I am really good at drawing straight lines.

If you give me a drafting table, a set-square and a may-line, I can draw up any kind of non-organic thing. I can draw an entire room and it’s contents in accurate perspective. I can draw the Coliseum I can draw a house etc.

Months ago, if you had asked me to draw a person, it would have looked like a human sized raisin covered in a sheet or at best, a hybrid of a stick-figure and a few triangles and a trapezoid.

Shawn is a super-awesome drawer of people and he runs a drawing workshop called Atelier Denu. When we first started hanging out, I went to one here and there. Between March and September I’d say I attended maybe 5, not including the one where I was the model.

I was no good. It took me 10 minutes just to get the shape of a hip and waist down on the paper. If I attempted shading at all, the drawing was pretty much ruined. Since September I’ve been going regularly once a week and sometimes twice. I’m starting to see an improvement and that’s fun. I have no real goal in doing this other than just doing it. I’ve asked various friends to join me and they respond with “I’m not good at it”. OK. Me neither. How do you get good at something? By NEVER trying it? It’s not like you even have to show anybody.  Sometimes when I go, I just can’t get in to it. I feel like my hand can’t do what my mind wants to and I get frustrated and so I give up and draft a blog post in my sketchbook or do something else until the next pose.

Below are the only drawings I made that I like. For each one of these there are at least 7 that are horrible. I think the oldest one here is from the end of September.

 

Drawing

 

This one is actually from a different drawing workshop that happens once a month. This one is themed, with costumes. I don’t like it as much but it’s still fun. I like this drawing because it was a two minute pose and I feel like I did a good job with it within that time frame.

 

Drawing

 

These two were likely each 5 minutes poses. I think this because my drawings from 2 minute poses are usually just lines that represent the idea of shape as opposed to representing an actual human. I like the one on the left because I think I did a good job of representing (oh god I’m going to use CAD jargon) drawing order. I guess that’s foreground and background? I like the one on the right because… cute bum!

Drawing

 

This was a 5 minute pose. Actually it may have been a longer one but I arrived late and this was already in progress. I like everything except the feet ALTHOUGH these are some of the best feet I’ve drawn. I need to work on drawing hands and feet.

Drawing

 

These next three were all 10 minute poses (I guess based on the way I drew them) I like this first one because through drawing it I realized something about  faces in profile.

Drawing

 

I like this one because I think I did a good job representing the shape.  I corrected a part over by the left leg. I like that I can identify problems before I get too far into it (sometimes as opposed to never) and figure out how to fix it.

Drawing

 

This one I like because I did a decent job with hands and feet and with foreground background.

Drawing

 

For this one, I didn’t draw the person’s outline and then the shading (which is what I typically have done). For this one I drew the shapes of the shadows and out of that I built a person. That was a fun exercise. I want to try it again.

Drawing

 

I like this one because it’s very simple. It has just a touch of shading. It would have had more but I ran out of time.

Drawing

 

This one I really like. I think the shading on it is super and the perspective on the body is interesting.

Drawing

 

This one I don’t love but I think I did a decent job. I like the line drawing and the shading is ok.

Drawing

 

Here  was trying out lots of different shading things. I like how easy it is to do shading with smudginess but I don’t really like the way it looks. I think I need to work on that more to find out how to make it look better.

Drawing

 

I was so not into drawing at this point. I thought the model looked great and was excited to draw her but when it came down to it, my mind was wandering. I think this was a twenty minute pose. I decided to not think about it too much and just scribble something down and then I moved on to writing something. What I like about it is that I has a mood to it.

Drawing

 

These next four I am most happy about. For all of them I am really happy about the outline and the shading. I don’t think much else needs to be said about those.

Drawing

Drawing

Drawing

Wow. I am really impressed with myself right now! I think I have really improved and that’s the whole point. Get better by doing. Won’t you come with me next time?

On this day:

In 2008 – Why is make-up a requirement for some people? ( good convo in the comments)
In 2007 – Challenges with food
In 2006 – Photos of my wedding day captured on disposable cameras. (I look hot)
In 2005 – Shopping saved my life

 



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 594 other followers