If you really loved me…

 

The phrase in the subject line isn’t about love at all. It’s about manipulation and control.

If you REALLY loved me, you wouldn’t go away to school, you’d stay with me.
You’d abandon your own desires and dreams for my benefit.

If you REALLY loved me, you would know what’s the matter.
You’d be able to read my mind.

If you REALLY loved me,  you wouldn’t need to spend time with other people.
You would cut yourself off from others and depend on me entirely.

I can’t think of that phrase ending with anything other than selfishness. Or probably insecurity. Isn’t that where it all stems from anyway? If you REALLY LOVED SOMEONE, you’d accept the choices and decisions they made in life without trying to use their feelings for you to coerce them into doing something that serves only you. Well wait, no. I can see this being used in other ways.

If you REALLY loved me, you’d respect my decisions.

If you REALLY loved me, you wouldn’t abuse me.

If you REALLY loved me, you’d trust me when we’re not together.

Suffice it to say, if you are having conversations that start with this, you probably have big problems.

Why am I even thinking about this? I blame TV.

On this day:

In 2008 – I’m starting to contemplate re-entering the world of vegetarianism. This would not please Brent.
In 2007 – 100% ROCKING OUT
In 2006 – I look damned good in navy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers