driving
I drove through the park because I was better rested than Brent and he napped. After that I was too busy eating ham-less Egg McMuffins to be able to effectively steer so Brent took over.

Our first official stop was in Parry Sound. While Brent worked I walked down to the waterfront to check things out.

Parry Sound Bridge

Parry Sound Waterfront

It was pretty decent but there wasn’t much to do there so I headed into a store called Whole Foods (not the same one as in the USA) and picked up biodegradable dishwasher fluid (since we needed some) and a box of almond milk. I’ve wanted to try almond milk for quite some time but can’t find it in Ottawa. For some reason this small town had it in 3 flavours! After that I hung out in a bakery/ coffee shop reading Fargo Rock City until Brent was done. The Cafe Mocha was weak.

The next stop was my cottage. I had arranged for the tenant to be there to let me in since I don’t have a key (weird I know, I’ll have to get him to make me a copy) but since we were earlier than I said we would be, he wasn’t there so we just went around the outside.

The view from the bottom of the private drive.

Cottage - From the drive

The view from the dock. The tenant built the slide

Cottage - From the dock-2

If you look to the right, that little bit of land sticking out into the water from the same side of the cottage is where the fire pit area is.

Cottage - From the dock

The bog on the way to the fire pit.

Cottage - The Bog

Part the path to the fire pit

Cottage - Path to the fire pit

The fire pit! All the land to the left is also mine but we didn’t walk around that way because there were no clear paths

Cottage - The Peninsula

This is one of 2 sheds. I don’t know what’s in either of them. This one is right next to the cottage

Cottage - The Shed

This is the view from the top of the property up on some big rocks. My dad had blueprints to have a cottage built up here with 2 levels ans an awesome view. This shows the second shed.

Cottage - View from the big rocks

Then we were off to out next destination. But not before receiving this cautionary tale:

speed kills

And seeing a bunch of these:

cairns

We arrived in Midland, which is apparently a town made of murals. I only took a photo of one though.

Midland Mural

They also have a silver goose.

Silver Goose

I walked around and went in every restaurant trying to find a good lunch. It took forever but I found a decent veggy quesedilla.

After that we went to Barrie (boring no photos) and then to my sister-in-law’s for the night. She took some funny photos but I have yet to see that.

That concludes day 1 and this post.


On this day:

In 2006 – A ghost story and some art.
In 2005 – What would heaven be like? and random drooling

12 Comments on “What I did on Wednesday”

  1. you’re driving!!!!!!!!:D
    something i probably won’t be doing for another 5 years, realistically speaking. 😦

  2. you’re driving!!!!!!!!:D
    something i probably won’t be doing for another 5 years, realistically speaking. 😦

  3. utsi says:

    nice space and awesome country. have fun in the rest of your travels.

  4. utsi says:

    nice space and awesome country. have fun in the rest of your travels.

  5. clivec says:

    The woodland scenes are wonderful. It is such a place i would like to stay on a vacation.

  6. clivec says:

    The woodland scenes are wonderful. It is such a place i would like to stay on a vacation.

  7. WOW! The cottage is crazy nice. I guess I just assumed all the value was in the land, but the building is absolutely adorable! I would be extremely tempted to keep it as a family cottage. The value of the land is only going to increase. Maybe even get extended family to share any extra cost in exchange for a few weekends there themselves.

    • tianadargent says:

      Yeah we’ll see. It’s a hell of a long drive so it doesn’t totally feel worth it to just go for a weekend at a time but if we do some sharing throughout the year then it could work.
      That’s still 7 years away so we’ll see what everyone’s situation is at the time.

    • tianadargent says:

      Yeah we’ll see. It’s a hell of a long drive so it doesn’t totally feel worth it to just go for a weekend at a time but if we do some sharing throughout the year then it could work.
      That’s still 7 years away so we’ll see what everyone’s situation is at the time.

  8. WOW! The cottage is crazy nice. I guess I just assumed all the value was in the land, but the building is absolutely adorable! I would be extremely tempted to keep it as a family cottage. The value of the land is only going to increase. Maybe even get extended family to share any extra cost in exchange for a few weekends there themselves.


Leave a Reply

