Yesterday I got home from work and realized I was in an empty apartment. I decided it was photoshoot time and took a ton of photos of myself. Some better than others. I’ll probably post a few this weekend.

I’ve gotten nearly all of my attendants gifts:

pumpkin_face – gift purchasednaughty_bride – most of gift purchasedlola_70 – gift purchased but may decide to get a little something to go along with it, not sure if it’s appropriate yet

Mackenzie (flower girl) – got her a wooden jewellery box painted white and pink that opens to a musical dancinf ballerina. I want to put a necklace in it that she can wear at the wedding I’m picturing a gold hear-outline pendant on a thin gold chain (she currently wears gold-saphire earrings that princess)

Heather – gift not purchased. This one is hard because it’s Brent’s sister and I don’t know what would actually MEAN something to her. I think I will get her a more grown-up version of the necklace I’m getting Mackenzie (her daughter). Any other ideas? Or since her husband and son are also in the wedding party maybe get them a larger family gift? Like what though?

Brent’s generally in charge of getting stuff for his boys. I tried really hard to get something each of my lovely ladies would truly appreciate and I hope his puts the same thought into his gifts to his friends. I already told his attendants that he is solely in charge of their gifts so if they suck not to look at me.

I’m still trying to figure out what to get the parents. My mom enjoys letter openers but how much could she really need one? I was thinking of giving the moms lockets with a photo of the two of us in it. Cheesy? What about Brent’s dad? I need ideas that don’t suck please.

I also picked up my dress yesterday. I plan on doing a photo shoot when I get home as I should have the place to myself for at least a little bit.  For the short amount of time I had it on yesterday I felt great. It’s looking like it just needs a hem and for the straps to be shortened.  Hopefully the photos turn out but the lighting in my place is awful and I don’t have a tri pod so we’ll see. I’ll try to get at least a couple post-able shots.  I’m starting to re-think the coat I got for it though. The colour goes well but I think it might look too heavy. We’ll see tonight.

36 Comments on “”

  1. I’m bored at work to the laziness of others too!! How nice.
    I think it is SO sweet that you giving your girls personalized individual gifts. I’m doing the same. I hate it when brides give all their girls matching pearl earrings or something equally impersonal.
    I can’t wait for dress pics. I just made an appointment with a salon for tomorrow! Hair trial WITH flowers !!!!

    • clivec says:

      I’ve gotten a cool pen and a cool watch being part of the grooms. Guy gifts are very practical.

      • tianadargent says:

        But wouldn’t you want something more like…something you’ve wanted but couldn’t justify getting for yourself?

        • clivec says:

          Sure. Those are my favorite gifts to give and get.
          The problem is often the diverse people in the wedding party. Those gifts you wouldn’t buy for yourself tend to be a personal thing. But if you/he could find one that worked for all the brides/grooms, great!

          • tianadargent says:

            no no no, we are getting EACH PERSON a different gift. At least, that’s what’s going on with the ladies and I HOPE that’s what Brent is doing. If you ask someone to stand for you at your wedding, you should know them well enough to know what they like.

            • clivec says:

              Ah, well, you’re doing a better job that my previously attended weddings!
              I’m sure each person will like their gifts when they are about by friends, for friends, for no other reason than you appreicate their being there for your wedding and you wanted them to have something to remember it by.

            • clivec says:

              Ah, well, you’re doing a better job that my previously attended weddings!
              I’m sure each person will like their gifts when they are about by friends, for friends, for no other reason than you appreicate their being there for your wedding and you wanted them to have something to remember it by.

            • clivec says:

              Ah, well, you’re doing a better job that my previously attended weddings!
              I’m sure each person will like their gifts when they are about by friends, for friends, for no other reason than you appreicate their being there for your wedding and you wanted them to have something to remember it by.

          • tianadargent says:

            no no no, we are getting EACH PERSON a different gift. At least, that’s what’s going on with the ladies and I HOPE that’s what Brent is doing. If you ask someone to stand for you at your wedding, you should know them well enough to know what they like.

          • tianadargent says:

            no no no, we are getting EACH PERSON a different gift. At least, that’s what’s going on with the ladies and I HOPE that’s what Brent is doing. If you ask someone to stand for you at your wedding, you should know them well enough to know what they like.

        • clivec says:

          Sure. Those are my favorite gifts to give and get.
          The problem is often the diverse people in the wedding party. Those gifts you wouldn’t buy for yourself tend to be a personal thing. But if you/he could find one that worked for all the brides/grooms, great!

        • clivec says:

          Sure. Those are my favorite gifts to give and get.
          The problem is often the diverse people in the wedding party. Those gifts you wouldn’t buy for yourself tend to be a personal thing. But if you/he could find one that worked for all the brides/grooms, great!

      • tianadargent says:

        But wouldn’t you want something more like…something you’ve wanted but couldn’t justify getting for yourself?

      • tianadargent says:

        But wouldn’t you want something more like…something you’ve wanted but couldn’t justify getting for yourself?

    • clivec says:

      I’ve gotten a cool pen and a cool watch being part of the grooms. Guy gifts are very practical.

    • clivec says:

      I’ve gotten a cool pen and a cool watch being part of the grooms. Guy gifts are very practical.

  2. I’m bored at work to the laziness of others too!! How nice.
    I think it is SO sweet that you giving your girls personalized individual gifts. I’m doing the same. I hate it when brides give all their girls matching pearl earrings or something equally impersonal.
    I can’t wait for dress pics. I just made an appointment with a salon for tomorrow! Hair trial WITH flowers !!!!

  3. I’m bored at work to the laziness of others too!! How nice.
    I think it is SO sweet that you giving your girls personalized individual gifts. I’m doing the same. I hate it when brides give all their girls matching pearl earrings or something equally impersonal.
    I can’t wait for dress pics. I just made an appointment with a salon for tomorrow! Hair trial WITH flowers !!!!

  4. i’m having one of those days where i have a load of filing but i’m trying not to look at it. is there anything worse then filing? i don’t think there is.
    sorry, i had to laugh at the fact that your mum ‘enjoys letteropeners’ i mean, i enjoy that they open letters but does she collect them? i’m very interested now.

    • tianadargent says:

      She REFUSES to open a letter by hand. If she doesn’t have a letter opener nearby, she will wait and bring her mail home or wherever to open it. Like if I gave her a card in a sealed envelope while out at a restaurant, she would pull a letter opener out of her purse to open it.

    • tianadargent says:

      She REFUSES to open a letter by hand. If she doesn’t have a letter opener nearby, she will wait and bring her mail home or wherever to open it. Like if I gave her a card in a sealed envelope while out at a restaurant, she would pull a letter opener out of her purse to open it.

    • tianadargent says:

      She REFUSES to open a letter by hand. If she doesn’t have a letter opener nearby, she will wait and bring her mail home or wherever to open it. Like if I gave her a card in a sealed envelope while out at a restaurant, she would pull a letter opener out of her purse to open it.

  5. i’m having one of those days where i have a load of filing but i’m trying not to look at it. is there anything worse then filing? i don’t think there is.
    sorry, i had to laugh at the fact that your mum ‘enjoys letteropeners’ i mean, i enjoy that they open letters but does she collect them? i’m very interested now.

  6. i’m having one of those days where i have a load of filing but i’m trying not to look at it. is there anything worse then filing? i don’t think there is.
    sorry, i had to laugh at the fact that your mum ‘enjoys letteropeners’ i mean, i enjoy that they open letters but does she collect them? i’m very interested now.


Leave a Reply

