the winds of change

So a lot of weird stuff has been going around lately regarding my current and future work situations.  It all started last week when my boss talked to me about telling him what my future goals are with the University and what I need from them to grow in the way I want to.  I honestly told him I had never given it much thought and that I would get back to him.

The thing is, I don’t even know what the options are for someone in my position there.  It doesn’t seem like there is much upwards mobility given that they don’t often create new positions there and people rarely leave.  I have started making a list of training that I feel would improve my knowledge with regards to what I already do.  I noted that I feel like I have a lack of ownership over my work as I typically only do small parts of larger projects.  It would also be nice to no longer be on contract and have benefits and raises and stuff.

In the meantime I’ve worked on preparing my resume for Brent’s company as I’ve seen him work and know I’m more qualified for it than he is so they would totally hire me if a spot came up.  I put a lot of work into it and felt it was a great representation of me and my abilities.  I wanted it to be just right.  After reviewing it a few times with days in between to reflect on it, I asked Brent to send it to his boss late last night.

Today I learned that my cubicle neighbour got a job with the department that always makes me do their awful jobs.  This means a few things for me.

  1. I can take his window-desk.
  2. I no longer have to do work for that other department.
  3. I can take on more responsibility and feel like I have ownership.

My boss asked me to prepare my resume to apply for the upcoming position even though I might not get it because permanent employees get first crack.  I now know that this is why he was asking me about my goals last week.

A couple hours after he talked to me about this Brent called me at work to say that his boss loved my resume and there are two positions that I am eligible for pretty much immediately.  I came home a slight bit early so I could call his boss during work hours.  He seemed to think that his boss would hire me without an interview and told me a bit about the position I would be most compatible with.  Now I am just trying to write a kick-ass cover letter so I can send it in and see what they offer.

If I get this job, I’ll have to travel a lot, which means I’ll need to get my own car.  I’ve already taken a big step and booked my driving test for Monday March 12th.  This means I’ve added another item to my ist of goals.  Getting this job also means that we would probably have to move since I would need a home office separate from Brent’s (part of the terms of employment) and we really don’t have room for that right now without giving up the spare room.  I’m not sure yet if I’ll sell my cottage so that we can straight out get the house we’ll stay in forever or if we’ll get another temporary home that is a bit larger and let the cottage value go up.  First I have to assess the current cottage value.  No wait…first I have to wait and see if I actually get this job…

  1. Learn to play drums
  2. Learn to use my sewing machine (probably in a class setting)
  3. Get driver’s licence

P.S. Today is

‘s birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SISTOR-LADY!


On this day –
in 2006
in 2005

Site Meter

18 Comments on “the winds of change”

  1. wow, that was a real exciting read. it sounds like you have a lot of decisions in your future. i can’t wait to see what the outcome will be.
    i also don’t have a license… learn how to drive has been on my goal list for years. unfortunately, it is always superseded by more important goals…one day, one dayyyyyy.
    good luck!

    • tianadargent says:

      now that I’ve made the appointment I HAVE to do it. I’ve been stuck on this cover letter for hours though…the first paragraph. How do I say “My husband will vouch for me”? without sounding lame?
      hahahah!

    • tianadargent says:

      now that I’ve made the appointment I HAVE to do it. I’ve been stuck on this cover letter for hours though…the first paragraph. How do I say “My husband will vouch for me”? without sounding lame?
      hahahah!

  2. wow, that was a real exciting read. it sounds like you have a lot of decisions in your future. i can’t wait to see what the outcome will be.
    i also don’t have a license… learn how to drive has been on my goal list for years. unfortunately, it is always superseded by more important goals…one day, one dayyyyyy.
    good luck!

  3. fiercekitty says:

    good luck! I find it so exciting when people are moving around in their careers.
    one of my colleagues has moved up on the career ladder and has an office now so I get his ginormous window-cubicle. it’s all secluded and awesome and my workspace is illuminated by sunlight instead of gross fluorescent lights.

  4. fiercekitty says:

    good luck! I find it so exciting when people are moving around in their careers.
    one of my colleagues has moved up on the career ladder and has an office now so I get his ginormous window-cubicle. it’s all secluded and awesome and my workspace is illuminated by sunlight instead of gross fluorescent lights.

  5. lyndszy says:

    this is so exciting! i wish i had some choices within my job scope..
    drivers liscence has also been on my list of goals for years, congrats on being driven enough to go for it!

  6. lyndszy says:

    this is so exciting! i wish i had some choices within my job scope..
    drivers liscence has also been on my list of goals for years, congrats on being driven enough to go for it!

  7. clivec says:

    Are you compensated in any way for the travel – stipend for the car or mileage or such?
    I only ask because all my jobs have required travel. My first job paid for NOTHING. My second (current) job gave me a car and pays for all my gas.

    • tianadargent says:

      Yes there is a $/km value for travel driven and a complete refund on air/train travel. I’m sure I could probably write off a portion of a car purchase/lease on my taxes as well and maybe even part of the electricity and mortgage.

      • clivec says:

        Well… that’s okay. 🙂 That’s pretty standard and you should be able to write off a portion of the car cost (I won’t pretend to know a lot about this since you’re in a different COUNTRY and my wife does the taxes).
        I guess the real question is… would you want to travel?

      • clivec says:

        Well… that’s okay. 🙂 That’s pretty standard and you should be able to write off a portion of the car cost (I won’t pretend to know a lot about this since you’re in a different COUNTRY and my wife does the taxes).
        I guess the real question is… would you want to travel?

    • tianadargent says:

      Yes there is a $/km value for travel driven and a complete refund on air/train travel. I’m sure I could probably write off a portion of a car purchase/lease on my taxes as well and maybe even part of the electricity and mortgage.

  8. clivec says:

    Are you compensated in any way for the travel – stipend for the car or mileage or such?
    I only ask because all my jobs have required travel. My first job paid for NOTHING. My second (current) job gave me a car and pays for all my gas.

  9. Wow! Lots of big stuff going on. I am so proud of you for booking the driving test! And for trying for this new job. Good luck with everything:)

  10. Wow! Lots of big stuff going on. I am so proud of you for booking the driving test! And for trying for this new job. Good luck with everything:)

  11. fireladie says:

    Sounds like you are definitely at a new crossroads in your career-life. Exciting and nerve-wracking. Good vibes going your way and that the “right” choice for a job becomes crystal clear.

  12. fireladie says:

    Sounds like you are definitely at a new crossroads in your career-life. Exciting and nerve-wracking. Good vibes going your way and that the “right” choice for a job becomes crystal clear.


Leave a Reply

