Things I don’t like…

Crab

I want to like crab.  I’ve tried it several ways and I never end up liking it.  The last straw was a crab dip I attempted eating yesterday.  I just don’t like it.

“on accident”

Maybe this is a regional thing.  I don’t know, I’ve only seen it on LJ communities.

“I hit that pedestrian on accident”
“I hit that pedestrian by accident”

One has meaning and the other does not.

Holidays I do not get

I’m not going to complain about this too much because I get a Christmas holiday (that is in addition to my yearly vacation) when most workers do not so I’m only slightly sore that many Canadians have today off but not me.

Waking up in the dark and going home from work in the dark

Hasn’t happened yet but I can feel it coming.  Daylight savings time is a fucking joke.

What do you dislike?

On another note, I just found another slow-cooker recipe to try.

Crock Pot Green Bean Casserole

16 oz. green beans , trimmed

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1/3 C. milk

1 t. soy sauce

1 small can French Fried onions

In a bowl, mix soup, milk and soy sauce until smooth. Add beans and 1/2 the onions. Pour into crockpot. Top with remaining onions.

Cook on LOW 4 to 6 hours.

Note: Do NOT use canned beans, they will get too mushy. You can use frozen if you thaw and separate them first.

Site Meter

36 Comments on “Things I don’t like…”

  1. jakothewoods says:

    Dislikes – I’m right there with you on contemporary grammar. The one that truly bugs me the most is the “less/fewer” thing. Less means the same amount/number, just a “smaller portion” as it were. Fewer means where there were 12, now there are 5. Most people use less when they mean fewer. The thing that drove this home for me was when I heard an announcer on the BBC misuse “less.” Uhg.
    I also dislike the way people have begun to use the word “anymore,” when what they means is “these days” or “currently.”
    /end rant
    Also, thanks for the recipe – that’ll get used, and soon.

  2. jakothewoods says:

    Dislikes – I’m right there with you on contemporary grammar. The one that truly bugs me the most is the “less/fewer” thing. Less means the same amount/number, just a “smaller portion” as it were. Fewer means where there were 12, now there are 5. Most people use less when they mean fewer. The thing that drove this home for me was when I heard an announcer on the BBC misuse “less.” Uhg.
    I also dislike the way people have begun to use the word “anymore,” when what they means is “these days” or “currently.”
    /end rant
    Also, thanks for the recipe – that’ll get used, and soon.

  3. jakothewoods says:

    Dislikes – I’m right there with you on contemporary grammar. The one that truly bugs me the most is the “less/fewer” thing. Less means the same amount/number, just a “smaller portion” as it were. Fewer means where there were 12, now there are 5. Most people use less when they mean fewer. The thing that drove this home for me was when I heard an announcer on the BBC misuse “less.” Uhg.
    I also dislike the way people have begun to use the word “anymore,” when what they means is “these days” or “currently.”
    /end rant
    Also, thanks for the recipe – that’ll get used, and soon.

  4. berverse says:

    I hate when people in this region say Chimbley instead of Chimney.
    That recipe sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen! (probably delicious though)..

  5. berverse says:

    I hate when people in this region say Chimbley instead of Chimney.
    That recipe sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen! (probably delicious though)..

  6. berverse says:

    I hate when people in this region say Chimbley instead of Chimney.
    That recipe sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen! (probably delicious though)..

  7. clivec says:

    When writing radio commercials, I would often get corrected for saying a place was “On Broadway” as opposed to “At Broadway”. There seemed to be no real correct way to put it. It just depended on how someone was raised. (I was raised on Shady Oaks).

  8. clivec says:

    When writing radio commercials, I would often get corrected for saying a place was “On Broadway” as opposed to “At Broadway”. There seemed to be no real correct way to put it. It just depended on how someone was raised. (I was raised on Shady Oaks).

  9. clivec says:

    When writing radio commercials, I would often get corrected for saying a place was “On Broadway” as opposed to “At Broadway”. There seemed to be no real correct way to put it. It just depended on how someone was raised. (I was raised on Shady Oaks).

  10. rinni says:

    Hehe, I only see “on accident” online as well. The only way I would ever say I hit a pedestrian on accident would be if I was driving down Accident Street at the time. “I hit a pedestrian on Accident”.
    But I think that if an Accident Street existed, I would avoid it because that’s just askin’ for trouble!

  11. rinni says:

    Hehe, I only see “on accident” online as well. The only way I would ever say I hit a pedestrian on accident would be if I was driving down Accident Street at the time. “I hit a pedestrian on Accident”.
    But I think that if an Accident Street existed, I would avoid it because that’s just askin’ for trouble!

  12. rinni says:

    Hehe, I only see “on accident” online as well. The only way I would ever say I hit a pedestrian on accident would be if I was driving down Accident Street at the time. “I hit a pedestrian on Accident”.
    But I think that if an Accident Street existed, I would avoid it because that’s just askin’ for trouble!

  13. gboone31 says:

    I only like crab legs, any other style is too sweet for me.
    My mom also does that green bean casserole in the oven every year for thanksgiving and christmas. I kinda like it.

  14. gboone31 says:

    I only like crab legs, any other style is too sweet for me.
    My mom also does that green bean casserole in the oven every year for thanksgiving and christmas. I kinda like it.

  15. gboone31 says:

    I only like crab legs, any other style is too sweet for me.
    My mom also does that green bean casserole in the oven every year for thanksgiving and christmas. I kinda like it.


Leave a Reply

