Seriously…WTF?

Yesterday I was talking with a female coworker, with whom I normally get along, about my marriage prep class.  She took it bout 10 years ago and she was giving me an overview of what it was like back then and how they push the children issue and raising them catholic etc.

Then the conversation suddenly turned and went somewhat like:

Her: “You’ll have a big choice to make”
Me: Gives her the ‘go on..’ face
I don’t want to sound racist but…
You’ll have to decide if you want to send your kids to public or Catholic school…
and the public school are full of Muslim kids…
and the Catholic schools obviously aren’t…
Kids really don’t care about that stuff unless they learn it from somewhere.  I live right behind a public school so I doubt I would send my kids all the way accross town anyways.
Besides, it’s probably best that a kid get some cultural diversity early in age anyways, not that the suburbs are that diverse…

I then went on to compare the quality of my own education at Catholic vs Pulbic schools I attended and pushed the racist issue out of the conversation.

It was one of those situations where at the time, I didn’t really know what to say or how to react, but I now wish I had said so much more…

39 Comments on “Seriously…WTF?”

  1. superfrayed says:

    I went to a catholic school and it was very multicultural.
    skin color and religion have absolutely zero to do with one another and it annoys me that people can’t distinguish this.
    people are ridiculous.

  2. superfrayed says:

    I went to a catholic school and it was very multicultural.
    skin color and religion have absolutely zero to do with one another and it annoys me that people can’t distinguish this.
    people are ridiculous.

  3. superfrayed says:

    I went to a catholic school and it was very multicultural.
    skin color and religion have absolutely zero to do with one another and it annoys me that people can’t distinguish this.
    people are ridiculous.

  4. I went to a private Christian academy from the time I was 4 years old until I graduated highschool.
    Once I got to college, I had to broaden my social skills and learn how to interact with blacks, asians, hispanics and so on.. .
    The public schools in my state have a horrible reputation. I don’t blame my parents for not sending me to public schools. They are terribly under-funded and the crime rate is astounding.
    However, I *do* wish I could have attended a few non-segregated activities before heading to college. Even my ballet classes, art classes and tennis lessons were mostly whites.
    The deep southern regions of the United States are still so deeply segregated in some regions. . .
    Racism is a very slippery slope topic.

    • tianadargent says:

      The thing is that public schools here really aren’t bad at all as far as education goes and all that. I rearely hear about racially motivated violence in schools and when I do, it’s not out of this city so her concern seems pretty unfounded.
      I wish I asked her what exactly is wrong with Mulsim kids anyways. We were talking about grade school BTW so I mean, these are YOUNG kids.

    • tianadargent says:

      The thing is that public schools here really aren’t bad at all as far as education goes and all that. I rearely hear about racially motivated violence in schools and when I do, it’s not out of this city so her concern seems pretty unfounded.
      I wish I asked her what exactly is wrong with Mulsim kids anyways. We were talking about grade school BTW so I mean, these are YOUNG kids.

    • tianadargent says:

      The thing is that public schools here really aren’t bad at all as far as education goes and all that. I rearely hear about racially motivated violence in schools and when I do, it’s not out of this city so her concern seems pretty unfounded.
      I wish I asked her what exactly is wrong with Mulsim kids anyways. We were talking about grade school BTW so I mean, these are YOUNG kids.

  5. I went to a private Christian academy from the time I was 4 years old until I graduated highschool.
    Once I got to college, I had to broaden my social skills and learn how to interact with blacks, asians, hispanics and so on.. .
    The public schools in my state have a horrible reputation. I don’t blame my parents for not sending me to public schools. They are terribly under-funded and the crime rate is astounding.
    However, I *do* wish I could have attended a few non-segregated activities before heading to college. Even my ballet classes, art classes and tennis lessons were mostly whites.
    The deep southern regions of the United States are still so deeply segregated in some regions. . .
    Racism is a very slippery slope topic.

  6. I went to a private Christian academy from the time I was 4 years old until I graduated highschool.
    Once I got to college, I had to broaden my social skills and learn how to interact with blacks, asians, hispanics and so on.. .
    The public schools in my state have a horrible reputation. I don’t blame my parents for not sending me to public schools. They are terribly under-funded and the crime rate is astounding.
    However, I *do* wish I could have attended a few non-segregated activities before heading to college. Even my ballet classes, art classes and tennis lessons were mostly whites.
    The deep southern regions of the United States are still so deeply segregated in some regions. . .
    Racism is a very slippery slope topic.

  7. i’m absolutely stunned that someone would come out in teh open and say such a thing. it breaks my heart every time when i hear something like this.
    i went to a public school where white was a minority. i would have it no other way and i would want my children to be as blessed as i was to grow up not blinded to culture but embrassing it and wanting to know as much about it as possible. i wasn’t the smartest kid in school and i can’t say i remember much about biology or maths but i did take with me a lot of knowledge of people… i guess that is why i valuewd my education travelling more than my college one too.
    sorry it is early and i’m not stringing my words together right. the gyst, i’m shocked and i probably wouldn’t have known what to say either.

