My laptop makes me too hot.

Had a pretty decent weekend. On Saturday I hung out with y sister in law at the Ladyfest “Not Your Grandmther’s Craft Sale”. There was some decent stuff but I didn’t end up getting anything other than a pin. Then we went out for lunch and ice cream.

Let me just say that I drove us all over the place including in and out of downtown on the highway. I am superwoman. Driving is awesome and I’m still shocked we let knuckle-headed teenagers have this freedom/horrifying power to kill with a hunk of car.

Today a few notable things happened and I will order them chronologically;

    1. We bought a BBQ with a side-burner and rotisserie (which will be AWESOME for roaster peppers yes?)

 

  • There was a guy walking the corners of a busy intersection by our house in Sens clothes with his face painted and a HUGE Senators flag. He was getting everyone to honk and cheer. The best part? There was a game last night, and there will be one tomorrow, but there is none today! He is devoted!
  • I went out front to water the nicotiana and poppies I planted around our oh-so-glamorous electrical box. I was wearing jeans and a tank top when I hear;

 

“I LOVE your hair colour…..” (no response for me other than a “who the hell is talking to me” look) “Is it natural?”

‘It used to be.’

I said this all while going about my business and not even looking at this guy. I think he was visiting the people across the street as he was in their driveway and I’ve never seen him before.

“So do you live here with your parents?”

‘No. This is MY house and I live here with my husband’

“Oh. You look young.”

‘Ok’

“You’re welcome”

Anyways this guy annoyed me. What part of me watering my garden makes him think I want to talk with him? I regularly talk with my neighbours but only with the ones who aren’t ass-hats.

This is the way a normal conversation would go.

  1. You actually make eye contact with the person before you start talking at them
  2. You say something like “Hello welcome to the neighbourhood!” “I’m visiting friends but they are busy and I’m bored, what’s up with this neighbourhood?” instead of some tired pseudo-compliment
  3. You don’t ask about living arrangements within 5 seconds.
  4. You keep it topical to something you have in common until you learn more about the person. Examples are the jerk neighbour who calls bylaw on everyone or if you can borrow a hedge trimmer.
  5. You don’t say “you’re welcome” after saying something you THINK is a compliment when the person never said THANK YOU in the first place, this shows that you are obviously not even listening.

Needless to say the front yard did not get mowed as planned because I was feeling watched. Fucking fuck-head.


On this day:

In 2006 – In which I link to an article that I want to know your thoughts about.

In 2005 – In which we discuss how our names make us who we are.

14 Comments on “My laptop makes me too hot.”

  1. Congrats on the bbq! I look forward to all the bbq recipe posts:)
    I bet that guy would have followed up “do you live here with your parents?” with “Are they home?”.
    I can’t wait to drive with you! Will you seek revenge for the rap cd I used to make you listen to on repeat during school?

    • tianadargent says:

      What? I totally loved that cd by the 1000th time I listened to it! I STILL know ALL the words!
      Oh god! I never thought of how he would have followed up on that…

    • tianadargent says:

      What? I totally loved that cd by the 1000th time I listened to it! I STILL know ALL the words!
      Oh god! I never thought of how he would have followed up on that…

  2. Congrats on the bbq! I look forward to all the bbq recipe posts:)
    I bet that guy would have followed up “do you live here with your parents?” with “Are they home?”.
    I can’t wait to drive with you! Will you seek revenge for the rap cd I used to make you listen to on repeat during school?

  3. Oooh….I hate conversations like that.
    And when is “You look like a pre-teen” considered a compliment? Some people are just strange.

  4. Oooh….I hate conversations like that.
    And when is “You look like a pre-teen” considered a compliment? Some people are just strange.

  5. sassinate says:

    For all of the complaining I was doing about not being able to drive last year I have realized I actually hate the act of driving. However, I like the freedom, and when you’re forced to live in a house that is a 10 minute drive from the nearest supermarket you appreciate the freedom. Plus I don’t have to rely on Brett for everything.
    I have annoying neighbors too. I was going to comment here but my rant was getting out of control. Instead: NEW ENTRY!

  6. sassinate says:

    For all of the complaining I was doing about not being able to drive last year I have realized I actually hate the act of driving. However, I like the freedom, and when you’re forced to live in a house that is a 10 minute drive from the nearest supermarket you appreciate the freedom. Plus I don’t have to rely on Brett for everything.
    I have annoying neighbors too. I was going to comment here but my rant was getting out of control. Instead: NEW ENTRY!

  7. thebookpile says:

    I, too, am surprised that we let just about anyone drive a car. On the young end, I find the legal drinking age and the legal driving age a little too close together. On the high end, I find it ludicrous that they wait until someone turns 80 before forcing them to be re-tested (I know a lot of 60- or 70- somethings that shouldn’t be allowed to drive).
    And, um, what a creepy conversation with your neighbour/neighbour’s visitor. The quoted conversation makes it sound like he was 13 or 14, although I imagine that he was older than that (although there’s no accounting for mental age).

  8. thebookpile says:

    I, too, am surprised that we let just about anyone drive a car. On the young end, I find the legal drinking age and the legal driving age a little too close together. On the high end, I find it ludicrous that they wait until someone turns 80 before forcing them to be re-tested (I know a lot of 60- or 70- somethings that shouldn’t be allowed to drive).
    And, um, what a creepy conversation with your neighbour/neighbour’s visitor. The quoted conversation makes it sound like he was 13 or 14, although I imagine that he was older than that (although there’s no accounting for mental age).


Leave a Reply