  8. i’m absolutely stunned that someone would come out in teh open and say such a thing. it breaks my heart every time when i hear something like this.
    i went to a public school where white was a minority. i would have it no other way and i would want my children to be as blessed as i was to grow up not blinded to culture but embrassing it and wanting to know as much about it as possible. i wasn’t the smartest kid in school and i can’t say i remember much about biology or maths but i did take with me a lot of knowledge of people… i guess that is why i valuewd my education travelling more than my college one too.
    sorry it is early and i’m not stringing my words together right. the gyst, i’m shocked and i probably wouldn’t have known what to say either.

  9. i’m absolutely stunned that someone would come out in teh open and say such a thing. it breaks my heart every time when i hear something like this.
    i went to a public school where white was a minority. i would have it no other way and i would want my children to be as blessed as i was to grow up not blinded to culture but embrassing it and wanting to know as much about it as possible. i wasn’t the smartest kid in school and i can’t say i remember much about biology or maths but i did take with me a lot of knowledge of people… i guess that is why i valuewd my education travelling more than my college one too.
    sorry it is early and i’m not stringing my words together right. the gyst, i’m shocked and i probably wouldn’t have known what to say either.

  10. gringogidget says:

    I thought God loved everyone?

    • tianadargent says:

      sarcasm extraordinaire
      Umm… apparently you thought wrong… God only loves you if you only associate with people just like you and perpetuate fear and hate of ‘others’.
      Obviously he created white people to be best, ’cause like…white is the colour of purity…

      • gringogidget says:

        Re: sarcasm extraordinaire
        Are we under a dictatorship or something?
        I don’t agree or understand the Muslim faith, but I’m never going to attempt to stop my children from exploring those types of ideas.
        I laugh at racist jokes sometimes, I think I’m going to hell.

      • gringogidget says:

        Re: sarcasm extraordinaire
        Are we under a dictatorship or something?
        I don’t agree or understand the Muslim faith, but I’m never going to attempt to stop my children from exploring those types of ideas.
        I laugh at racist jokes sometimes, I think I’m going to hell.

      • gringogidget says:

        Re: sarcasm extraordinaire
        Are we under a dictatorship or something?
        I don’t agree or understand the Muslim faith, but I’m never going to attempt to stop my children from exploring those types of ideas.
        I laugh at racist jokes sometimes, I think I’m going to hell.

    • tianadargent says:

      sarcasm extraordinaire
      Umm… apparently you thought wrong… God only loves you if you only associate with people just like you and perpetuate fear and hate of ‘others’.
      Obviously he created white people to be best, ’cause like…white is the colour of purity…

    • tianadargent says:

      sarcasm extraordinaire
      Umm… apparently you thought wrong… God only loves you if you only associate with people just like you and perpetuate fear and hate of ‘others’.
      Obviously he created white people to be best, ’cause like…white is the colour of purity…

  11. gringogidget says:

    I thought God loved everyone?

  12. gringogidget says:

    I thought God loved everyone?

  13. pumpkin_face says:

    Wow, Ti, I’m really surprised that YOU didn’t say anything. You must’ve been really put off by that comment.
    Being that she’s a coworker, I guess you didn’t want to say anything obvious like: “It’s because of people like you that racist stereotypes keep getting propagated and you should crawl back under the rock you came from and DIE.”

  14. pumpkin_face says:

    Wow, Ti, I’m really surprised that YOU didn’t say anything. You must’ve been really put off by that comment.
    Being that she’s a coworker, I guess you didn’t want to say anything obvious like: “It’s because of people like you that racist stereotypes keep getting propagated and you should crawl back under the rock you came from and DIE.”

  15. pumpkin_face says:

    Wow, Ti, I’m really surprised that YOU didn’t say anything. You must’ve been really put off by that comment.
    Being that she’s a coworker, I guess you didn’t want to say anything obvious like: “It’s because of people like you that racist stereotypes keep getting propagated and you should crawl back under the rock you came from and DIE.”

  16. rachaeldoss says:

    I love when people say, “I don’t mean to sound racist….” because that’s the equivalent of saying, “I don’t want you to think less of me because I’m a racist, but…”

  17. rachaeldoss says:

    I love when people say, “I don’t mean to sound racist….” because that’s the equivalent of saying, “I don’t want you to think less of me because I’m a racist, but…”

  18. rachaeldoss says:

    I love when people say, “I don’t mean to sound racist….” because that’s the equivalent of saying, “I don’t want you to think less of me because I’m a racist, but…”


Leave a Reply

